We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“umm umm good”
Review of Chinese Mirch - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chinese Mirch
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Manhattan
Guttenberg, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“umm umm good”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We are here almost every other week end. This is my husbands favorite place to have Indo-chinese in the US...need I say more?

PS it gets really crowded. Like REALLY crowded, then when the crowds are in, ugh, it sounds like a fish market.

TIP: take a seat near the window.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JrsyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Chinese food the way you get it in India--mmm, mmm!”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

If you order wisely here, you can have a fabulous meal, and the atmosphere is much more elegant than at most other Lexington-Avenue-in-the-20s Indian establishments. The food is Indian-style Chinese, which I eat whenever I'm in India and love in NYC as well. On some visits a year or so ago I felt that the spices had been toned down for westerners, but last week the items marked as spicy on the menu were blistering, and delicious.

Cauliflower and okra are not even in my list of top ten vegetables, but do not miss the delicious crispy fried okra appetizer, rolled in smoky chile powder and served like frites in an upright paper cone--oh, so good--and the gobi manchurian appetizer, which is tastier here than anywhere, even if it doesn't come in the red catsup sauce you'd find on the same dish in India. Those two items are the best things on the menu!

Service is a little slow, or perhaps that just means "unhurried." If you're heading back to the office after lunch at Chinese Mirch, you may have to track down someone for the check.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lengelcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“"Indian style" Chinese Food”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

When Indians travel abroad, one problem they face is finding the cuisine of their choice. Many people of Indian Origin who are travelling abroad on work or holidays are not always very comfortable eating differing cuisines as they love to look for Indian food. Many time the Indian food they find is either very expensive or not up to scratch. A person in a alien country/culture can feel very lost.
I was a little sceptical when my son suggested this restaurant for lunch one Sunday as a friend of his had come from India and we are all strict vegetarians.
However, the food was a pleasant surprise and we had a hearty enjoyable lunch!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rajkumarharalalka22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second time around”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We dined here a year ago and we couldn't wait to return on this visit. The cuisine is so flavorful and creative. Sharing is encouraged as you want to get as many taste experiences as you can. The "mojito" is a great drink, too.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank LuciR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting Asian Fusion”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Chinese food with a fusion of Indian spices!? It works... and works really well. I had the Cauliflower to start and my partner and I agreed it was the best dish of the night with the rest a close joint second. We had not booked and took a chance and was luckily seated straight away although the restaurant was full. From the moment we were shown to our seats the service was exceptional, very helpful but not too in your face. Someone commented on the noise, it is a noisy but more of a buzz of happy chat from a lovely mix of different nationalities. Definitely recommend to any Brits who like quality Chinese and Indian food, prices not bad too, portion sizes are big so don't over-order like we did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HonestAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinese Mirch also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing