We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Rooms, Great Location and Big Hearts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Midtown West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quality Inn Midtown West
Ranked #359 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small Rooms, Great Location and Big Hearts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Great central location, walked everywhere. Slept through the hurricane. Small room but good bed. The staff are good natured and kept us entertained during the hurricane scare.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnipegCouchPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    287
    150
    46
    50
See reviews for
134
163
42
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ville-Marie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Spent 2 great nights at this hotel with my 2 daughters and my sister. Are you that fussy traveler, picky with food and everything else? Take out all that money you have and your plastic and go elsewhere where rooms are 400 $ and THEN you can complain if things are not perfect! On the other hand, are you looking for a great deal, best location, a hotel where you feel safe, 5 minutes from Times Square, safe area but are willing to put up with little tiny irritants ? Then take this place at 210 $ a night and enjoy the wonderful location ! It was all our first visit to NYC (4 women ages 51, 46, 24, 22) and we loved it. There just would be so much to write about all the excitement. But the hotel : Great breakfast (omelettes, sausage, make-your-own waffle (plain or blueberry), maple syrup, a variety of muffins, cereal, various bagels with all condiments, juices, good coffee) the downside being the lack of tables. You can load up a tray and go enjoy your breakfast up in your room. Rooms are VERY small (we had room 1000 with 2 double beds looking out 36th street) but everything was functional. The safe works. Beds were clean (oh but i didn't take out a microscope to examine). I have no idea if the tv functions well cause we didn't turn it on. A/C works very well. We drove. There is a public parking at the back of the hotel (entrance is on 35th street). It cost me 25$ (tax included) per 24 hours and I have a toyota highlander. Small cars may be less expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnishnabeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I think we paid about $200.00 a night on Expedia. The hotel is ok-- the sheets were clean and that was a plus. Rooms were tiny, tiny-- be we were out most of the day. Overall there is no Luxury at all. The staff was really friendly. The rooms were a bit run down.

The location was odd, You have to cross over a few highway entrances to start to walk into town. We walked to the Starlight Diner which was ok too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

I have been staying at this hotel whenever I travel to New York on my own dime, for years. It's certainly a no-frills option, but it's centrally located, the staff are friendly and helpful, it's clean and very affordable.

My girlfriend and i took the bus up from DC last month for a weekend in the City. We had a great time. Walked to Times Square. Walked to MOMA. Short cab rides to SOHO and the Village.

When I first began staying here, I made a point of taking a cab back to the hotel at night. But, over the years, the neighborhood has improved and i thought nothing of it to walk back after dark, during my last stay there.

Also, the staff was especially friendly this time. In fact, all of New York seems to be a little less New York-like, lately. A very pleasant trip, all in all.

So, in conclusion, a great little, no-frills hotel that's clean and affordable. i will almost certainly stay here again, the next time i return to New York for pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PFGWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a lovely time at the comfort inn, elevator is very slow and would recommend basement or first floor to avoid long waits but otherwise you could not beat the location and a nice continental breakfast included. Staff was wonderful. My husband and I stayed 5 nights and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#348 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#396 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#416 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#334 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#242 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#306 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Midtown West

Property: Quality Inn Midtown West
Address: 442 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Aves, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly Comfort Inn Convention Center)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#209 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,776 - ₹ 19,306
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Midtown West 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi and hot breakfast. Located just two blocks from the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, the Quality Inn Midtown West | Convention Center is an ideal place for both business and leisure travelers. .Additional nearby points of interest include: Grand Central Terminal, also known as Grand Central Station Rockefeller Center Radio City Music Hall entertainment venue Central Park Yankee Stadium, home of the New York Yankees baseball team Visitors will enjoy world-class shopping on New York's famous Fifth Avenue. The John F. Kennedy International Airport and the La Guardia Airport are 15 miles from the hotel. A variety of restaurants, entertainment options and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Midtown West Hotel New York City
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing