We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #256 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I would recommend hotel Mela for anybody visiting New York, it was a fantastic location, close to times square/broadway/grand central. All the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The concierge was very knowledgable and gave great advice on places to visit/eat.
Our room was perfect, lovely spa products in the bathroom and very comfortable.
Saju Bistro was also excellent, great breakfast menu to start the day and very warm and helpful staff.
I have no complaints!
I will recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieKeddins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,569
    1,514
    513
    163
    105
See reviews for
563
1,974
233
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I was a little suspicious of the reviews for Hotel Mela prior to my trip. I was pleasantly surprise, the hotel exceeded my expectations. Staff were helpful and friendly. Although they were unable to accommodate our request for early checking they provide luggage storage. Location cannot be beat, right next to Time Sq.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Job2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Its exhausting spending 24 hours traveling from Australia to New York and I wasn't expecting too much from this hotel due to some of the comments on here about the room size. Well what a delightful surprise to be given a room on the 12th floor that was way bigger than anything I've ever stayed in before in Manhattan. It was exceptionally clean and housekeeping really went the extra mile to make me feel special - tiny things like my toothpaste being popped in a glass made me feel like someone cared. The room had everything I needed including camomile tea to help the jetlagged sleep. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I had requested a quiet room to recover from the flights before my conference and it was just perfect, the bed was comfortable and I had more pillows than I knew what to do with. The hotel is SO close to everything in Times Square and I would return in a heart beat. The only down was the lifts were a bit grubby as I went searching for food in the wee small hours of the morning, but that was made up for by the desk clerks tip of Cafe Cranberry one block across where I could more than fuel the jetlag munchies. Due to the nature of my trip I ended up staying in 3 hotels in 7 days and the one that promised the most stars only delivered attitude and didn't rate even close to my little Hotel Mela with the big heart.

Room Tip: Higher floors would attract less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

A friend and I visited NY in April 2012, and we were looking for a hotel that was quite central in Manhattan. Hotel Mela was perfect. A block away for Times Square, 10 min walk to the Empire State building, a block from 5th ave shopping, 7min walk to the subway, 15 min walk to Central Park, 7 min walk to Broadway.

Room was bigger than what I had expected and what I had read from other reviews. Not sure why people are overly concerned about the room size as when you are in NY, I can't imagine spending a lot of time in the hotel room!!

Overall, it was very clean, extremely nice staff, and in the perfect location! I also did get a great deal on Travelzoo, so I felt that the deal we got was of good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jade1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel was perfect in terms of location and service. the rooms were small, but nice. The first room I had was really tiny, which is common in NYC, but just be prepared that if you get a really low rate, you have very little space. I had an upgraded room on a high floor the other nights, and it was well worth the money for a little more space. And a great view of 44th St. E. The decor is nice, everything is clean and fresh and the windows open which I really like. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and ask for a room on a higher floor witha view of 44th St. E
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kattrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,761 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#375 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,659 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#277 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,001 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,651 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,422 - ₹ 26,712
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing