We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location & Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #313 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Location & Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. The Good: great location - (2 mins from The Empire State Building, 10 min walk from Penn Station and Macys, 20 min walk to Times Square, 30 min walk to Central Park), clean and considering the location, very quiet room, fairly small, but you don't spend a lot of time in your room anyway! Free wifi excellent. Free breakfast - slightly chaotic and busy, but good selection. Free computers to use in reception with free printing which was handy.

The Bad: lifts were incredibly busy and slow. As I was on the 9th floor, I used the stairs at busy periods (mainly during breakfast). Overall, would definitely recommend, you can't beat the location, and price was very reasonable for mid August in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaBorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear EmmaBorer,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had fun in New York City. We are sorry that the elevators were slow and that you had to use the stairs sometimes. We hope this did not inconvenience you. The elevators do tend to get very busy during breakfast hours as a significant number of our guests utilize it at the same time.
We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to New York City.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    1,314
    453
    103
    94
See reviews for
610
954
127
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Clean, very
quiet, comfy bed, basic breakfast, nice staff. Would stay here again. Very good price for New York. View from window was the Empire State Building which was great. Location of hotel was in the Korean area which was near Times Square but a bit of a walk. Only negative was the elevators were extremely slow but this wasn't really a big deal. I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay in this location of New York.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsculp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were quite satisfied with our choice. The price is very decent for Manhattan. Location is central, the Empire State Building is just on the next street. The hotel is close to the subway and Macy's. Also it's located in Korea town, so there are many Korean and Chinese restaurants on the street. And the 5th avenue with all the shops and boutiques is right few feet away!

The rooms are very tiny. We had the smallest one, I believe, so the double bed occupied almost all the whole space. But it was okay, when you are in NYC you don't want to hang out in the room. So basically we only slept in the hotel. Also we had really early flight from San Francisco and we arrived at the hotel at 6 am. So the receptionist offered us a room before the check-in time just for 50 bucks. It was really great cos we wanted to sleep so badly.

The hotel offers breakfast (coffee, bagels, fruits, cereals, yoghurt, toasts). It was nice, even though we ate it just once, we were glad to have this option.

So if you want a budget variant for staying in Manhattan, it will be your choice. The staff is okay, rooms are comfortable and clean. But don't expect too much for this price :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happiest_girl_carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed at the nyma for five nights on my first trip to New York City. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious with a king bed, LCD TV, phone, iPod dock, clock radio and coffee making facilities. My room was on the 13th floor with a view of the Empire State Building. The bathroom had a bathtub and shower and came with ample supply of towels. Every day the room was cleaned and bed made, with toiletries and coffee supplies replaced. Free breakfast was provided, which consisted of continental style breakfast and fresh fruit, coffee and tea. On the mezzanine floor there is a coffee machine and water fountain for guests use, which was a great place to sit after a long day of shopping and sightseeing. In the lobby there are two computers for guests use as well as a concierge and tour desk service. Location of the hotel is perfect as it is very close to Times Square, Broadway, Maceys and other shops and heaps of restaurants and the subway. As a solo traveller in New York City, the nyma was perfect and an enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank go_broome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
207 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel to be very clean and nice with a great location and easy access to parking, restaurants and shopping . Would highly recommend for future visits. The price is reasonable and includes a free breakfast and discounted parking nearby .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WBDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#257 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#296 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#307 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#286 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#253 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Property: nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Address: 6 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,360 - ₹ 21,594
Hotel Class:3 star — nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated nyma offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Manhattan
Red Roof Inn New York City
New York City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing