We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best vegetarian food ever eaten”
Review of Red Bamboo

Red Bamboo
Ranked #542 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Greenwich Village
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian food ever eaten”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Honestly- this is THE place to try for vegetarian food in NY.
Absolutely blown away by the quality of food.
They specialize in "vegi" versions of familiar dishes like bbq ribs to fried chicken.
Never been so amazed by how good the food was! Prices around 10 usd for a main.
Busy place so arrive early for a seat and enjoy! Doggy bag friendly and large portions so good option to bring home an extra dish!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CCcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    64
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
313 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetarian "meat" dishes!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I went to this restaurant several years ago and recently returned because I remembered it so well. I went with non-vegetarian friends and they loved it as well, so there is something for everyone! The prices are not too bad compared to other vegetarian restaurants in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisy21988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite place”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I love this place! I've been going to this 7 years and I can't stop. I love every item on the menu, th prices are great, the portions are wonderful (big) and the staff is friendly. I would eat there everyday if I could. I recommend the BBQ buffalo wings, the mortalin sandwich and the shakes. Actually, I recommend everything! I'm a vegetarian but I took 15 meat eaters with me and they loved it (and they don't lke fake food)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lissette_V71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Out of this world !”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My boyfriend and I visited here in January this year and didn't expect to be so blown away ! He got vegan ribs and I had the parmesan with vegan cheese and we've never tasted food so good ! We ended up eating practically all our meals for the week here, with dribble protruding from our lips at the very mention of the name. Paying another visit next month so will write a fresh review with pictures when it's new in our memory again.

Portion sizes are huge, especially as they cost very little !

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurenamyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredible mock meats”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I would have to say this is one of my top three restaurants to visit when I am in NY. Every item I have ever had at Red Bamboo has been remarkable. Red Bamboo's BBQ Buffalo Wings are one of the best things I have ever eaten. The Chicken Parmesan Hero and Classic BLT are other top favourites. This was my first visit with my one year old daughter and the menu had lots for her to ear - she loved the mashed potatoes with corn. Red Bamboo needs to be a definite visit visit for any vegetarian!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sleater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Bamboo also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Red Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing