We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay for location and views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
Ranked #149 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for location and views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

First off, negative points.
1. Putting reception on the second floor seems daft. The whole layout of this hotel is odd as the ground floor bar/club/restaurant takes presidence and the hotel seems to be an after thought stacked on top.
2. Getting guaranteed great views of Manhatten is hit or miss. Even if you book a Suite.
The Suites are badly designed ( bathrooms being located in the middle of the suites thus breaking up the flow of the rooms,making them feel dark,cramped and pokey ) and feel smaller than the ( less expensive!!!! ) Corner Kings which had a better view of Manhatten.
3.Don't expect a good room if you book via a 3rd party site as the hotel prioritizes guests who book direct.
4. Shower drain was blocked ( we read this on a very old review too - so they have not sorted this issue ) down lights were blown and taps leaked from their wall sockets!!
5.It's cheaky to put two small Evian bottles by the sink in the bathroom and then place a small card stating they cost $4 each!! We drank 2 days worth until we realized we had to pay for them. Drinks in the minibar is understood to cost money, but drinks left by the sink in the bathroom is a bit crafty.

Plus points.
1. They moved us from our expensive suite overlooking some graffiti on the 8th floor after 2 nights and placed us on a 15th floor Suite. The views were simply magical. Watching Manhatten light up as the sun went down was unforgettable. Highly recommended.

2. Personally, i liked the Dub music they played in the lifts. I understand that this point is totally irrelevant to people who do not like Dub music.But hey ho.

3. Location was fantastic. LES is very much like Hoxton in London. Great vibe and gritty while being totally safe ( the whole of Manhatten felt safe and we never saw or heard trouble anywhere - in fact it felt way better than London ). So many cool bars,restaurants and places to go near by. Highly recommend breakfast round the corner at 88 Orchard St. You will love it.The hotel does $5 breakfasts which we never had.Cheap but i suppose ya get what ya pay for........
Over all the Rivington is a cool hotel more suited to the younger crowd and having said all the above, we are planning on staying there again as the whole NY experience was great. We checked out the Gansevoort Hotel a few times and found the roof top bar staff too cool for school and rude, which we never experienced at the Rivington. So i would recommend this hotel if you want that highrise NYC experience in a slightly trying too cool kinda way.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank realityczech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    335
    105
    61
    43
See reviews for
105
512
86
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ssechrest230
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

This is a very unique hotel. When the cab driver first pulled up, I couldn't tell it was a hotel - it made me very nervous. Once in, I was a little confused on how to get to the front desk. Once I got to my room, it was pretty nice. Its a unique hotel with very different amenities, but definitely an experience. The restaurant at breakfast was a lovely experience. Great ambiance! The internet was horrible though - very slow!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzzy230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World Citizen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

Being a hotel designer, I unfortunately know the history behind this hotel. Mr Wanders came on board halfway through the development of this hotel and unfortunately it shows. Nevertheless, fantastic design development for the Lower East Side of Manhattan (possibly the only 'designer' icon on Rivington Street...). Black sanitaryware is unfortunately a no-no. FANTASTIC steam shower !!! HIGHLY recommended !! LOADS of cupboard space. FABULOUS mini-bar. Spacious rooms. OK views. Maintenance not up to scratch. Please note that 'do not disturb' means nothing to these people : They will still enter your room and check your mini-bar & room even if you have expressly indicated that you are 'not to be disturbed'. The bar downstairs is very trendy & well occupied. It is very disturbing however to have to explain to the bouncer every time that you leave the hotel that you are actually a guest. Ridiculous ! (since reception is on the first floor). Being treated like a 'nobody' everytime you get back to the hotel is a serious problem. At a rate of $300 per night, I would at least expect to be recognised ! Otherwise, the hotel is OK : general maintenance needs attention. Rooms are great. More of a business hotel than a holiday hotel. Nevertheless : great value & adequate service.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyFiasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel on Rivington back in October and we were glad to see the service is still up to par. Friendly staff and very helpful with restaurant recommendations in the area. Great corner room, higher floor then last time with an amazing view. A bit noisy on the weekend nights but the beds definitely make up for it. Will be staying here again for our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kev224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

The hotel is fantastic: very media but great. I proposed to my girlfriend on the balcony overlooking Manhattan and it was so special. It took me a long time to find a hotel with a balcony that overlooked the Empire State Building that you could have a glass of champagne on, but this did just that – thanks to Mr and Mrs Smith for helping me find it.

Hotel itself is very hip and trendy. We stayed in a suite with all glass looking over empire state and x2 showers both which had glass to the floor which is a bit odd showering 20 floors up looking over Manhattan and anyone can look in!!

It was really hot when we stayed and so there was a drinks do on the top floor with a big hot tub and bar which had incredible views of New York.

If you walk out the hotel and turn left there is a great little café owned by Moby on the right hand side called 'teany'. It's a cosy little place but really relaxing and cool.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smoothie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#83 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#87 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Sago Hotel
Sago Hotel
#369 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Property: Hotel on Rivington
Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,918 - ₹ 31,704
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TIG Global, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing