We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good value for this price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seafarers & International House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seafarers & International House
Ranked #366 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good value for this price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed several times in this very well located hotel. it is not at all a five star hotel, but its central, clean and the stuff is friendly. thats all i need when i stay in nyc for some nights. and save the money for seeing as much jazz concerts as possible...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jazzbully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    98
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
37
57
66
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Seafarers is not a fancy hotel, but it has a great location, rates and is always clean and well run.
The staff are nice and by staying there you are helping a good cause.
My choice for short visits to NYC.

Room Tip: If you have a valid student card you can get a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donaldinho035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed here February 2012 on an international school trip with 12 of my students and another teacher.

Firstly communication between myself and the hotel was great, and they never seemed to tire of my endless questions. Obviously, being responsible for 12 students overseas, I wanted to make sure that the hotel was secure and suitable to accomodate our needs; and we were not disappointed.

This is not a high-end boutique hotel with the usual expected amenites, but this is reflected in the price. And although the hotel is a little dated in decor, it's clean, comfortable and homely. I had a single room with a shared bath, and the room had a tv, plenty of drawer space, a rail with hangers, a desk and a sink in the room the bed was really comfy and the sheets were clean. The shower was just opposite and always had hot water and the water pressure was good. The shower could benefit from having more shelf room to put your toiletries on, but there are hooks on the back of the door to hang your things. The toilet was next to the shower room, and due to it being shared, i did find that other guests were not as considerate and therefore thought it was perfectly fine to pee all over the seat and someone else would clean it up. For this reason, i would recommend getting a private bath - but we were on a tight budget.

Some of our students shared a room and had a cot/fold-out bed to sleep on, which they said was fine but kind of sank in the middle, but hey they're teenagers, they can manage to sleep anywhere!

There's also a mezzanine level where there's a big tv and 2 computers with internet access. There's also a huge table area, which was ideal for us to have breakfast (hotel doesn't provide, but you can use the area to eat your own) and later the students would sit and fill out their workbooks and reflection journals.

In the lobby is a hot water tap - perfect for porridge/oatmeal - and there's tea and coffee available for 25 cents a cup - Bargain!

The location is just perfect, a block from Union Square subway, and there's a local supermarket/store half a block away for breakfast items. There's a good pizza place a block away called Amore Pizza - i think, and a good Tex-Mex place on the corner. Both are really cheap, but good quality.

Everyone we met at the hotel was really friendly, and really added to the whole experience for the students. All in all, we had an amazing time and we are hoping to use the hotel again next year. This was my third time in New York, and i can safely say that even if i make a personal trip, rather than a school trip, i would definitely use the Seafarers, but i would just pay the extra and get a private bath.

Thanks so much Seafarers - you were great!

Room Tip: Get a private bath room - i think you get a fridge in those rooms too
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Basics100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Located 1 block from Union Square surrounded by shops, restaurants and night clubs. The room is clean and simple. The best hotel value in New York City. Free Internet in the lobby and common lounge area. I stay here every time I goto New York City.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Room price is super cheap compared to the rest of hotels in Manhattan, reason why this place was chosen for our one-week stay. I made reservation for a double-shared bathroom, but we got instead a single bed and a folding bed on the corner of the room (can you say uncomfortable sleep?). Room was very basic but clean, the toilets and shower were clean as well. (WEAR FLIP-FLOPS IN THE SHOWER, saw tiny bugs coming out from the wall close to the floor when it got wet in one of the two shared showers). The hotel has seen better days (as the elevator, it takes forever to move), but all in all, the price and location make it a great option for people who only want a place to sleep and nothing more. There's a pub beside it, and Union Square and a few subway stations are just steps away.

Must add that they have computers with internet as an amenity on the second level of the lobby, and that they can keep your luggage stored in a small room after check-out time.

Oh, and Esther who was behind the desk was really nice. You can feel free to ask her anything.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Laralalaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#316 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#263 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#430 of 463 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#381 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#426 of 463 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafarers & International House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafarers & International House

Property: Seafarers & International House
Address: 123 E 15th St, New York City, NY 10003-3594
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,457 - ₹ 9,073
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seafarers & International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafarers & International House Hotel New York City
Seafarers And International House
Seafarers International Hotel
Hotel Seafarers International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing