We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,631)
Filter reviews
4,631 results
Traveller rating
1,870
1,785
613
204
159
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,870
1,785
613
204
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saju bistro times square john paul long room great location french bistro new york rooms are small brick wall mini bar bryant park the theater district street noise around the corner central location an upgrade big apple
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 4,631 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My husband and I stayed here in February. It was a good location, close to Times Square and a short walk to Grand Central Station. Starbucks and many other restaurants were close by. We had no issue with check in and that staff were happy to order us a car upon check out. The rooms were big enough - we upgraded to King Size and the bed was comfortable. There's a french bistro located next door that provided room service to the hotel. Wonderful pastries and coffee, treat yourself to some early am room service. The reason this hotel is getting 3 instead of 4 stars is that I found the cleanliness lacking. The room required dusting and there were stains on the walls in the bathroom that hadn't been cleaned. Elevator/hallways were a little cramped. Otherwise we had no issues, but I think I would try another hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi there Jennifer, please accept our apology for managing to ever-so-slightly meet your expectations. Our goal is to exceed all guest expectations and clearly this was not the case based on your feedback and experience.

We would kindly request that you do consider staying with Hotel Mela in the future and we will ensure your next experience with us is far different and much improved, than your last. Thank you for sharing your feedback with the online community and we do look forward to recovering you to be a loyal guest of Hotel Mela!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Hotel stay was comfortable. Room was clean and modern. Typical of big city hotels, rooms are small. Staff very friendly, helpful and professional. Location is great, walking distance to theatres and numerous restaurants.

Room Tip: Only con was the hum from an outside generator/machinery. Hum seemed to be lower at night though.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rcflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlenyCi, Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hello rcflee! Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Mela and for taking the time to share your experience with the online community. We are thrilled that we provided a PERFECT experience and exceeded your expectations in all areas.
We are very pleased that you found our staff to be both helpful and friendly. Our team works extremely hard to make sure that everyone has a great stay, so it really means a lot to us when we hear positive feedback in regards. We will be sure to share this review with our team members!
We do hope and trust this experience makes you a loyal guest of Hotel Mela whenever your travels bring you to NYC. Thanks again for your feedback and we wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

I was impressed with my room, which was bigger than expected after other reviews. The bed was comfortable, and the room was excellently maintained by the cleaning staff. Everyone on reception was pleasant and helpful. Perhaps could do with a lick of paint, but otherwise, no complaints. Would return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank waquantrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Hello there! Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Mela and for taking the time to share your experience with the online community. We are thrilled that we provided a PERFECT experience and exceeded your expectations in all areas.
We are very pleased that you found our staff to be both helpful and friendly. Our team works extremely hard to make sure that everyone has a great stay, so it really means a lot to us when we hear positive feedback in regards. We will be sure to share this review with our team members!
We do hope and trust this experience makes you a loyal guest of Hotel Mela whenever your travels bring you to NYC. Thanks again for your feedback and we wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

It's a quiet little hotel tucked away near 5th Ave. Restaurants are close, but subways are not. Download the Via app for $5 ride shares across the city. They usually pick you up in 3-7 mins of booking. Restaurants are close, and you can walk to the Empire State Building if you're a tourist. The staff is nice and the rooms comfortable

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btdugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Hello, Thanks so much for your recent stay at Hotel Mela and for sharing your experience with the online community. While we would have loved to receive your feedback and learning about a very good and/or perfect experience, we do understand that shortfalls made your experience only average.
We are very pleased that you found our staff to be both helpful and friendly. Our team works extremely hard to make sure that everyone has a great stay, so it really means a lot to us when we hear positive feedback in regards. We will be sure to share this review with our team members!
We do hope and trust that your future travel plans to NYC do include Hotel Mela so we can truly demonstrate what a great hotel this is! Thanks again and all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

This was our first time staying at Hotel Mela. The room was tiny, but the cleanliness, friendly staff, and location made up for that! We will definitely stay here again. This was a true gem in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Times Square. The price was great also!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank luv2trvl60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlenyCi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Hello luv2trvl60845, thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Mela, we're thrilled that you chose to stay with us over the many, many hotels in the Times Square neighborhood. In addition, thank you for taking the time to share your PERFECT experience with us and the online community.

We are very pleased that you found the location to be to your standards. Times Square is a great area to visit because there is so much to do in addition to it being centrally located in the city. Our team works extremely hard to make sure that everyone has a great stay, so it really means a lot to us when we hear positive feedback in regards. We will be sure to share this review with our team members!

We do hope and trust this experience makes you a loyal guest of Hotel Mela whenever your travels bring you to NYC. Thanks again for your feedback and we wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews