We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #218 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I had an excellent stay and experience at Hotel Gansevoort. Aside from the perfect location in the heart of Meatpacking District and an awesome rooftop pool, the Hotel guest services and accommodations were exceptional. The rooms are spacious and clean. The Hotel management team was effective and efficient and went out of their way to make sure my stay was stress free. A runner named Omar even helped me take care of a shoe mishap over the weekend. I am an avid traveler, and I can honestly say that this is one of the best and most fun hotels I have ever stayed at. Most highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Jessica F,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for your in depth post about Hotel Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your experience and that our team have contributed in making it fantastic. As a brand we pride our self on the qualities that you verbalized here. Thank you again and please stop by soon! We look forward to greeting your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,090 of 1,855 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

The staff at Gansevoort in the Meatpacking District was almost overly friendly. The staff made me and my middle class girlfriend from the Midwest feel like VIP's.

I highly recommend this location for young socialites.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Kyle H,

What a lovely review!! We are thrilled that you adored your latest experience and that our team has contributed in making it fantastic. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about our property and the fact that you enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I was visiting my daughter for a couple of days and we had a wonderful time. We stayed together and were very comfortable in our room. I was concerned it might be noisy because of the rooftop bar on the top floor but it was not noisy at all. We had drinks both nights outside in the curbside restaurant tables and that was just perfect for us. Everyone was very efficient and nice and clearly available to help with anything we needed. The only thing to mention to the hotel is that the airconditioning is kind of loud. The location was great for us. It is walking distance to many delicious restaurants. I will absolutely stay there in the future whenever I visit my daughter who lives around the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michele r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Michele r,

We would like to thank you for the wonderful feedback! Your daughter has picked an exceptional neighborhood to reside to! As for your time with us, we are so happy that you enjoyed our property and the neighborhood surrounding! We always enjoying reading a great review and yours certainly was! Thank you so much for taking the time to document your advice to the Trip Advisor community - we hope to have you and your daughter back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I just completed a great week long stay at this property. As someone who frequents NYC on a monthly basis for business, i can honestly say that this location will now be added to my repertoire of fantastic hotels south of midtown.

The staff was very attentive, and always on hand each morning to help me flag down a cab during rush hour. I never had to wait for more than a minute or so...and at 8am, no less.
Also- this hotel can get very busy at night, with the great bar on the roof, and yet at the same time, the staff made me feel welcome as I breezed past the roped off area and into elevators on my way to my room after a long day or work and dinners.

I do enjoy god in room amenities, and both the hard and soft product were great. One feature, I really did appreciate, was that the mini-bar was packed full of goodies, but not overstuffed- allowing me to bring home a half open bottle of wine from dinner one night, without needing a degree in geometry to find space.

Downstairs gym and workout area were well appointed, and the extra space for abs and yoga was great to have during staffed hours. As an early riser- it was nice to see not very many people using the facilities around 6a,

Free Wifi throughout the hotel was nice- and very fast. I was able to run both my iPad and phone without an issue.

I will definitely return to this hotel soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Danny D,

Thank you for the incredible review! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us, especially being from a business perspective. We find that due to our location in the Meatpacking District, we attract a party going crowd. We love to accommodate all different types of travelers however it is extremely exciting for us to read a review from a different perspective! Thank you so much for staying with us and writing about your experience! We can’t wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Our experience at this hotel was amazing. The hotel was beautiful, clean and the perfect location for our trip into NYC. Our room was on the 11th floor, with a view of the Hudson river that was gorgeous. The rooftop bar was something that everyone should experience. The drinks were worth the price since they don't skimp on the liquor. We ordered room service for breakfast and it was hot when it arrived and delicious. We also liked that we were able to specify the time that we wanted the food to arrive, and that was precisely when our food did arrive. We cannot wait to come back for another stay at Hotel Gansevoort.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria-Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Victoria-Beth,

Thank you so much for your in depth post about our property. We specifically love the comments made about the rooftop as we believe everyone should experience this as well! We appreciate you taking the time to share your review as guest feedback is a very valuable to us. Please let us know about the next time you will be staying with us, we would love to make next time even better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#154 of 470 in New York City
2,925 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#86 of 470 in New York City
2,380 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 470 in New York City
3,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#142 of 470 in New York City
676 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 470 in New York City
670 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#176 of 470 in New York City
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 16,342 - ₹ 39,862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing