We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Modern Styling Not Stuffy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Ranked #50 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We have tried all the top hotels on our regular visits but this is the best for our regular mad shopping trips, convenient for everything (even taxi's in the rain) and if there has ever been any problem it has been solved immediately.

bert.demarco@gmail.com

Room Tip: Hudson River View rooms have the more spacious bathrooms and the view is fine. The suites are excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Hello Bert! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 824 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stay here frequently when we visit NYC. We have always experienced good service and I am surprised to read some other less flattering reviews. The rooms are always very clean and comfortable, although not huge, they are a decent size for NYC. Love the shower, with the huge rain shower head option, and appreciate the toilet in a separate "room". The best feature is the location....so nice to have breakfast in the lounge restaurant by a window overlooking Central Park and Columbus Circle. If you want a nice touch, you can order chocolate covered strawberries and champagne which they deliver upon your arrival.

Room Tip: It goes without saying, you want a room with a Central Park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nautitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Hello nautitraveler! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

great service, great view of the Park, sweet sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayfaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Hello jayfaires! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is a nice hotel and situated in a nice location. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bathroom was also really nice. We had a view of the Hudson River which looked okay, nothing too special. The bed we thought was a little small even though it was supposed to be a king size it looked more like a queen sized bed. We had booked a premier room which we also found to be a bit small and cramped, the separate toilet in the bathroom was also very cramped and narrow. Overall we received good service however found the lady working at concierge very rude as she was not very helpful when we requested for her to make a booking at a restaurant for dinner and the bellman outside the hotel pretty much ignored us when we tried hailing taxis, offering no assistance. The food we ordered from room service was pretty standard, nothing special. We did enjoy our stay here and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_10184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Hello Melanie_G10184! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so we can examine the issues you experienced. We hope that you will reach out to us directly at monyc-executiveoffice@mohg.com.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed at the Mandarin for work for 3 days in May. The hotel is very nice but felt quite "average" for a 5-star hotel and certainly not worth the US$895 room rate. If you want real 5-star quality and service, this is not the place. Go to the St. Regis or Pierre. I had high expectations for this hotel because it had been written up so frequently in travel magazines but it was literally the worst Mandarin Oriental I have stayed at, granted the only other Mandarin Oriental Hotels I have stayed at have been in Asia. I would have given this hotel a 4 rating because service and quality is not bad but for what you pay, you would expect, much, much better.

Pros:
- Location. This hotel is at the Time Warner Center at Columbus Circle. One block from Central Park and close to almost all subway lines.
- Very comfortable bed.
- Separate shower and bath tub.

Cons:
- Room is small-ish. Hotel rooms tend to be moderate in NY but for what you pay, it just seemed too small.
- Rooms overall felt a bit worn, I know this hotel has not been around for too long but the rooms felt like there was not alot of maintenance put into them.
- Only one sink in bathroom.
- Small gym. But then again, you are one block from Central Park, where running is amazing.
- Service was average. It seemed like the staff were generally well-intentioned but standards are just low. For example, when I arrived, the guy at the door asked if I wanted help with luggage. At the Mandarin in Hong Kong, Jakarta, KL and Macau - no one ever ASKS if you need help. They just help! However, I think this may just be an American thing.
- So expensive. $895 a night. I ordered room service - eggs and toast and it was $55 excluding tip....

Tips:
- If you are going to spend this kind of money, go somewhere else - St. Regis, Pierre or Ritz-Carlton

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleEinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Hello LittleEinNY! Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mandarin Oriental, New York. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so we can examine the issues you experienced. We hope that you will reach out to us directly at monyc-executiveoffice@mohg.com.

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#103 of 469 in New York City
1,305 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#23 of 469 in New York City
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#54 of 469 in New York City
1,109 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#94 of 469 in New York City
188 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#47 of 469 in New York City
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023-5800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#14 Business Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 52,453 - ₹ 1,92,937 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing