We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stress-free, comfortable business travel”
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
Ranked #162 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stress-free, comfortable business travel”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

While only in NY for a few days on business, the maritime was an excellent choice. My company reccommended the hotel, and I was very pleased. Very "homey" feeling, if you will. The staff were punctual and efficient. The hotel is in a fabulous neighborhood, very close to the west village, and the chelsea market (right across the street) is fabulous. The rooms are inexpensive considering the location. You will not regret your stay here.

P.S. Best lattes in the city! Hands down.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelbyLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
ShelbyLewis- Thank you so much for passing you your comments and thank you for choosing The Maritime Hotel to stay while on business. Traveling away from home can sometimes be difficult but we definitely try to make all of our guests feel at home while with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime and hope that you will consider it your home here in the city. Best, Matt Moore General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    212
    47
    16
    6
See reviews for
75
209
58
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel has unusual architecture and an interesting history.

it was originally built in the 1960s by the National Maritime Association, mainly as lodging for sailors on leave from the nearby docks on the Hudson River. The architects chose round, porthole type windows throughout on the assumption (probably wrong!) that the sailors would prefer to be reminded of their ships even when ashore. The docks fell into disuse years ago and the building was taken over by Covenant House, a catholic charity that provided housing to runaway children. The priest who founded the charity, Father Bruce Ritter, first won national fame for his outstanding work, then national notoriety for his sexual abuse of the runaway boys there. Ritter resigned in disgrace, Covenant House ran into financial problems, and the premises were sold a couple more times. Finally in was taken over in 2001 by a hotel company that did a beautiful renovation of the old property and an extension that featured more of the signature porthole windows.

It's a great place to stay -- quirky and elegant, with an understated maritime theme throughout. The rooms are on the small side but beautifully organized and decorated. The hotel staff are top-notch and the food is excellent. Prices are quite reasonable for Manhattan. The location is good -- in Chelsea and within easy walking distance of the West Village with all its restaurants and other attractions. It's a few minutes by cab or subway to just about anywhere in midtown or downtown Manhattan. I've stayed here before and will gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jethro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Jethro M- Yes there is definitely a history with The Maritime Building. The making of The Maritime hotel was a wonderful addition for New York City. We appreciate all your positive comments that you said in regards to your experience at The Maritime Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance. Best, Matt Moore General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I spent our 10 day honeymoon in this fantastic hotel in May 2011. From the warm welcome of the doorman, the soft carpets and elegantly scented interior, - the room, the best bed in the world - to the food, the service and the overall edginess of the place; all magic! We can`t wait to go back someday, and we would not even consider staying in another hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Honeymooners ,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all your feedback about The Maritime Hotel. We are so happy to hear you both got to enjoy your special time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime! Maybe some special Anniversary’s!
All the best,
Matt Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We first stayed at the Maritime when it first opened in 2003 because we wanted to be in the Meatpacking District and the hotel was offering discounted rates due to the fact that it had literally just opened. We have come back over the years because it is a quirky but consistently good experience in a neighborhood lacking good hotels. The service is friendly and efficient; the restaurants are solid (especially Matsuri); and it is still relatively inexpensive. A comparable room in midtown would be a $100 more, at least.

As others have noted, the hallways are on the dark side, but that is true of a lot of "hip" hotels. The difference here is that the staff doesn't have the indifference to guests that many other "hip" hotels often exhibit. I think the nautical themed rooms are a great design device. Manhattan hotel rooms are always small. At the Maritime they made the rooms like ship berths so the design complements the small size. Rather than cramped, they feel cozy. The giant porthole windows (which actually open!) accentuate this quality.

We look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hey GGW33

Thanks for the great review! We truly value our repeat guests, especially those who have been with us since the beginning. It's a unique property in the neighborhood and I'm glad you enjoy it.

We hope to see you again soon,

James Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cross River, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was our first time at The Maritime and next time in Chelsea, we will be back. It started off with convenient parking in a lot across the street that gives a 50% discount to hotel guests. Then we were warmly greeted at the desk and up to our room in a matter of minutes. the ship-like theme is very well done throughout and a lot of fun. Many good restaurants, not only in the hotel, but in the neighborhood. Room service was hot and delicious at 2:00 am.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritime_Manager, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Hey Colin

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the design of the rooms and the warmth of the staff. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to NYC.

Cheers,

James Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#115 of 468 in New York City
3,489 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#114 of 468 in New York City
586 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#150 of 468 in New York City
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#304 of 468 in New York City
1,193 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#213 of 468 in New York City
1,765 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#108 of 468 in New York City
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Property: The Maritime Hotel
Address: 363 W 16th St, New York City, NY 10011-5902
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#75 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#122 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,515 - ₹ 32,193
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing