We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't plan on getting any sleep.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't plan on getting any sleep.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Been here twice, so this wasn't a fluke. Rooms have lattice work instead of ceilings, so noise travels throughout the entire floor. Rooms are so small the beds touch 3 walls, and you have about 10 square feet of walking space. None of the doors are flush, so anyone can look in the cracks in to any room. Even if you pay up front in cash, they take your credit card as a deposit against damage - but instead of the usual 'authorization,' the hold stays on your card 10-11 days, rendering access to your cash impossible.
First night there was a urinal leaked upstairs, and at 4 am urinal water came thru the ceiling flooding 2nd floor rooms. Then the ceiling actually collapsed. Second night there, the radiators clanked so loud it sounded like someone was taking a sledgehemmer to them and we had to complain to get the heating system turned off (which was on way too high anyway - no one could sleep.) Travellers alarm clocks woke up everyone, since you can hear from one end of the floor to the other.
But who would want to sleep? The beds are uncomfortable, and there was a blood stain and a brown stain of undetermined origin on my sheet. There were long hairs tangled in the shower curtain rings, and few drainage pipes in the showers so everything was wet and slimy.
Run - do not walk - far away from this money-grubbing hole.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TullyFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    60
    61
    45
    178
See reviews for
6
47
134
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Had the unfortunate pleasure of staying at this 'hotel' recently - would not recommend anybody stay there. Dirty bed (i slept on my towel), rooms with no ceiling and gaps in the doors that every man and his dog can see through...... oh and safety deposit box out in reception that i couldnt fit my cat in. Forgot to mention anybody from the street can come and sit in reception area so everything is safe right? As for the rule of handing in your room key everytime you leave the 'hotel' - we werent even asked who we were when we came back in after being out to ask for our room key back, just gave our room number and hey presto the key was ours, no questions asked (this was from a different receptionist other than the one who had checked us in).

All of the above is a shame as its in a great location, but for a few dollars more its worth staying somewhere where you feel safe. Granted you will be out enjoying the city and only want somewhere to sleep but surely you also want somewhere safe and clean?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beano857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I've been traveling worldwide for years, as a backpacker with very little cash staying in places where it wasn't very safe or clean but was all i could afford and also in nicer places now that i older and have a decent job. Im talking about hovels, hostels, campsites, guest houses and home stays, the lot.

This place is ridiculous.

Its not clean, our "room" had dirt on the beds and black spots on the towels.

Its not safe, there are gaps in the doors so you can see into every room and you could easily unlock the room doors due to the low uncovered ceilings. There are no security cameras to prevent this either. They have a security box which is in the main lobby and is just big enough for your passport, therefore anything bigger is at risk.

There are NO power outlets in the rooms, none. You cant charge anything. There's one light. No mirror. A strange box which is a cupboard with no hanging rail or hangers??

The showers have hardly any pressure and have mold. The toilets have western style saloon half size doors, so no privacy.

We had to deal with three members of staff, one was really nice the other two did not have any interest in being there.

If this was a third world country in a rural village i would say "Yeah, its disgusting but look at where we are.." and I'd laugh it off. But im not am i? This is my trip to NY one of the best cities in the world.


I will never stay here again, nor would i recommend it. $10 extra a night gets you a much better place that you are safe in and look forward to getting back to.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WJB1979London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed here a couple of years ago, once on my own and once with my sister. It was completely disgusting both times. I only returned for the second time because I didn't know where to begin with searching for hostels in New York in my price range. At the time we stayed, we found out that the building used to be a brothel, hence the small rooms with room enough for a bed only. I would not be surprised if the beds are the same ones used back in the day! We never had a bedbug problem while we were there, but I can totally see why they have it now. Faulty electricals, disgusting showers, dim lit hallways and creepy staff. The thing that saved this place and gave it a hint of character was its location in NoHo. Loved that about it. Would I go back? Unlikely, seeing as they painted their walls and jacked up the price because of the new 'remodel'.

Room Tip: ask for a lower level, seeing as they dont have an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoombsWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Well, i've travelled far and wide in my time on this earth so I know what works for me in terms of accomodation. Generally - it's fine to stay somewhere run down and awful - as long as it's very cheap, easy going and relaxed, the staff are friendly and there's lots of opportunities to meet other travelers. If you stay somewhere expensive, called the "whitehouse" you'd expect it to be good quality.

See where I'm going with this? This place was terrible. First of all it was REALLY expensive, but it felt like a run down warehouse, the "private rooms" were literally cupboards with thin panels so you could hear everything going on in other people's rooms - the bathroom and corridors. This included couples having sex, drunk people being violently ill down the toilet, people farting, singing in the shower, people stumbling in drunk in the middle of the night. As all the rooms were these cupboards there was little opportunity to socialise with other guests. The hotel had some very strict rules - for example you have to pay a large deposit when you arrive to make sure you trash the room - fine but there's nothing to trash in the rooms and they are horrible anyway. Also you MUST leave your key at reception when you go out - or you can be fined. Not much of a problem - if the person working on reception isn't there when you want to get back into your room. We had to wait for half an hour, despite constantly ringing the bell for his attention. His drunk friend was busy telling people that the reception guy wasn't coming back. When he did come back, his eyes were bloodshot, he seemed VERY slow, and he had a strange smell of sweet smoke around him. He said he'd been in the bathroom!

Again, i wouldn't have a problem with somebody working in a hostel disappearing for a smoke, but only in the kind of place where they don't threaten you with fines for not handing in your key when you opo out.

Also there's no electric sockets in the to take he bedrooms. You have to take things you want charging to reception. We did this, but when we went back to collect our camera the reception guy hadn't been able to figure out how to plug it in and by this time he was giggling like a little girl about everything, and his eyes were even more bloodshot.

Good location though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#21 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#24 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel

Property: Bowery's Whitehouse Hotel
Address: 340 Bowery, New York City, NY 10012-2458
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 166 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,338 - ₹ 4,124
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whitehouse Hotel of NY is one of the most affordable hostels in New York, offering single and double air-conditioned units with the privacy and security you're looking for. Located in New York City's No-Ho district, our New York hostel is the perfect choice for backpackers, students and travelers on a budget. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing