We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about right”
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
Ranked #142 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed for 5 days here; previous experiences in Midtown and Tribeca Grand and this was substantially cheaper, though admittedly the TG was far superior; executive room was decent size for NY though a standard may have been on the small side. Amenities in room were fine. In a good area within easy distance of many subways and walking if you prefer.

The restaurant food was very good; mainly Italian so pasta dishes were very good as you would expect; breakfast was also good and not overly expensive for a hotel though on the 2 occasions I had it there was hardly anyone else there. The staff were generally very efficient and friendly and for what I paid I would not really have any criticism. For those who use the gym, it was in the basement - small but adequate and there was never anyone else there when I went down.

Very lively after about 5 and this can go on until late so it can get a bit noisy but I did not find it intrusive. for the price I would use again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

CJ'S1-We appreciate your detailed comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. WIth the Nautical feel the focus of the rooms are almost like a ship cabin feel. We do have 5 beautiful large suites that differ from the standard room. Glad to hear you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Every member of our staff has to opportunity to read your comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime and If I can ever be of assistance please don't hesitate to ask. All the Best, Matt Moore-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 434 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

First visit to the hotel - liked it. Theme is onbviously Nautical and everything is decked out nicely ( see what did there ) great bar with a fantastic early evening crowd in. Resaurant is excellent and Italian in the main.
Rooms are nice with huge port holes for windows. Room facilities were all fine, TV ok and a great shower in the bathroom. ALl well thought out and a real change from the norm. Room rate while was in town was stupid . Over 350 dollars per night was a complete rip off and apparently when an expo is on at the javits centre they hike it up. Feet voting again for me , so next year will switch again to get the cost down. Shame though as it was fun - hip - funky - quirky and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil499485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Phil499485- Thank you for your review and feedback onTripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Maritime. Yes, the Nautical theme is a big part of the hotel. The porthole windows are actually the original windows from the Old Maritime Building from the 1960's. I'm sorry you felt the value of the rate didn't meet your expectations. Our rates do fluctuate depending on the season and for a New York City boutique hotel in the Chelsea/Meat Packing district we feel we have a lot to offer in our rate. From the ambiance in the rooms, to great guest services, and excellent restaurant and bars for entertaining. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. If I can ever be of assistance on your return to New York City please don't hesitate to reach out. Best, Matt Moore- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

If I could give this hotel, 1,000,000 stars I would. It's the best of the best in Manhattan. Just perfection and that is a very difficult goal to achieve these days. The great standards are always maintained no matter what, and the rooms, food, service are truly outstanding! The cruise ambiance created a different twist which sets aside the Maritime from the rest of the clones. Absolutely beautiful experience in respect to all aspects of hospitality and totally fulfilled my senses. An impressive guest services that are the most courteous professionals I have encountered so far. My highest evaluations, recommendations.... And, we will be back!

Thank you Matt Moore for a truly treasured weekend. Joseph Cuomo & Paula Buchele.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGCuomo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

JGCuomo- Thank you so much for passing on your detailed comments and thank you for choosing The Maritime Hotel to stay at. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the ambiance and unique feel that The Maritime as to offer. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments so thank you again for sharing them with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to New York City and if there is anything we can ever do to better your stay please don't hesitate to ask. Best, Matt Moore- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Friendly and efficient hotel staff. Very clean room with more than expected amenities - in room DVD player (with a large selection of movies available at the front desk for no charge), in room stereo system and extra toiletries (ie toothpaste in addition to shampoo/lotion). Large porthole window with available window plug to block noise if necessary (wasn't for us on 8th floor). Comfortable bedding. I think i've found my new go to NYC hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbergma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Jbergma- We greatly appreciate your review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for choosing The Maritime Hotel as your hotel of choice during your stay in NYC. Glad to hear you got to enjoy a lot of the amenities we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime and hope it becomes a home away from home for you. Best, Matt Moore-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We spent four days in New York for our nephew's graduation from art school. This hotel was in a great location surrounded by plenty of things to do and see. the Maritime Hotel was very clean with friendly service that was very accomodating. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westernPA2Retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

WesternPA- Thank yo so much for passing on your positive comments and,indeed thank you so much for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive your feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime in the near future. Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#127 of 469 in New York City
3,596 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#84 of 469 in New York City
644 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#156 of 469 in New York City
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#213 of 469 in New York City
1,835 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#57 of 469 in New York City
2,144 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#100 of 469 in New York City
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 W 16th St, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 17,626 - ₹ 31,870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing