We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value ...clean rooms.....friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City
Ranked #319 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value ...clean rooms.....friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We only stayed for 1 night and I would not hesitate to go back! Brandon, at the Front Desk, was very pleasant and polite.

As stated in prior reviews, the lobby is small and so are the rooms. However, although small, the room was cozy and very clean! Breakfast, which is included, was a bonus.

Great bar across the street, Point Break.....good food and good service!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    514
    185
    57
    49
See reviews for
353
307
66
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed here for the weekend of 5/5 for a last minute get away. The hotels pricing is very reasonable. We used points and cash, so it was a real deal. Knowing NY rooms can be very small, we got 2 rooms for the 4 of us and this worked out great. I did request rooms close to each other so that the kids could be in a room next to us and was disappointed that our first room assignment was on different floors. The front desk was great and managed to get our rooms together. The lobby is very small, as is the brekfast area. We did enjoy the coffee, which is available 24/7. There is no valet or on site parking. Please beware- you will be directed to park a block away at Central Park. You will be given a coupon to park at a rate of $35.00 per day. We were 15 min over the 24 hours and they wanted to charge us for 2 days. My husband had to insist on speaking to a manager to get them to charge us for one day and 'up to one hour'.

Room Tip: There are no good views, but who goes to NY to look out the hotel window unless you're in times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kd60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I cannot praise this hotel enough, both for its staff and its position.
You do have to look to find it as its tucked inbetween other offices and shops but you won't regret it once you've done so. We were dropped off by shuttle at the Grand Central Station and walked from there, it took about 7 minutes. We were greeted by name when we arrived and welcomed like returning friends, even tho we had not been there before. I had already been in contact with the manager regarding several questions I had, which had been answered quickly and helpfully on-line, and she came out to meet up when we checked in. We had been upgraded to a suite on the16th floor which was a lovely surprise. The reception area is very small and also includes the breakfast area. Breakfast was included, tho we didn't hold much hope if it being very good and were more than pleasantly surprised next morning to find the omelette and scrambled egg was better than we had experienced in many a 4 star hotel! The suite was lovely and had a fridge and microwave should you need them. Large TV in both the bedroom and the lounge area. The bathroom with extremely large walk in shower was clean and functional with fresh towels/soap etc. each day. The view outside the window was directly into the offices opposite but we never came there to be in our room other than to sleep so this was of no consequence to us. We were just 5 minutes walk from Times Sq, 10 minutes from the Rockefeller Center, and 10 minutes from the theater where we had booked to see Jersey Boys (fantastic show), So its position was fantastic. The small business centre and 2 desktop computers were good as I had not taken my netbook with me, even tho there was WiFi in the rooms. All the staff we met were more than helpful. If and when we go back to New York I would not bother to look for anywhere other than here again. Thanks you Chavon and your staff for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamPsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I was surprised when I entered the hotel based upon the reviews on TripAdvisor. The lobby is tiny and was somewhat unclean. When I returned later in the evening, there was a drunk couple arguing by the check-in desk.

I was not acknowledged as a Platinum Ambassador member upon check-in, nor was there any extra amenity provided. Dennis at the front desk as very nice.

There is a business center, but no gym in the hotel, which is a major negative. You have to pay $15 to use a NYSC location a block away. Parking is on the other side of the block for $35 with hotel voucher, so if you have a lot of luggage, plan accordingly.

What was most upsetting was that they seemed to use my floor as a staging area for equipment. When I got off the elevator after checking in, there was a large luggage trolley impeding access to my room. With a handful of luggage, it was not easy to maneuver. The following day upon checkout, there was a large mattress and the housekeeping trolley right outside my door, which I again had to move. Not very professional.

The rooms are tiny, as expected and don't really have great views, even on the higher floors. the elevator was rather slow.

I think this hotel needs a major overhaul and I don't felt like I got value for the money paid.

Room Tip: corner rooms are a bit larger, but not by much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meanchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear meanchat,

Thank you very much for being a Priority Club Member and for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
488 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Title says it all.. finding any hotel close to Times Square that is reasonable is a find. Typical small
for USA rooms but typical of European size rooms with shower is very functional and does the job.

Had a room looking out on 45th and was surprised by the lack of noise.

Decent typical HIE breakfast but plenty of restaurants next door and across the street.

I will return

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#251 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#165 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#268 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#62 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#184 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#210 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City
Address: 15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,849 - ₹ 34,334
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. Built in 2005, the hotel features include complimentary American breakfast, free in-room wireless high-speed internet access and free local phone calls.The Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue is a brand new modern, twenty-two story high rise hotel centrally located within close proximity to numerous restaurants, museums, 5th Ave shopping and the following attractions: Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Bryant Park, Radio City Music Hall, Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Broadway Theatre District and the Jacob Javits Convention Center. We are also a short cab ride away from Madison Square Garden, Macy's, Lord and Taylor, American Girl, the Modern Museum of Art, NYU, FIT, and the Chelsea Piers. Stay with us if you are in town to see the Today Show which is right up the street from us, as is the David Letterman Show and Good Morning America. Visit New York City, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing