We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and cheap accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Dream Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I had a fantastic time stay at this hostel. A friend and I booked a private room here and it had everything we needed. This is a great location with two subways and some bus stops really close so you can get everywhere you want to go easily via public transport. The only complaint I would have is that the pipes/water here are really loud and if somebody (for some unknown reason) decides to take a shower at 3am in the morning this can be quite noisy. However the bathrooms are nice, all soap and shampoo supplied and the free breakfast has anything you could ask for!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megb05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 114 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Perfect location, right in the centre of everything! An easy walk Uptown or Downtown. Immaculately clean. Modern bathrooms supplying soap, shampoo and radios. Extremely friendly and considerate staff, there is a real family feel about the place. Amazing breakfast with freshly cooked waffles, toast, cereal, fruit and other snacks you can also help yourself to. The rooms were small and simple but also very clean and comfortable with air conditioning, sink and television. Felt very safe as well. There is a tv room with computers and free wifi available. I was there the same time Hurricane Irene was supposed to hit NYC so we actually spent a lot of time inside the hostel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meazle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I spent 6 nights at this hostel, it was good enough for what I wanted. Only a few blocks from the subway, so easy to get around. Clean private room, staff didn't enter to service while I was there, but there isn't a room safe.
Creative use of plumbing pipe for shelves, towel rail, & clothes hanger in room, & toilet roll holder in bathroom & toilet. :-) Second toilet on each floor is abit small, wouldn't want to be claustraphobic.
If anyone gets up & has an early shower in the morning, you're going to hear the pipes knocking, so people please don't get up earlier than you have to consider your fellow guests.
Breaky at 7am - waffles made by Joe each day, yum. Hard boiled eggs, cereal, toast, tang, fruit.
Luggage room doesn't have a lock on it (someone forced the door at some time), if you plan to do something on your last day, you've been warned. However there is video survelance of the luggage room, hallways, front door etc, so s/be ok, mine was.
Oh no lift, so you have to carry your suitcase up flights of narrow stairs, so pack light.
TV only has 4-6 english stations & reception in my room wasn't the greatest, signal kept dropping out. But there is a tv in the kitchen & common room where the internet/pc's are.
Internet & phone on honest system. 25c for local call. USD1 for 30min internet time - excellent value.
Bunk beds in private rooms, metal spring variety, fairly new, but not everyones favourite if sharing imagine they'd wobble with movement.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CasperSYDAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Great hostel! The breakfast is very good, with fruits, breads, butter, gellys, cream cheese, coffe, milk, eggs, waffle... And you can cook if you want to. The kitchen is small, but clean and the people are very kind. The rooms are small, but clean, with air conditioned. The restroms are very clean, but only one on each floor ( about 10 rooms per floor). Staffs are very helpful. Great location, close to subway and 5th avenue. no lockers, but they have a luggage store room. There is a key available for each guest, and the main door has a key code too. The hostel has a security camera system.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Last week, my friend and I spent four days at this hostel. At first, I was a bit apprehensive, since it was my first time staying at a hostel. I was pleasantly surprised. It was very clean. (cleaner than a lot of motels, I have experienced.) The breakfast room featured a lot of good snacks and many selections for breakfast. There was a microwave, fridge, teas, coffee, fruit, cookies, breads, jams, etc., available 24/7. Guests were considerate and during my visit, never left the room messy. The bathroom and shower facilities were clean and worked well, though one had to be careful with the toilet, which tended to clog, if overloaded. There was a common room with internet access, books, tourist materials and television. The employees were helpful and friendly. There was even a cuddly cat which we met our last evening. Some reviewers complained about noise. With the exception of some street traffic, (I am a former New Yorker, so traffic does not disturb me!) the hostel was quiet. Guests were considerate and polite. The rooms were small, giving the feeling of a ship's berth. The hostel seemed to have ship-like design. It (the room) was hot, until I figured out the heating system. The only downside to the rooms is that as far as I know, they feature bunk beds. The ladder (attached to the side of bed) was located in an area which could not be easily reached, making climbing on to the top very harder. Even harder if one has joint troubles or is older, as was the case with myself and my friend. Otherwise, I would recommend this hostel to those who are looking for a place to sleep and a convenient location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 469 in New York City
4,945 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#408 of 469 in New York City
550 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#139 of 469 in New York City
3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#15 of 163 in New York City
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Dream Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Dream Hostel

Address: 168 E 24th St, midtown Manhattan, New York City, NY 10010-3703
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 7,632 - ₹ 11,513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned business, American Dream Hostel welcomes you to New York City. Our prices include breakfast in the morning and WiFi. You will be in Manhattan, Flatiron District/Gramercy Park, close to the most exciting locations and events; most main points of interest including restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and stores are studded around the neighborhood and all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
American Dream Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing