We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to the animals! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Park Zoo

Central Park Zoo
Book In Advance
US$ 99.00*
and up
Pedicab Guided Tour of Central Park
Ranked #104 of 1,053 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oasis of wildlife in downtown Manhattan where visitors can encounter more than 1,400 animals in a variety of habitats, including a tropical rain forest to view rare birds and icy Antarctica to view penguins and other chilly creatures.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“So close to the animals! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

This is a very small zoo but the exhibits were phenomenal. The animals seemed well tended and comfortable (as far as I could tell!). It is a little pricey for the size but honestly, I thought it was one of the more impressive zoos that I have been to. If your child is a fan of the show "Penguins of Madagascar" you will get a lot out of your visit even though I personally never saw any ninja penguins...

Helpful?
Thank hollypezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    817
    508
    189
    72
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not big. But fun experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

My wife and I joked about not seeing the Madagascar animals. They do not have a lion, giraffe, hippo and zebras! The rest of the animals and exhibits were great. We bought a refillable drink bottle and got our money's worth. Our kids loved the 4d Dora theater. The sea lion show was great also.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, MA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Probably the day-time highlight for the kids in NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The zoo is small, but the kids (5 and 7) loved it. The animal enclosures are well-done and the animal selection is good (a huge polar bear, swimming monkeys, penguins, etc.). The penguins were especially good. They were in more of an aquarium and would swim right up to you behind the glass. Definitely buy tickets on-line. Even a short-line takes forever and if school is in session, there will be field trips to deal with.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice little zoo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Where else can you find a polar bear under tharapy Hard to compete with Bronx Zoo

Helpful?
Thank holzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Central Park Zoo is a great place to take children. The zoo is small and that is part of its charm. You can walk around and see the exhibits in a couple of hours. The Delacort Muscial Animal Clock chimes on the hour. The clock has whimsical animal figures and the music it plays depends on the time of year you go. The penguin exhibit is my favorite place - it is great to see the delight on small children's faces.

Within walking distance you can visit the Carousel and take a spin. The zoo is also a great place to take a date.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Park Zoo also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Central Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing