We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #323 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in Excellent Location”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last November. It was very clean and breakfast was good (just a little crowded at times, but that's to be expected). The hotel is in an excellent location and is reasonably priced. No tea making facilities in the room but the delightful little mezanine area more than makes up for this. It's a charming oasis where you can drink copious amounts of tea and coffee at no cost. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScarletDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    1,365
    486
    112
    99
See reviews for
645
998
132
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel advertises specifically and a lot to seniors and to others coming as groups, and put forth a 'special rate' which, when you stack it up against other 'special rates' you can get through the travel sites these days, isn't really special or low at all-- but the people who come here seem to think they got an incredibly low deal. They really didn't. The place is okay. And I mean just okay. As average as average can be. Nothing beyond terrible. But nothing that gives it anything special or luxurious or nice. Seems more like a hotel along the highway in ambiance and amenities. It's in Koreatown, so there's lots of Korean restaurants, and it is actually in a sort of strange and isolated block of NY... but if you've got plans to be other places and to walk or taxi or subway to those places... fine. I just don't think it's that great, and probably wouldn't stay here given many other choices. I guess I thought it was a little depressing.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank NoneNamedYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear NoneNamedYet,
We are sorry that you were not thrilled with our hotel. Our hotel is competitively priced, and we offer the best value by including free amenities like breakfast, domestic phone calls, and wi-fi. The lobby was recently redone as of last year, with a new mezzanine level that offers free 24 hour coffee/tea to our guests.
The block the hotel is on is very busy during all hours of the day and is located near subway stops and within walking distance to the Empire State Building and Macy’s, to name a couple.
We hope that you will give us another chance now that the lobby has been renovated.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

On my recent trip to NYC, I stayed at Nyma the new York manhattan hotel.
The hotel was in a really good location near Macy's, Forever 21, Victora Secret and Manhattan mall. It is close by to many resutrants so getting a bite to eat is easy. Two subway station near by.

The only issue I had with the hotel was with some of the male staff as they were not very pleasant as they barely spoke to you and did not say morning, unlike the female staff and one older doorman gentelman

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I wasn't sure I could find a good, not-so pricey hotel in midtown, during spring break, but I did... Rooms are small but neat, breakfast is plentiful, and the location is fantastic. Two blocks from Penn station, easy walking to Times Square, theaters, Central Park...Now I have a hotel to go to when I visit New York again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just returned after four days in the NYMA.

Pros:

Excellent value
Staff very helpful
Free breakfast (although we didn't take it)
Coffee available from vending machines in lounge 24 hours a day
Rooms very clean

Cons:

Rooms on small side (we had room 704 for 2 people) - but not a problem for us as we weren't there for most of the time
Rooms at front of hotel suffer from noisy garbage trucks from 6am - 32nd St is in Koreatown with loads of restaurants. The noise gets funnelled upwards.
Lots of trash in street too in black bags - so not the most salubrious of surroundings
Where hotel is narrow but tall (17 floors), the rooms are quite close together. This, coupled with the garbage trucks and unbelievable lack of thought for any other guests by ignorant Americans shouting at the top of their voices at ungodly hours of the day (yes I include you, the 13 year old or so girl who just had to scream in her phone that she'd meet so and so downstairs in 5 minutes - at 7am) meant that it was difficult to get a good night's rest.

So in summary, excellent value for central Manhattan, but be prepared to be extremely tired!!

Room Tip: Ask for room at rear of hotel. also, one of the highest floors MAY be a bit quieter. Ask for a floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flooj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#291 of 467 in New York City
2,528 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#306 of 467 in New York City
1,612 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#307 of 467 in New York City
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#285 of 467 in New York City
3,497 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#244 of 467 in New York City
2,297 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Property: nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Address: 6 W 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3802
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#227 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,187 - ₹ 46,809
Hotel Class:3 star — nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated nyma offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Manhattan
Red Roof Inn New York City
New York City Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing