We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chelsea International Hostel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fab location!”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I stayed here for about 6 weeks, it was cheap and cheerful. The workers here are helpful, and friendly.

Above all, the location is brilliant, close to everything you need!

I did find some cockroaches here, but I guess that is what you expect from the low price.
Showers are very small, but hey.. you are in New York baby!

Room Tip: Get a private room, not a dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    231
    174
    77
    68
See reviews for
14
82
255
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kobayashi, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend, and although the location of the hostel is excellent (literally a 2 minute walk from main subway line, and in Chelsea, near the village and meatpacking district, which are all fun neighborhoods), the rest could use improving. For the price/night, I think there are other hostels in nyc that would be a better, more "fun" option. While the double room we shared felt secure, and it was nice that it had its own air conditioner unit (considering it was 90+ outside when we were there) there is no character or friendly atmosphere at all. Staff were less than friendly (not even a greeting from the man that checked us in), the breakfast was dismal (we ate the one fruit offered and coffee, but the bagel was barely edible), and the only wi-fi area is in the common room, which closes at 11pm (what hostel closes its common room at 11pm??!?! This made it impossible to look up activities for the next day, since we always came back late at night). Overall I'm not horrified with the experience, but probably would look for a different option for the next trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klawhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

room with 6 people in July which was really hot , no air con, however we were hardly there. location good and easy to find, felt safe walking to and from subway, pleanty of eating choices around, Breakfast minimal but a start to the day. A variety of people and ages staying there. Basic prabable due for an 'over haul 'soon however it is NY and accomodation is expensive so this was value for money.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Which was actually kind of awesome.
Nice cosy rooms, cool layout of buildings, only downside would be the way they let anyone stay, not just young backpackers - sharing a room with mid-50's women and having the place crawling with 16 year olds from a school group was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philohuntra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Travelling on my own to New York, I stayed here for five nights in a private room. The hostel runs across five houses on 23rd St between 7th and 8th avenues. It is a nice area, with lots of restaurants, pubs etc nearby. I walked home from Times Square in 20 mins, and there is a subway a couple of blocks in either direction. There is a police station across the road and it always felt very safe. My room faced onto the street at street level, and even with the window open I slept easily every night.
Other reviewers have talked about the staff - they won't win any happy smiles competition, but they do their job competently and efficiently. The hostel attracted a wide variety of travellers, from students to people in their 50s and 60s. Had some great conversations at breakfast and lots of sharing information with other travellers. There is a common breakfast room with an outside area to the back which runs across all the houses and was very pleasant to sit and chat in, when it was warm enough. There is a cooker, kettle, microwave, food storage area and tea and coffee always available.
The room was small, but clean, with a hand basin, the toilet was opposite and the shower up a couple of steps. The place was well cleaned, given the amount of people going through, but could do with a complete overhaul, refit, repaint etc. But if that happened, it would no longer be affordable.
So it is cheap, great location, friendly .... so what if it is a little run down!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamastipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#304 of 468 in New York City
1,193 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#21 of 162 in New York City
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Jazz on Columbus Circle
Jazz on Columbus Circle
#16 of 162 in New York City
144 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#13 of 162 in New York City
1,167 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#23 of 162 in New York City
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea International Hostel

Property: Chelsea International Hostel
Address: 251 W 20th St, New York City, NY 10011-3501
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 162 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,267 - ₹ 9,568
Hotel Class:1 star — Chelsea International Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chelsea International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea International Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing