We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!!!”
Review of Park South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park South Hotel
Ranked #55 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I was spending 5 days in NYC which included 2 days of work and 3 days of vacation so I was looking for an affordable, clean, safe hotel which was convenient to get to both uptown and downtown. This hotel fit the bill perfectly! As a woman traveling alone, safety is always a concern and I felt very safe at this hotel and within the surrounding neighborhoods even at night. The hotel itself was tastefully decorated, comfortable, clean and very quiet (even by Minneapolis standards!). The front desk staff and the doormen were helpful, friendly and welcoming. The complimentary continental breakfast each morning was fantastic, delicious and filling. The morning paper (NY Times & USA Today) were also a nice extra. The price for my stay was right on the mark, too!
When I make my nect trip back to NYC, I will definitely include the South Park Hotel in my plans!

Room Tip: All rooms have a window which is wonderful! Not all NYC hotels have this feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
That’s wonderful to hear, we’re always happy about return visits. You picked a great weekend for a little relaxation with the weather so beautiful. We truly strive to offer all our guests a warm and welcoming experience with special complimentary services such as continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and newspapers. Sometimes it’s just the little things that matter most. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Very Warm Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
General Manager
Park South Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    827
    171
    67
    31
See reviews for
590
684
100
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

my initial reaction to this hotel is why? it's a little out of the way, a little mediocre, surrounded by a little too many indian restaurants and a little meh. it's not that i don't get it. ok rooms and great prices with breakfast pull in the europeans. so it's not surrounded by times square, soho or the village...big deal. the rooms were honestly just ok. the bar was fantastic - great service and really friendly staff both days. the breakfast was euro style good. everything this traveller needed in pretty vast quantities. and the desk staff were very nice. i base a stay on the hotel for 60% and the rest (staff, etc) for 40%. so average is about right.

Room Tip: inside rooms are quiet, but seem smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to give us your great feedback. It’s really helpful for us in assuring that we maintain the highest service levels. It’s true the Park South Hotel is in a very unique neighborhood that not only offers a diverse dining experience but also the convenience of access to the subway line at the corner of Park Avenue. I’m glad to hear you really enjoyed our Black Duck Restaurant with live Jazz on Thursday’s thru Saturday. It’s such a warm and soothing vibe. We hope to welcome you back.

Cheers,
Christiaan Aldoy
General Manager
Park South Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Park South Hotel in many ways represents the average Manhattan hotel. You pay for location and location is okay for this Hotel. Subway station just round the corner, Neighbourhood is not great but ok as well. Rooms are a biot on the smaall side, so are beds, Interiour is worn, cleanliness is not above average. Staff is polite but somewhat limited in terms of helpfullness.

Only thing that is really above average is the breakfast buffet. Plenty of choice, nice seating and good quality.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwesth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. I’m glad you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast offering as well as our location in regards to the subways vicinity. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
General Manager
Park South Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkin, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Recently stayed at the Park South Hotel in mid March with my husband and his high school choral group. We had a fantastic stay. The staff was very friendly and met us at the door to help with our luggage. When we returned to the hotel, the luggage was neatly organized in the lobby for us to pick up. The room and bathroom was extremely clean and fresh. The bed, along with the pillows, were very comfortable. We had a great view of the Chrysler Building too. The other students and parents on the trip agreed that it was a very nice place to stay. A continental breakfast was served in the morning. A variety of breakfast foods was offered. My favorite part was eating outside at the cafe tables. We had fantastic weather. My husband was so impressed with this hotel that he is considering a return visit on his next choral trip. It really is a great place to stay in the "Big Apple".

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spirit62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
I’m very happy to hear you and your chorus group enjoyed your stay. Our staff will be very happy to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay as well as our complimentary continental breakfast. We make every effort possible to ensure that our guest not only receive prompt and efficient service but also personable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Very Warm Regards,
Christiaan Aldoy
General Manager
Park South Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed late Feb 2012 with my wife. Chose the larger room option which turned out to be a good choice as the inside rooms looked small. Our room was spacious but i could only describe the closet/wardrobe area as non existent,Small safe ,large bathroom, great bed and
plenty of drawer space. The free wi-fi was spot on but the TV was not worth watching which was not an issue when you're in NYC.Location was spot on as the subway was on the street corner and eating places are aplenty,If you can reserve the larger room option at the the right price then i would jump at the chance - don't forget about the inclusive breakfast which was a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Try to reserve an outside facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiaan A, General Manager at Park South Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your great feedback. This information is crucial to us in evaluating our efforts to achieve guest expectations as well as improving our service levels. I’m very happy you found our executive room offering a better fit for you during your visit. I concur that our location is very convenient for travelers who are adventurous and use the subway. It really is the best way to get around the Big Apple. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon

Cheers,
Christiaan Aldoy
General Manager
Park South Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 466 in New York City
659 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#40 of 466 in New York City
430 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#86 of 466 in New York City
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#54 of 466 in New York City
807 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#34 of 466 in New York City
240 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 466 in New York City
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Hotel

Property: Park South Hotel
Address: 124 East 28th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#81 Family Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#100 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,794 - ₹ 30,682
Hotel Class:4 star — Park South Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in midtown Manhattan's trendy NoMad neighborhood at Park Avenue South and 28th Street, the brilliantly renovated in 2016 Park South Hotel delights guests with enticing new social areas and serene accommodations. Exciting new dining options at this elegant 1906 landmark include Roof, a stylish seasonal rooftop cocktail bar, Covina Restaurant and Bar serving a decadently delightful menu in a warm casual environment, and o ya, a celebrated Japanese restaurant. All three venues are overseen by the James Beard Award-winning Chef Tim Cushman. From the glamorous library's onyx fireplace to the guestrooms' sparkling chandeliers and spa-style baths, the Park South Hotel's friendly, unpretentious ambiance and impeccable service set the standard for unforgettable hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park South
Park South Hotel New York
Park South New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing