We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Keens Steakhouse

Keens Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Keens Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 31 - US$ 100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 5th and 6th
Transit: N, R F, Q, B, D A,C,E & 1,2,3,9 on 34th Street
Description: Keens Steakhouse, a classic New York chophouse, was already famous for its steaks and chops at the turn of the century. Founded in 1885, Keens has 90,000 clay pipes that line the ceilings – pipes once smoked by customers after dinner. Today Keens legendary mutton chops and dry aged prime steaks are still without equal in the city.
Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great food and in particular great steak. Also very lively and busy atmosphere, really enjoyed it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GemmaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,276
    1,219
    326
    122
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mutton Chop Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This ageless eatery never disappoints. There are very few steakhouses that have mutton chops on the menu - lamb, but not mutton. Keens has been around awhile, and I presume that they served mutton from the get go - back when mutton was on many menues. It is wonderful, as is the service and atmosphere. It is somewhat noisey, but that only adds to its appeal, in my view. If you want an authenic New York steakhouse, don't miss Keens.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janna39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Steak and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Wow if you like meat this is the place to go! The service was good and the wine list
is excellent. The steak was outstanding all set in a nice old fashioned restaurant.
If you want a Steak House in New York give it a go!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jigglywuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Steaks in New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We visits this Steak house in New York because it was so good. The atmosphere was amazing , great bar attached to have a beverage before yor meal or to relax after . The service was excellant and I would totally recommend the Steak Porterhouse , well worth the cost , the taste was amazing . This restaurent is better the Smith & Wollensky , we also visited this on our trip to New York and was so disappointed with the food and service . Take my advice and go the Keens, you wont regret it.......

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended ;o)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I spent the last night of trip to NY at Keens - and had a great experience! We enjoyed everything about it; the atmosphere, interior, the service, food and wine, it was all definitely worth every cent!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaSofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keens Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Keens Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing