We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Delightful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gramercy Tavern

Gramercy Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Gramercy Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 13,412 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: Park Avenue & Broadway
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, R or L to 14th Street Union Square or 6 to 23rd Street at Park Avenue
Description: One of America’s most beloved restaurants, Gramercy Tavern has welcomed guests for close to two decades to enjoy seasonal American cuisine, warm hospitality and unparalleled service. The restaurant is perennially ranked at the top of Zagat Survey’s ‘Most Popular’ list, and has garnered eight James Beard Awards including ‘Outstanding Restaurant’ and ‘Best Chef: NYC’. Chef Michael Anthony’s highly seasonal menu consists of elegant dishes with a rustic influence that showcase the restaurant’s relationships with local farms and purveyors. The Main Dining Room serves prix-fixe menus starting at $92 for dinner and an a la carte menu for lunch, and accepts reservations 28 days in advance. The more casual Tavern serves an a la carte menu centered around the wood burning grill, and welcomes guests on a walk-in basis. The restaurant also features an acclaimed wine list, and thoughtfully selected beer and cocktail offerings.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

My oldest son took me there for my Birthday, the place was very inviting. I enjoy the food, I think a couple who wants a Romantic place to go should check this place out.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grannyhotstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,043
    558
    192
    52
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Spectacular Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Hubs and I went for our anniversary dinner. As soon as we were seating in the dining room, our server came out with bubbly and poured glasses and toasted us a Happy Anniversary. What a lovely tough. We did the 3 course menu...I would love to eat the open face ravioli every day. It was delightful. The nice touches kept coming- we ordered a small cheese plate to go with dessert, and our server threw in a few extra cuts. When dessert came out, it had a lovely little Happy Anniversary note written in chocolate. It is certainly not inexpensive (with a bottle of wine, and after dinner drinks (and a generous tip), we spent around $350), but the experience and service were simply wonderful.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Late Lunch at the Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

After a long day of sightseeing and shopping, my husband and I popped in for a late lunch at about 2:30. Given the late hour, there was no wait for a table although we chose to dine at the bar.

What followed was a wonderful meal that we will remember fondly for years to come. We both had the fish croquette salad - fresh, lightly dressed greens with three large pieces of croquette. The batter on the fluffy croquettes was crispy and airy. I don't believe it was panko, but maybe it was?

For my entree, I chose another appetizer: the pate. Wow! I have never had such a creamy, flavorful pate before! It was so rich and filling that even though it was delicious, I was only able to eat a two pieces of pate and toast.

All in all, this was a wonderful meal and we will definitely return on our next trip to NYC. Excellent!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kwren76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“As good as you can get in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Sure this is a great spot to eat good food, but the real test is how they handle little problems. The family went there for a Sunday Brunch. The order came out faulty. A bowl of soup was 1/3 filled. We pointed it out and, ta dah !, a full bowl of soup appeared. The wine was served too soon in the meal, it was removed to be served with the main course. The fish was off, with a smell iodine, it was removed from the check ( along with the soup ). This was all done with aplomb and grace suitable to a fine and dedicated eatery. Congradulations on your style, you represent the best of NYC !!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Estrumagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

If you wanna get indulged by a Chef's creative and excuisite selections, supported by a hand-picked team of extermely kind and attentive waiters, Gramercy Tavern is the place. Fine dining experience with which you cannot go wrong. Beautiful ambiance as well. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cem_frm_istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gramercy Tavern also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Gramercy Tavern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing