We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Nearby Hotels
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 206
US$ 178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 204
US$ 172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 191
US$ 159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Avalon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 223
US$ 186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$ 158
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 230
US$ 201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 327
US$ 283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 375
US$ 340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 115
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,635)
Filter reviews
1,635 results
Traveller rating
1,222
246
104
39
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,222
246
104
39
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungecentral parkstar loungepark viewnew yorkguest relationsfour seasonsroom servicebeautiful hotelconcierge staffbeautiful rooma wonderful stayluxury hotelcolumbus circlebattery parkthe entire staffturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
1,161 - 1,166 of 1,635 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had such a nice room facing the park, so the sunrises were so beatiful. I also recommend their club lounge level rooms as presentations were absolutely great! It was nice to go out and return to the hotel for one of their signature treats. Hotel's locations is great. Only minus was that some of the people working at front desk were not up for the job compared to other Ritz-Carlton location, but maybe it was just NY style service(?). Concierge however exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomSjoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at the Ritz on Central Park with our 2 children and my in-laws for a week April 7- 14. It was a wonderful experience and I would definitely stay here again.
Our experience began a week before we arrived when the concierge desk helped me make arrangements for airport transportation, and some restaurant reservations. Everyone at the concierge desk was helpful and friendly, but Brian and Tim were especially wonderful! Their suggestions for restaurants and hints for sightseeing were perfect! In fact, our best meal of the trip was at Quality Meats (Tim's suggestion).

Shortly after we checked in, treats were delivered to all of our rooms...lovely fruit bowls for the adults rooms and a bowl full of cookies and chocolate candies to my children's room. This was an unexpected treat and was a big hit, especially with my girls.
We were in 2 connecting rooms on the 19th floor and a suite on the 18th floor. All the rooms were spacious and clean, with very large bathrooms. The suite was a city view suite, but even had incredible park views from the living room. Beds were very comfortable and linens were soft and luxurious.

We ate breakfast one morning in the hotel restaurant. The food was delicious and plentiful, and the service was outstanding. The French toast and the hot chocolate were especially delicious!

The only negative experience we had at the hotel involved the lounge area. The lounge area itself is lovely and the seating is comfortable. Unfortunately, one of the lounge employees named Lisa is truly unpleasant. On 2 different occasions, she got our order wrong. Neither time did she offer to correct it, and seemed irritated when we pointed out the errors. Thankfully, she was the only negative in our week at the Ritz.

The location of the hotel (on the south end of Central Park) made it perfect for walking to most destinations (museums, shopping and Times Square are all within easy walking distance). When we didn't feel like walking, the doormen were quick to arrange the house car or a taxi. The doormen are all wonderful! They always greet you with a smile and kind word, and most greeted us by name.

This property is outstanding in so many ways, but the incredible customer service is what truly sets it apart from others. I can't wait to return!


Stayed: April 2012
Thank jenw89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

When The Ritz-Carlton opened in what was previously the St. Mortiz Hotel they had a celebrity chef in the restaurant at the corner of Central Park South and 6th Avenue. They have since dumbed-down this restaurant. Gone are the carpeting and tablecloths, replaced with an unpolished hardwood floor and plastic placemats. The decor includes antique farm implements (in the middle of Manhattan???). Two of the light fixtures had burned out bulbs, very unusual for a Ritz-Carlton. The breakfast menu is uninteresting, uninspired and un-New York. Your local Denny's has a better, more creative selection. Service OK; food very average but also very expensive. There are too many other choices in New York. Don't waste your money here.
Postscript: The above was written on a Sunday. On Monday, this restaurant was closed permanently, apparently to be replaced by a retail shop and a smaller dining room with a "new" concept.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
Thank fberkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My husband surprised me for my birthday and we stayed here for one night. I wished we could have stayed longer but had to meet the moving van in CT the next day. Service was excellent and really made us feel welcomed. We had a larger room and loved the bath tub space! It was in a great location close to activities. We really didn't have too much time to explore the lobby and bar but they did seem nice. Parking is a bit expensive but it is NYC. Would love to return and stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliefriesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I visited the Park Central Hotel, which is conveniently located across the street from Carnegie Hall and near Central Park. It is within walking distance to the theatre distance and many wonderful shops and restaurants. Hotel staff, especially Ellen, are very professional. The rooms are nicely sized. The bedding was luxurious and comfortable. I happened to watch a basketball game in the NCAA tournament. The flat screen tv was terrific. I have stayed here before and the experience was similar. I enjoyed the consistency, professionalism, and location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews