We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 days in New York City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugar Hill Harlem Inn
Ranked #34 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 days in New York City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

After a month long trip to Europe, my wife and I wanted to spend 5 days in NYC before traveling home to Colorado. As so often, the key to a great travel experience is your lodging. And with Sugar Hill we really felt we won the lottery. The location is very charming , historic and old-elegant. The brownstone was very tastefully decorated and, most appropriately, had a classic Jazz theme. The beds and bathroom are immaculately cleaned and up to date./The owner Jeremy is a fount of knowledge regarding local Harlem eateries. If you are interested in biking NYC, Jeremy has bikes availabe. Access to public transportation is very convenient.
The only disappointment was with the breakfast which is rather limited.

Room Tip: From Laguardia take the 60M bus then change to the 100M bus at Amsterdam, get out at 141 St. then wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumdoodle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    152
    33
    16
    46
See reviews for
110
219
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Three of us stayed for a week in the renaissance suite. Plenty of room, very comfortable, with great breakfasts. We were worried about Harlem - but worries went after our first walk in the area. It's on the edges of Harlem: neighbours were ethnically diverse. All were welcoming and it all felt very safe.
Had to use the subway a lot to get around NY - but it's very cheap and would have done that wherever we'd stayed.
The main problem being that Harlem is not the sort of area to have a wealth of bars and restaurants to walk to. But, it was a great place to come back to.
The building is beautiful and it's full of interesting mementos. The service is personal - unlike the standard but impersonal courtesies you'd expect in a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMRea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My husband & I needed a place to stay during a 36-hour date for our anniversary. A friend recommended Sugar Hill for its price & uniqueness - we loved it! Super comfy bed, pithy and sometimes hilarious commentaries on a range of topics were printed, laminated, and displayed around our room & the breakfast table. Also, we stayed in the Josephine Baker room, which was the largest hotel room I've ever had in NYC (it was bigger than my sister's college apartment in Chelsea!)

We made our reservation on line & had no problems with the service - we found Jeremy to be delightful and helpful.

Room Tip: The Josephine Baker room was huge & even had a kitchen - not too much more expensive than the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Inn is lovely and reasonably priced for New York, BUT if you want your reservation to be honored, do not book here. Jeremy, the owner, is arrogant and totally unprofessional. We visit New York every Memorial Day weekend for my granddaughter's birthday and have stayed (or tried to) at Sugar Hill every year since my daughter and family moved into the neighborhood. I always book well in advance since Memorial Day can be busy. Two years ago, I received an email about a week before we were to arrive saying that they'd had a flood and we'd have to look else where. The place Jeremy recommended was a rat hole, to put it kindly; it didn't even have locks on the doors, and we ended up staying in my daughter's small apartment with all the other visitors. What was the poor guy to do though, with a flood and all. The next year we were given, not the room we had reserved well in advance, a quiet, back room, but a front room that had a lot more street noise. At least we had a room though, and I didn't complain. This year I booked in March. Just today (April 24)I got an email saying that Jeremy was sorry but that he'd made an error and didn't have a room after all. A month after a confirmation. When I called, he was totally unconcerned saying I shouldn't be upset since there are thousands of rooms in New York. Now I think the flood was fabricated. Yes, there are plenty of rooms in New York, so if you want to be assured of one, DO NOT book here.

Room Tip: Don't bother, you probably won't get the room you reserved; you may not get a room at all.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Zelda19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I took my granddaughter to New york to see colleges and we stayed three days at sugar Hill. Our host was helpful and all his suggestions were great. My 17 year old granddaughter and I walked all over the area and never felt uncomfortable. Went to the Convent Baptist church for Easter service and though we are neither Baptist or African American we again felt welcomed. Enjoyed dinner and jazz at a local restaurant. Room was lovely (Lena's room) and neighborhood was much quieter and prettier than our down town experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#3 of 75 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#8 of 75 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Harlem
The Central Park North
The Central Park North
#24 of 75 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 75 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Harlem
Harlem 144 Guest House
Harlem 144 Guest House
#51 of 75 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Manhattan
Michael
Michael
#25 of 75 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hill Harlem Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hill Harlem Inn

Property: Sugar Hill Harlem Inn
Address: 460 W 141st St, (between Amsterdam Ave and Convent Ave), New York City, NY 10031-6234
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,793 - ₹ 23,972
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Hill Harlem Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a piece of American History. From the forgotten Weckquasgeek Tribe, to the first middle class families that moved to this block in 1906 to the Harlem Renaissance. Since 2007, we have been using solar power at Sugar Hill Harlem Inn. In 2008 we won best of Bed and Breakfast.com awards. In 2008 we expanded. We have another building that we rent out to large groups. We have 10 rooms each with private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sugar Hill Harlem Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hill Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing