We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green eggs and ham”
Review of East End Kitchen - CLOSED

East End Kitchen
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Yorkville
Cross street: York Avenue
Description: Seasonal New American plates featuring local ingredients; rustic 85-seat bistro, outfitted with antique mirrors, Edison bulbs and leather banquettes.
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

High hopes going for brunch today but it didn't really hit the spot.
The scrambled eggs were pretty average and the potatoes that came with them were really just slopped on the plate.

The French toast was extremely sweet and may as well have been cake.

Coffee was good but nothing special.
Staff were very good.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank ZenMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2016

Had a fantastic meal here in a place with a real local feel that we were looking for as visitors in New York.
The food quality was top notch with a menu filled with so much choice the hardest part is choosing what to have.
My steak was cooked perfectly to my liking and the accompanying veg and truffle mash was fantastic.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Food was good, price was good, service was ok. Never refilled tea.Price was good for NY. The place needs a re-due. The wood floor is in very bad shape. We hear they will be tearing this building down and that may be why it is not kept up.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Great neighborhood joint. We ate there twice due to the convenient location to our apartment. Friendly staff. Great basics.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Emilio_VI_STT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

Still a very gracious welcome and prompt, attentive service throughout.

A perfect wild mushroom soup on a mushroom stock base, delicate, woodsy and lightly salted.

Perfect fried baby artichoke, crisp and dry with delicious and delicate aioli -- the same as two years ago.

The salmon was perfectly prepared and served with very fresh julienned vegetables and a large serving of well seasoned rice -- a bit dry and not really necessary given the quality of the vegetables.

A medley of three vegetables: black lentils, roasted carrots and roasted Brussels sprouts -- perfectly prepared.

Very good cleanliness including the men's room.

It's been two years and we will return again.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank robcurtross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East End Kitchen also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing