We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was alright, staff were horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #418 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I read alot of bad reviews with this hotel in terms of not being clean. So i went to the hotel expecting nothing.
The rooms however were better than what I expected it to be. The bed mattress was pretty good. Only problems I had with the room was of course space, it's pretty tight. There is not alot of area to walk around in the room. Another problem I found is the carpet is not vacumed and also they don't put a plastic bag for the bin in the bathroom. A bag is like 10 cents, come on seriously.

Now talking about breakfast. it's a rip off. a friend of mine(who was not staying at the hotel) had breakfast with us and they charged her $20. the breakfast is not worth $20- it's like cold food(bagels, juice, muffin) sometimes they have scrambled eggs and it tastes soo fake like powdered egg. another issue is the cleaners are the so called "chefs" at best western is kind of gross.

Safety- there are no nearby hotels in that area so i was initially abit scared because I was travelling with friends. It's not that bad- there were these weird drunk ppl who were always at the 38th and 11th av(the intersection closest to the hotel) at 10pm, just have to look away and walk past them. that's the only tackle.

Last but not least. Management is TERRIBLE. Annie seriously has problems and there is another male manager there. there were soo rude to us. Not all the staff are rude, it's just the managers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (807)
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 368 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed in the hotel in august 2011 for 5 nights and really it was amazing.
How come? The staff who are very very friendly, the small (= you don't need a big room in NY, you're never in) but clean rooms, breakfast included, very close to Times Square, do I have to say more.....:-) and our dear friend Julio. We miss you. Family from Belgium.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was my second stay (Feb. 2012), again found the hotel clean and adequate for my needs, a good base to explore without breaking the bank. Rooms pretty tight, a larger person might have trouble getting to the far side of the bed but didn't plan to spend time there anyway. Beds seemed to have memory foam, very comfortable. Front desk very helpful when I requested a room further from the elevator (10th floor). Breakfast good (free!) with bagels, apples and bananas, endless coffee! Close to garment district, not a long walk to Times Square and the west side ped/bike path on the Hudson River, my favorite part of visiting NY.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alisono190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Was in New York in Apr 1st 2010 (please ignore the April 2011 choice that TripAdvisor gave to me, i cant select Apr 2010). Was there for 2 weeks and stayed in the same hotel for the entire duration.

Previously on my earlier trip to New York, i stayed at Comfort Inn Convention Centre but the hotel price had gone. Best Western was the next cheapest available.

This hotel is nearer to the Port Authority station.

As a muslim couple, we had no issues getting halal pizza's nearby and there is this nearby Pakistani place that sells delicious (but oily) dishes that will sure to clog up the artery soon enough.

We went there to go on a shopping trip (FACTORY OUTLETS) bender.

Anyway back to the hotel, area is safe (cause i frequently went out alone and came back wayyyy after midnight), there is a taxi workshop facing the hotel, a train track passing nearby (barely notice them) and a near by building where they keep the horses (as long as you don't walk past it, you wouldn't notice they were there)

Had no problems with the staff, the breakfast dining room is small but adequate. Breakfast no complains for non fussy persons.

Going to New York again but prices have gone up *sigh* .... so staying in a place we got through http://www.airbnb.com/ now.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbjohari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Had a great stay at the best western for four nights! Complimentary breakfast was gorgeous loads to go around and eat as much as you want! Staffing was brilliant and a great help especially manager Annie and Mike. Rooms are very simple but very clean with a television and heating. Maids come in everyday. Overall great stay would recommend to anybody even the area of hotel not far from times square on the hop on hop off tour bus.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AALNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#379 of 468 in New York City
684 reviews
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#359 of 468 in New York City
588 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#307 of 468 in New York City
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#317 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#319 of 468 in New York City
79 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#316 of 468 in New York City
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Convention Center Hotel

Address: 522 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018-1104 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 8,223 - ₹ 19,273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Convention Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just half a block from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, the Magnuson Convention Center Hotel is a short 10-15min walk from Times Square,the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, and other major attractions and transportation hubs. Amenities and Services Provided: -Complementary American Style Hot Breakfast Buffet -Complementary Wi-Fi -Business Center -Tempur-pedic Beds in every room -Shared Shuttle and Taxi service TO the Airport (Fees Apply) -NYC Attractions and Tours (Fees Apply) -Safety Boxes in all rooms -Iron and Ironing Board -Hair Dryer -Shampoo, Conditioners, Soap, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnuson Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel New York City
Best Western Convention Center Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing