We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place, Superb Service!”
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mela
Ranked #273 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Place, Superb Service!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here while in town for a television show taping. The door man, Christian, was awesome. He was so helpful with getting us settled into our room. Our mini bar wouldn't open so we called the front desk, and I tell you the man must have been waiting in the hall, he was so fast to get there and fix it for us! We stayed in a deluxe king room, it was super nice, comfortable bedding (love that huge green pillow) They offer you a free robe and slippers too! It is very quiet. You cannot hear anything inside the room. It is very close to Times Square, like literaly a minute and a half from your room. Only thing that wasn't the hotels fault is the cost of parking, $55 per night! UGH...well it is NYC. So worth every penny. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyhorselady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,595
    1,558
    532
    173
    116
See reviews for
581
2,027
236
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Location...Location...Location. This is the best hotel in Manhatten. It is a close to everything. The staff is friendly, and the rooms are clean. Visit TravelZoo for deals on this hotel. We booked this hotel thru travel zoo.com and we had a delicious breakfast included at the cute restaurant next door. The service at this restaurant was outstanding. It is nice to start the day with a good breakfast. The concierge also recommended the Italian Restaurant right across the street, we were not impressed with the food. Go to Carmines instead for Italian food. This hotel is within Walking distance to everything. It is the place to stay in NYC. We walked to Central Park, Grand Central Station, Top of the Rock, and of course Times Sq. This is the hotel to stay at!

Room Tip: Our room did not have a good view, it actually faced a brick wall, but we end to bed so late that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommasina007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee KS
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great rooms - small but typical of downtown NYC...clean, pretty, quiet. Excellent location, friendliest staff EVER! Very helpful with bags, taxi and car logistics, housekeeping was amazing! Hotel Mela is located right in the heart of Time Square and easy access to all the subway stations. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the breakfast, amenities, and excellent staff the hotel offered. Thank you for an amazing experience. Hotel Mela excels in service, location and hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Super location right around the corner from Time Square. Tiny, clean rooms with everything one needs. Very comfortable beds. Very nice staff.
Forget about the breakfast that is offered at the adjoining coffee shop, it is VERY basic. There are lots of nice breakfast places at times square.
This was our second stay, would come back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotters813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed in this hotel when I was in NYC. The location was great and is just a couple of minutes walk from Times Square.
The room was ok but the carpet flooring of my room (at level 10) was wet when we checked in. There were patches of wet spot around the room which makes walking around the room unpleasant to my feet. Requested from an extra pair of slippers and bathrobe but they never came. Hopefully the staff will find the root of the problem for the wet carpet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laisquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#295 of 468 in New York City
7,136 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,602 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#380 of 468 in New York City
4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#283 of 468 in New York City
5,159 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#74 of 468 in New York City
868 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#71 of 468 in New York City
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Property: Hotel Mela
Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#169 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#179 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,840 - ₹ 25,035
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing