We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Ranked #39 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Loved this hotel, classy yet not brash. The service was spot on, as was the food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenStribling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    201
    79
    33
    15
See reviews for
318
478
55
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had such a nice room facing the park, so the sunrises were so beatiful. I also recommend their club lounge level rooms as presentations were absolutely great! It was nice to go out and return to the hotel for one of their signature treats. Hotel's locations is great. Only minus was that some of the people working at front desk were not up for the job compared to other Ritz-Carlton location, but maybe it was just NY style service(?). Concierge however exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomSjoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Ritz on Central Park with our 2 children and my in-laws for a week April 7- 14. It was a wonderful experience and I would definitely stay here again.
Our experience began a week before we arrived when the concierge desk helped me make arrangements for airport transportation, and some restaurant reservations. Everyone at the concierge desk was helpful and friendly, but Brian and Tim were especially wonderful! Their suggestions for restaurants and hints for sightseeing were perfect! In fact, our best meal of the trip was at Quality Meats (Tim's suggestion).

Shortly after we checked in, treats were delivered to all of our rooms...lovely fruit bowls for the adults rooms and a bowl full of cookies and chocolate candies to my children's room. This was an unexpected treat and was a big hit, especially with my girls.
We were in 2 connecting rooms on the 19th floor and a suite on the 18th floor. All the rooms were spacious and clean, with very large bathrooms. The suite was a city view suite, but even had incredible park views from the living room. Beds were very comfortable and linens were soft and luxurious.

We ate breakfast one morning in the hotel restaurant. The food was delicious and plentiful, and the service was outstanding. The French toast and the hot chocolate were especially delicious!

The only negative experience we had at the hotel involved the lounge area. The lounge area itself is lovely and the seating is comfortable. Unfortunately, one of the lounge employees named Lisa is truly unpleasant. On 2 different occasions, she got our order wrong. Neither time did she offer to correct it, and seemed irritated when we pointed out the errors. Thankfully, she was the only negative in our week at the Ritz.

The location of the hotel (on the south end of Central Park) made it perfect for walking to most destinations (museums, shopping and Times Square are all within easy walking distance). When we didn't feel like walking, the doormen were quick to arrange the house car or a taxi. The doormen are all wonderful! They always greet you with a smile and kind word, and most greeted us by name.

This property is outstanding in so many ways, but the incredible customer service is what truly sets it apart from others. I can't wait to return!


Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenw89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

When The Ritz-Carlton opened in what was previously the St. Mortiz Hotel they had a celebrity chef in the restaurant at the corner of Central Park South and 6th Avenue. They have since dumbed-down this restaurant. Gone are the carpeting and tablecloths, replaced with an unpolished hardwood floor and plastic placemats. The decor includes antique farm implements (in the middle of Manhattan???). Two of the light fixtures had burned out bulbs, very unusual for a Ritz-Carlton. The breakfast menu is uninteresting, uninspired and un-New York. Your local Denny's has a better, more creative selection. Service OK; food very average but also very expensive. There are too many other choices in New York. Don't waste your money here.
Postscript: The above was written on a Sunday. On Monday, this restaurant was closed permanently, apparently to be replaced by a retail shop and a smaller dining room with a "new" concept.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fberkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My husband surprised me for my birthday and we stayed here for one night. I wished we could have stayed longer but had to meet the moving van in CT the next day. Service was excellent and really made us feel welcomed. We had a larger room and loved the bath tub space! It was in a great location close to activities. We really didn't have too much time to explore the lobby and bar but they did seem nice. Parking is a bit expensive but it is NYC. Would love to return and stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliefriesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#45 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 52,246 - ₹ 88,582
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While constantly on the cutting edge, it is timeless tradition that makes New York City a favorite destination for so many. And whether it is taking afternoon tea in Star Lounge, or joining the noontime ritual of feeding the Central Park carriage horses across the street, guests of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park will find tradition stands elegantly proud on Central Park South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing