We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Nearby Hotels
US$ 366
US$ 339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 202
US$ 185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 257
US$ 220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 267
US$ 231
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$ 155
Triumph Hotels
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York at Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 335
US$ 274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Kimberly Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 287
US$ 254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Lotte New York Palace(New York City)
US$ 491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 232
US$ 171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 136
US$ 129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,624)
Filter reviews
1,624 results
Traveller rating
1,215
244
104
37
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,215
244
104
37
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungecentral parkstar loungepark viewnew yorkguest relationsfour seasonsroom servicebeautiful hotelconcierge staffbeautiful rooma wonderful stayluxury hotelcolumbus circlebattery parkthe entire staffturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,151 - 1,156 of 1,624 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Loved this hotel, classy yet not brash. The service was spot on, as was the food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenStribling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had such a nice room facing the park, so the sunrises were so beatiful. I also recommend their club lounge level rooms as presentations were absolutely great! It was nice to go out and return to the hotel for one of their signature treats. Hotel's locations is great. Only minus was that some of the people working at front desk were not up for the job compared to other Ritz-Carlton location, but maybe it was just NY style service(?). Concierge however exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomSjoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at the Ritz on Central Park with our 2 children and my in-laws for a week April 7- 14. It was a wonderful experience and I would definitely stay here again.
Our experience began a week before we arrived when the concierge desk helped me make arrangements for airport transportation, and some restaurant reservations. Everyone at the concierge desk was helpful and friendly, but Brian and Tim were especially wonderful! Their suggestions for restaurants and hints for sightseeing were perfect! In fact, our best meal of the trip was at Quality Meats (Tim's suggestion).

Shortly after we checked in, treats were delivered to all of our rooms...lovely fruit bowls for the adults rooms and a bowl full of cookies and chocolate candies to my children's room. This was an unexpected treat and was a big hit, especially with my girls.
We were in 2 connecting rooms on the 19th floor and a suite on the 18th floor. All the rooms were spacious and clean, with very large bathrooms. The suite was a city view suite, but even had incredible park views from the living room. Beds were very comfortable and linens were soft and luxurious.

We ate breakfast one morning in the hotel restaurant. The food was delicious and plentiful, and the service was outstanding. The French toast and the hot chocolate were especially delicious!

The only negative experience we had at the hotel involved the lounge area. The lounge area itself is lovely and the seating is comfortable. Unfortunately, one of the lounge employees named Lisa is truly unpleasant. On 2 different occasions, she got our order wrong. Neither time did she offer to correct it, and seemed irritated when we pointed out the errors. Thankfully, she was the only negative in our week at the Ritz.

The location of the hotel (on the south end of Central Park) made it perfect for walking to most destinations (museums, shopping and Times Square are all within easy walking distance). When we didn't feel like walking, the doormen were quick to arrange the house car or a taxi. The doormen are all wonderful! They always greet you with a smile and kind word, and most greeted us by name.

This property is outstanding in so many ways, but the incredible customer service is what truly sets it apart from others. I can't wait to return!


Stayed: April 2012
Thank jenw89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

When The Ritz-Carlton opened in what was previously the St. Mortiz Hotel they had a celebrity chef in the restaurant at the corner of Central Park South and 6th Avenue. They have since dumbed-down this restaurant. Gone are the carpeting and tablecloths, replaced with an unpolished hardwood floor and plastic placemats. The decor includes antique farm implements (in the middle of Manhattan???). Two of the light fixtures had burned out bulbs, very unusual for a Ritz-Carlton. The breakfast menu is uninteresting, uninspired and un-New York. Your local Denny's has a better, more creative selection. Service OK; food very average but also very expensive. There are too many other choices in New York. Don't waste your money here.
Postscript: The above was written on a Sunday. On Monday, this restaurant was closed permanently, apparently to be replaced by a retail shop and a smaller dining room with a "new" concept.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
Thank fberkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My husband surprised me for my birthday and we stayed here for one night. I wished we could have stayed longer but had to meet the moving van in CT the next day. Service was excellent and really made us feel welcomed. We had a larger room and loved the bath tub space! It was in a great location close to activities. We really didn't have too much time to explore the lobby and bar but they did seem nice. Parking is a bit expensive but it is NYC. Would love to return and stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliefriesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews