We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family dining”
Review of Tom's Restaurant

Tom's Restaurant
Ranked #1,714 of 15,760 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Neighbourhood: Morningside Heights
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Interesting café famous for its exposure on Seinfeld. Lots of pictures of Seinfeld characters, but other well-known celebrities. Great food, good portions, lots of choices. Staff very friendly. Easy style seating, both in and outside.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marylyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialResponse, Customer Service at Tom's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Marylyn, Thank you for sharing your experience with a feedback. Everything we do revolves around making sure that our customers have a good time and we're glad that you were happy with the food, service as well as the portion size. It was a pleasure to have you. Be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

If you are a Seinfeld fan. A must visit. Take the time to go inside. Best milkshakes in New York - kids thought so!
They also make s great banana split

Thank tarita2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialResponse, Customer Service at Tom's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Hi Tarita, Thank you for the feedback. Your comments regarding the milkshake and banana split are well appreciated. It is feedback like yours which helps us provide a better experience to our customers. Be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Never again. I went to the restaurant with some friends for lunch. Food was mediocre, but the waiter was polite. Unfortunately after paying the bill, the manager approached to us YELLING and telling us to pay the whole amount (which had been indeed wholly paid by us). After showing him the credit card receipts, he didn’t even apologize for his error and manners. After I told him that wasn’t the proper way to treat customers, he literally replied (quite loudly) that he didn’t care if that was the proper way and it was his way. If you want to get disrespected and outrageous service, Tom’s is your place.

1  Thank mkosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialResponse, Customer Service at Tom's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hello, We're sorry for the inconvenience you faced during your visit. Please accept our apologies as it's evident that we clearly missed the spot to provide you with a good overall experience. We value you as a customer and it is imperative for us that everybody leaves happy. We can only hope that at some point in the future you may allow us a second chance to get things right. Hope to see again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

My favorite show of all time so this place was a MUST SEE. I knew the inside was going to be different so that was ok. The food was actually delicious and the service was wonderful! I would have loved to see at night when the sign is lit up!!! Love for Seinfeld decor hanging all over. Very neat!

Thank Mia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialResponse, Customer Service at Tom's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hello Mia, Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback along with the picture you posted! Happy to see that you liked the food and the service. We work hard to make sure that the decor adds to the overall dining experience and we're glad that you liked it. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

We had just dropped our daughter off at college and stopped by this place on the way back to our hotel. It's small inside and we had to wait about five minutes for a booth to open up. The staff was amazing - very efficient, the prices were reasonable and the diner food was just what was needed! My husband and I split a HUGE bagel with cream cheese, along with a side of crispy bacon and a stack of pancakes...yes, it was a carb filled meal, but it didn't disappoint! I'm sure once school is in session this place can be packed, but on a random day in August before the dorms of Columbia are full, we experienced great food & friendly service! Also, they make a great cup of diner coffee!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SocialResponse, Customer Service at Tom's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you for stopping by and giving us a try. Delighted to know that your recent experience was as you expected and we are happy to learn that you also found us reasonable too. We love to hear from customers who had a great experience - it boosts our morale, and helps us to provide even better services. Do visit us soon and give us the privilege to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tom's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tom's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing