We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location to Explore Manhattan”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #265 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel is seconds away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square, whilst overwhelming it is a great location to explore, the sightseeing buses and 42nd St station are very close. The hotel was modern and clean. The rooms were not very big but I think that is typical for New York. The Hotel staff were really friendly and we had lots of help booking tickets for Ice Hockey and making restaurant reservations. There are a couple of good Irish bars nearby but for an evening out I would go to Greenwich Village or Meatpacking District for something a bit more special than the tourist trail and only a few dollars in a taxi. I would defintiely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Hello BollyJ !

Thank you for your honest review on your recent visit at the Mela.
We take our guests feedback very seriously and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit.

If you ever wish to return to NYC please contact us directly and we'll offer the best rate and best accomodations.

Best Regards,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
email: nicki@hotelmela.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,190 - 2,194 of 4,203 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband and I recently stayed a weekend at Hotel Mela, a small boutique hotel on W 44th steps from Times Square. It was a last-minute booking, and I think we found a small gem. Given the prime location, it was very affordable, with a great discount to self-park at a nearby garage...be sure to get the discount voucher from the front desk at check-in before you go to the garage. Despite the busy location, the room was very quiet - we didn't hear any street or hall noise at all. (Although our room faced an air shaft and had no view - no concern for us). The rooms and baths are small (usual for NYC), but the lovely agent who took our reservation upgraded us to a deluxe room with king bed (2nd tier accommodation) for no extra cost. Although only ~200 sq ft, the room was so well laid out, that it felt quite spacious and was absolutely comfortable for 2 people and not a lot of luggage. Room was spotless and bed was very comfy. A nice touch we appreciated: there are both lamps on each nightstand as well as small spotlights on the headboard for late-night reading in bed. NOTE: The elevators are SMALL and can be a bit slow during busy times - not a bother for us, but folks on an extended stay with lots of bags might feel cramped. Staff was very helpful, friendly and efficient for both check-in and check-out. Room service is available from French bistro Saju next door. The restaurant looks lovely - rustic country French decor - but unfortunately the breakfast we had was disappointing, so we did not eat there again. That said, the restaurant looked busy at dinner, so perhaps it was just an off-day/meal. All in all, I'd recommend Hotel Mela for anyone wanting a mid-town/theatre district location that values service, has some nice amenities and doesn't break the bank.

Room Tip: Check both hotel booking website AND the hotel website. We got a great rate by checking the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DPhilbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Hello Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay at the Mela hotel.
We appreciate your feedback and always share our guest comments with our entire staff.
We will also share your feedback with our Restaurant and ensure we correct our breakfast service.

Please know we also have very large rooms in the hotel that can certainly accomodate a long term stay; (Our Deluxe and Executive King Rooms.)

Also our website indeed has the best rates available and you can contact us directly the next time you wish to visit NYC.

Best Regards,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
email: nicki@hotelmela.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel if you are looking to stay within walking distance of Times Square or Bryant Park. As for the hotel itself I can only speak to the rooms - tiny (as is typical for New York City) and somewhat worn and dated. I would stay here again if the price was right - but if I could find a better deal at a Club Quarters I would opt to stay there instead given the higher quality.

Room Tip: It's a pretty noisy area of town...try to stay on a higher floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenTravelerMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Hello GreenTravelerMA!

We thank you for writing a review on your trip to NYC and the Mela.
Your feedback is very much valued and we are constantly looking for ways to improve our service and product.

Please know we are currently in the midst of upgrading our lobby space and upgrading our guest-room carpeting and decor as well.

If you ever wish to visit NYC again please contact us directly and we will ensure a most enjoyable stay in one of our upgraded rooms.

Yours in Service,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
direct: reservations@hotelmela.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Tiny room with noisy air conditioner. I have had rooms with bigger closets than this room It is not worth the cost. Don't waste your money.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Other hotels in the area are a better values.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed here for 6 nites and booked a packages that included breakfast next door at the french bistro. Was very happy with our room and the location!! The food at the bistro was awesome! Room was clean, and suprisinly large and was relatively quiet given our proximity to times square. Was about a block from the heart of all the excitement. Very close to several subway stops and lots of different restaurants. Staff were friendly and helped where they could. My only issue was our room was not available until 3pm - if you are arriving early (we got in at 9am after a red eye flight) call ahead and ask for an early check in. Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notafanofwinter1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 471 in New York City
1,132 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#303 of 471 in New York City
5,582 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 471 in New York City
20,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 471 in New York City
4,934 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 471 in New York City
11,932 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#313 of 471 in New York City
10,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#178 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 8,418 - ₹ 22,449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing