We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ridiculous.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Daniel

Daniel
Reserve with OpenTable
Daniel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 13,552 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Park Avenue
Transit: 68th Street stop, #6 Train.
orlando
1 review
“Ridiculous.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Enjoyed a special weekend in NYC with the family, and we made a special night out of visiting this restaurant based on the reviews here. Our expections were very high and Daniel did not disappoint. Service impeccable. Decor inventive. Food was so creative -- pure culinary delights!! Wine pairings perfect. Looooved. Just prepare to indulge all of you senses :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yummom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,006
    320
    136
    49
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“An amazing dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I had my graduation dinner at Daniel recently. And it was amazing! It was also my first time at a Michelin 3 star restaurant. I was expecting things to be good, but they exceeded expectations.
The moment we were seated at our table, they bought these little velvet stools for our clutches.
The cocktail was nice, but I have tasted better. The breads were exquisite though. Freshly baked and in 5 varieties, they all taste amazing. We ordered the vagetarian 3 course dinner since we didn't have time for a 6 course tasting menu. The food was presented so exquisitely. And the desserts were amazing. They kept sending in so many samplers during dessers, and it was
Nice to try out all of them. I had only mentioned once that I was here to celebrate my graduation, and they sent in a complimentary congratulatory dessert too. And the fresh Madeleine's were amazing.
The restaurant is quite heavy on the pocket, but who really cares when you are celebrating?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travebuff_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Simply one of NYC's *BEST* restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Each *dining experience* I've ever had here -- over a dozen -- has made my palate a launching-pad into epicurean ecstasy. From 'amuse-bouche' to dessert, from cocktail through coffee, Daniel ALWAYS has 'sent' me into the beyond. I hardly know why I go to a play or a concert, after dining here, I already am so *fulfilled* in almost every sensual way.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank arimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
254 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wow, this is the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This has got to be one of my favorite restaurants of all time. Mostly due to the exquisite service. Although the service is ultra professional it is still quite warm and friendly and down to earth. I loved that they provided me with a small stool for my purse, so it wouldn't have to be on the floor. THe food was delicious. Expensive but worth it if you are willing to splurge!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank havesuitcase153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A fantastic evening at Daniel. We started with a drink at the bar, cocktail menu is inventive and the drinks are great.
Dinner was amazing, perfect food quality and careful service.
A great address in NYC.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jetro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daniel also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Daniel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing