We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Time”

Ellen's Stardust Diner
Ranked #815 of 15,915 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Stopped in for lunch and we had a great time. In addition to great food, the wait staff are all expiring to be on Broadway and take turns singing! In fact, Ellen's has at least one alum in every play currently running. Our waitress had both a great voice as well as being most attentive to our needs. My wrap was very good and my wife enjoyed her Cobb Salad. If you're in the area this is a must stop but be ready it does get a bit crazy pre & post shows.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fptjrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (19,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,324 - 2,328 of 19,053 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017

This was an experience I would recommend you have. While the wait was a bit long and the food average, the overall experience was great. The restaurant staff is mostly made up of Broadway and off-Broadway entertainers who share their talents non-stop throughout the dining experience. This leads to an energized and happy atmosphere for dining. In addition to their talent, the servers are customer service-oriented.

The food is tasty, but dinner style. I would recommend visiting there for breakfast or brunch -- but plan to wait outside no matter what time you go.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BizTraveler371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We had about an hour queue but was worth the wait. Big portions of food, service spot on but wow the entertainment was wow.
It’s like being on broadway without the expense.
Go go go

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank AnnieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Went here on several recommendations and it was as expected. The food is not great - you are paying for the experience and the atmosphere. The servers did a great job entertaining guests. Can't say I'd visit a second time around.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Reviewsbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

This place is the best, queue can be quite long so I be prepared. I got there at 8 and managed to skip the line by being alone and sitting at the bar for breakfast. Food was good but waiters/waitress and host are what made it. Non stop fun and action, the beauty and the beast finale was memorable will definitely go back, can’t recommend it enough. A must do/see.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank colin7629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ellen's Stardust Diner also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ellen's Stardust Diner? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing