We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bernardin

Le Bernardin
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Bernardin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 13,413 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 41 - US$ 90
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: B, D, E, F, N, Q, R & V, W, 1, 2, 3, subway trains
Description: Le Bernardin, Zagat's top pick for 2013, and awarded the Michelin Guide's coveted 3-stars as well as The New York Times' highest rating of 4-stars, has maintained its status of excellence for over 20 years and its international acclaim as one of the world's top seafood restaurants. Owner/Chef Eric Ripert continues to set unsurpassed standards with his piscatorial paradise and partner Maguy Le Coze's seamless and unparalleled service. *When making your reservation, please indicate in the Special Requests box if you will be attending THEATER so that we may accommodate you appropriately.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
474 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

One of the best in the city, far enough away from the noise, close enought to enjoy the sights and songs of the city

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank m1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,975
    366
    183
    59
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We had a special lunch at Le Bernardin for a truly special occasion. Our sister flew in from overseas to purchase a wedding gown in NY and we decided to mark the momentous occasion by treating her to lunch at one of NY's best restaurants. Le Bernardin did not disappoint. Our table of three had the Chef's Tasting Menu and we requested a sommelier to recommend wine for us. The menu consisted of six dishes and 2 desserts. Needless to say, each dish was inspired. I usually balk at eating raw meat, and our sister does not eat meat at all --- but the 1st dish, the Nebraska Wagyu Beef; Langoustine and Osetra Caviar Tartare, did not taste like meat at all! I especially like the 2nd dish,Charred Octopus "a la plancha". The octopus was very soft (quite a feat considering how easy it is to make octopus rubbery) and the smoky flavor was very delicate. Some reviewers have remarked that the portions are too small for what you're paying for, but by the time we started on the Arctic Char (5th dish), I was already feeling quite full. The service was impeccable. The staff were very attentive but never intrusive. You knew that they kept an eye on your table and always knew what you needed, but they worked so quietly that there were times when we did not notice that our water had been refilled, or that we had a fresh supply of butter. They kept the table so clean that by the time our meal ended and we had pictures taken, our table looked like we were just about to start our meal. The restaurant is indeed pricey, but for a special occasion like ours, it is worth the splurge. I would recommend that you book a reservation way in advance. I booked ours 2 weeks ahead, but I still did not get the date and time I originally wanted. Jackets are required for men and smart casual attire advisable for women.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank woodlandfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“service made it perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

ive been to several restaurants where the tasting menu is great but the service is stuffy and pretentious. our server was delightful. he was so friendly and we enjoyed speaking to him as much as our meal, well maybe not but close. the food is outstanding and that is to be expected. we went for an early dinner and had no wait to be seated. the lounge area looked inviting as well.

Helpful?
6 Thank fancyschmancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
381 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Perfect meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The impeccable meal. Service, food, presentation, watching the fancy diners. Wonderful seafood preparations. Perfect for a special occasion. Be prepared to spend a bundle here, but it is worth it!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank dogeyedoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Very good food and service. Ambiance too pretending and making you feel uneasy. Noise exceeded the normal. Had to wait quite a lot to be seated despite the fixed time reservation.

Helpful?
5 Thank GeStLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bernardin also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Bernardin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing