We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I can't say enough good things about this boutique Manhattan hotel. Terrific location, great rooms, good breakfast and reading lounge and attentive staff. I did a ton of research trying to find the best hotel for a long weekend trip for a birthday trip and this hotel is as good as it looks We booked a room with a Queen sized bed, and it was not big, but has absolutely everything you need. It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Bottom line: stop searching, this is a great place.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor and didn't hear the NYC traffic at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,134
    568
    92
    24
    16
See reviews for
495
2,132
370
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

Really felt welcomed both upon arrival and even at breakfast each morning. All the staff were lovely. Good choice at breakfast including fabulous almond Danish pastries. Great coffee. I stayed in room 301 and loved the walk in shower and super comfy bed. Only downside is as I'm a light sleeper I couldn't sleep within the air con on. Luckily it wasn't too hot so I managed without it. The hotel is in a great location. Can walk to sites like Empire State building and Rockefeller Centre in around 15 minutes. Grand Central and NY Public Library are 2 minutes walk. I can recommend 'Madison and Vine' next door for lunch. Wine and Cheese etc from 5pm to 8pm which is complimentary is a nice touch. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to avoid the corporate blandness of the big hotel chains but still have some little luxuries.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

My husband and I went to NYC for a long weekend, he had seen the Library Hotel on the Travel Channel and thought it would be a neat place to stay. It was absolutely wonderful in all the best ways. It is a small and intimate hotel, which makes is very charming and restful. The staff were exceedingly helpful, friendly and just all around wonderful. The reading room on the 2nd floor and the roof top garden/bar are just as wonderful as places to rest an unwind after a long day of walking and sight-seeing. Our room was perfect and very nicely furnished. The location also cannot be beat. You are just 3 minutes from Grand Central Station and very close to many other attractions. I would stay here again and again and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Really enjoyed my brief visit. The location is great, the hotel is charming and the service was excellent. It's a very intimate hotel and everything was very easy. No long lines, crowded elevators etc. In NY, you typically pay more for a room than you would else where. Having stayed at other hotels for the same price, I felt it was a good value too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gambitgamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to NYC for our 10-year anniversary celebration. The Library Hotel also provided us with a wonderful welcome note and a bottle of champagne as a congratulations from the staff! The staff were always courteous, friendly and always willing to lend a hand. The 2nd Floor Reading Room, available always with light snacks, coffee, tea and refreshing water with lemon are added bonuses that are truly a wonderful retreat after walking around NYC all day. The breakfast is incredible with lots of choices for everyone--and it provides a great start to the day before you head out exploring. The nightly wine and cheese is also a fantastic addition, as the light snack and wine help tide you over through your theatre show (if you choose to eat after) or provide that boost of energy for another jaunt around Manhattan. The Library provides access to computers (if you travel without) and the wifi access is also an amazing addition provided by this hotel (many charge for this service). We did not use the parking services as we flew. We loved the location as it is right across from Grand Central Station. The Madison & Vine Restaurant is delicious (and, as others mentioned--pricey), the rooftop bar "BookMarks" is also costly, but relaxing and pleasant and the staff are delightful. When I researched hotels, I compared hotel names and addresses to the Bed Bug Registry in NYC and I am happy to report this hotel did NOT come up at all. It was clean and no sign of them at all. Overall, our stay way incredible and we will be returning to NYC next summer, with kids-in-tow to book the King Junior Suite room. I won't be staying elsewhere as this hotel has everything that we need and much much more. Thank you for a wonderful mini-vacation! See you again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CUlicny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,766 - ₹ 44,193
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing