We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #91 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have just stayed at the Affinia Dumont with a 9 month old baby and the hotel was great. We had to pay more to get a room with a microwave and hob to make and warm milk and baby food, but it was worth the extra. We had a big spacious lounge with small kitchen area plus a large bedroom.

The location is perfect. With a buggy it's not easy to jump in a cab or on the subway, but we were able to walk pretty much everywhere we wanted to go.

My only complaint about the hotel would be that it didn't have a bar onsite to have a drink. There was a restaurant attached to the hotel where we could get breakfast dinner or room service, but we would have liked a hotel bar.

All in all- a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHop78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,801
    1,486
    291
    108
    46
See reviews for
1,844
1,295
169
439
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We first stayed at this hotel in May 2008 and again in June 2011. The hotel is in a great location for all the sights, underground, shops etc. There are some good bars & restaurants in the area. Both times, we opted to stay in a junior suite which have excellent views of the Chrysler building from one window and the East river from the other. The rooms are a good size and incorporate a small kitchen. The hotel is very clran and in good decor. The staff are very pleasant and helpful re taxis and directions. If we go to New York again we will definately be staying at the Affinia Dumont.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyxke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Just finished my second visit with the Affinia Dumont and it reaffirmed my choice to never stay at a different New York City hotel, ever again.

Arriving at the Affinia Dumont really felt like I was coming home to my apartment in New York City. We were greeted by staff who remembered us, our one-bedroom Suite left nothing to be desired, and the hotel's proximity to shopping, Subway Stations, restaurants, etc., is second to none.

I knew what shops I wanted to visit on this trip, so I dropped off my bags and hit the ground running the moment I arrived. At the end of the day I could come "home" and collapse with all the treasures I had found!

I have traveled all over the United States and United Kingdom.When I first came to New York (decades ago), it seemed more like a foreign city to me than London, England had. New York is a big city and it still is different than any other city or place. When visiting New York you have to be a little more cognizant of where you are staying, what neighborhood you are in, and what kind of accommodations you are booking.

The Affinia Dumont gets five stars for all of the above. You are about 2-3 blocks from the Subway station that will take you all the way to the Upper East Side or down to Soho or The Village. The Empire State Building and Macy's Herald Square are about 5-7 blocks away, and there is plenty of food, drink and shopping well within walking distance of this Murray Hill hotel.

If you need information on any attraction, show, or where to shop, just ask David Bach, the Concierge and he will have the answer for you!

PS - I found a rarity in New York City....flavored Coffee Creamers! They are available at the 7-11 at Madison & 33rd. I made that a daily stop before my shop-till-you-drop excursions!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Overall, I thought that the room was spacious and clean although I did find that the full kitchen was a huge plus bit it was a bit outdated and that the bathroom was a bit small and unappealling. The hotel staff was nice and helpful. Although the room met my needs during my stay i felt that the room could've had better lighting because at times it felt like I was in a basement. Maybe it was just me but we had issues with our heating and there were some decent wind drafts coming from the windows preventing us from keeping our room at a decent temperature.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverback33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

the rooms are still the same, they really should update them. Wall papers were peeling off.
we stayed there becuase of the space and the kitchen, plus the location, and we thought the hotel room was quite clean when we were there last year, however we did see a cockcroach this time, so have 2nd thought about that.
somebody screwed up our Oasis reservation, most likely Oasis, so we had to cancel it since we didn't want to walk into the cold to the Park Ave location......
recommend only eat at Barking Dog for Breakfast, lunch and dinner food were not good.
never got the pillows we reversed on line..........
the heater in our room constanly made LOUD noise.......hard to sleep

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,599 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,573 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 150 East 34th Street, New York City, NY 10016-4744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,014 - ₹ 34,652
Hotel Class:4 star — Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familiar. Spacious. Central. Just right for personal space that feels like home. Dumont NYC is the roomiest of the Affinia Hotel Collection-your home away from home with extra space for working or accommodating your family. All-suite, residentially styled and complete with kitchens, each room at the Dumont NYC feels more like an apartment. Skyline Suites offer the most stunning cityscapes of all, overlooking the Chrysler Building, the Freedom Tower or the East River.Business travelers admire our big desks and convenient location. Leisure travelers like our family-friendly suites with extra room for the little ones, and cruising around the neighborhood on our Republic Bikes. Join us nightly in our Midtown East hotel for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Dumont Hotel New York City
Affinia Dumont New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing