We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pass on this deal...Great place to stay in NYC!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Ranked #362 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The staff is absolutely amazing. Dennis, at the front desk (sorry I don't know your title) was so helpful and friendly. This was our first time to New York City. We asked him where we should eat, drink, whatever and he was very knowledgeable. There was also a lady at the front desk that advised us to schedule a ride back to the airport as it was cheaper. It was so nice to have our ride waiting for us when we were ready to go. The rooms were clean, spacious enough for someone that wouldn't be in the room much. The air conditioning worked perfect. The room was quiet for sleeping at night. The bathroom was clean and updated. The elevator service was fast enough. Housekeeping did a nice job for us. USA Today was delivered to our room daily, nice touch. The breakfast was great and it was included!! There were omelets, bacon, sausage, sausage gravy, all hot. There were also cereals, muffins, bagels, toast, milk, juices and coffee. The wi-fi was included. . The location worked great for our itinerary, The area was safe.There was a bar right across the street from the hotel. There were many little places to eat or get sodas VERY close to the hotel. Short walk to many of the sights we wanted to see in Times Square. Cabs were easy to find on 5th or 6th Streets. Excellent value, excellent service!!! When we come back to NYC, this is where we will stay. Again, thank you Dennis and the rest of the staff for being such great hosts!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 512 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stay here for the great location, clean and quiet rooms for a great price. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast so-so, and rooms are small but typical for NY. I brought my family and would certainly stay her again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I have stayed at several other Holiday Inn Express hotels and have come to expect a no frills but quality product that is clean. Unfortunately, this hotel is nothing like the others I have stayed at. I stayed here only one night on business and would not return again. In terms of the positives, it has a great location on 45th, convenient to midtown. That's about it for the positives however. Here are the issues I noted during my very short stay.

On check-in I was confronted immediately with a lobby full of 3 big laundry carts parked right in front of the front desk and I had to angle my body to wedge in to the hallway to get to the front desk. At no point did the front desk person or the laundry staff (who was standing there) do anything to move the carts out of the way. Usually they give you some amenity for being a Priority Club member, like a bottled water or coupon for the bar - here there is nothing. I had to ask for the wi fi password, which he then gave me.

The room I was given had a strong smell of mildew in the carpets, as well as in the hallway leading from the elevator to the room. Damp smelling, like a wet cat. The room itself was actually below street level, with the window about half way up the wall and opening up to a nice view of the alleyway between buildings (see picture of the view from the room). The room itself is small, although that is fairly normal for this part of Manhattan. However, the room itself is not properly maintained. For example, the bathroom ceiling is cracked near the exhaust fan (see picture), which I assume is caused by mold. When I went to go iron my shirt, I took out the ironing board and discovered that the ironing board cover was cracked, with gross looking stains around the rips. Look at the picture -- there is no way I am putting my shirt on that!

In the morning, I went to the breakfast that is included with the room. The breakfast itself is pretty standard Holiday Inn Express fare. The tables are in a narrow strip area but it seemed adequate for the number of people there at about 7 am. The tables themselves were not being cleaned between guests, but they were not overly gross. But both the waffle machine and the microwave oven were out of order; things can occassionally break and I can understand that, but both of the "out of order" signs were permanent looking signs in stands. See the pictures I took. Isn't the waffle machine the centerpiece of the Holiday Inn Express commercials talking up their free breakfast?

For the $250 per night I paid it is on the economy side of comprable Midtown hotels, but there are better choices in this price range, such as the Marriott Courtyard a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike-lcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Do not complain about the service or the breakfast... rooms are ok, location is great for business or first time visitors and the price is as low as it gets in NYC.
For those looking to spend as low as possible with hotel but is not flexible about lcoation.. this is a good choice!

Room Tip: Do not expect more than a clean bed and a shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FernandoSpnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Although the rooms are on the small side, all the facilities are included. Comfortable beds, air conditioning and a good bathroom.

The elevator/lift can sometimes struggle in busy times, as there are only 2, and they are shared by the house-keeping staff.

The complimentary breakfast buffet is welcome, and the warm cinammon rolls are particularly good.

A well located and good value stay, 5 minutes from Times Square and 1 minure from 5th Avenue.

Room Tip: Request a room with a/c if visiting in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigeljcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#294 of 469 in New York City
2,173 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#96 of 469 in New York City
816 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#265 of 469 in New York City
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#200 of 469 in New York City
1,514 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#260 of 469 in New York City
2,044 reviews
Midtown
The Mansfield
The Mansfield
#342 of 469 in New York City
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York

Address: 15 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express New York City)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 9,707 - ₹ 27,494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York Located in the heart of New York City, Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York is perfect for one who wants to experience the best of Manhattan and Times Square. You will be spoilt for choices by the wide range of activities surrounding the hotel, from musicals at the Theatre District to exhibitions at the Modern Museum of Art, shops at the Fashion District to strolls in Central Park or Bryant Park. If business is what brings you to the city, you will find major commercial buildings often just a short stroll away from the hotel. The Grand Central Station and subways are also easily accessible, seamlessly connecting you to the rest of the city. Stay productive in our 24-hour business center which offers wireless internet access and a range of business support services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing