We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location + lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Free wine and cheese from 5 till 8? Yes please. So relaxed and chilled out. Everything was just round the corner including a handy subway stop.

The reception staff were brilliant. The bell boy Adrian was so helpful and welcoming even the day after his 21st birthday!

The only let down was the woman in charge of the wine and cheese on the 14th and 15th couldn't have made less of an effort. Never stocking the cheese, clearing away the icebuckets at 7.30, bad attidude. The woman the days before was so polite and accomodating, we missed her.

Great Honeymoon though!

Will visit again!

Room Tip: we were on level 6 and it was a little loud.Try and get a hgher room
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibraryHotel, Director of Sales at Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear Fraser M,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I appreciate you bringing to our attention what you observed during our complimentary wine and cheese reception. We consider this a wonderful amenity we provide to our guests and we want the experience to reflect a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere with the same standards and service we hold to all of our departments. On this particular Easter Sunday, the employee in question had something else on her mind, was distracted and left early, which is of course, unacceptable. However, because she is normally very accommodating and after having read your comments and speaking with her managers she has recommitted to providing the highest level of service, and she assures us this will not happen again.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and aside from this one incident, enjoyed the hospitality of our staff. It is comments like yours that help us improve our training and the service we provide to our future guests. I truly hope we will have the honor of welcoming you back sometime soon!

All the best,
Robert Rawlins
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,097)
There are newer reviews for Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,505 - 2,509 of 4,097 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

We've stayed at The Library Hotel twice. We enjoyed it both times. Yes, the rooms are small but it is NYC! They are cozy and the bathrooms are beautiful and practical. The breakfast and late afternoon hors d'oeuvres are a treat served in a comfortable reading room with great service and a great view of Madison Ave. There is also a deck where you can view the rooftops of midtown New York. It is centrally located for everything and the Main Library is just up the street. Its a great place to come home to and chill out after a hectic day in the City before you go out again for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ilovemusic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

When we first made our booking with The Library a while before our trip, I was in contact with the hotel a lot re the type of room we wanted as it was a special first wedding anniversary trip and also for recommendations on restaurants and getting Knicks and theatre tickets - the hotel staff were fantastic, particularly Jessica who really went out of her way to help. This was a fantastic first impression before we even arrived!

We arrived at the hotel a little early on check in day as our flight was faster than expected so the hotel took our luggage and we were shown to the second floor lounge area where breakfast (free light breakfast every morning, bagels, pastries, cereal, fruit, yoghurt) is served on a morning, it's then a nice relaxation area during the day with free drinks and biscuits, fruit, etc then between 5-8pm they have free wine and cheese every evening. The lounge is full of books (as you'd expect from a hotel called the library!) and was really comfortable to wait for our room.

We were allocated the Fairytale room on floor 8, this was lovely and when we got into the room the staff had set up a little table with flowers, champagne, chocolate, fruit and a card wishing us a happy anniversary - this was amazing. The room had a 41st street view and if you stretched you could see the gorgeous new York public library at the end of the street. Room was of a good size for a weeks stay, very comfortable bed, big bathroom and closet, the tv was a little small but when you are in new York who has time to watch it!

The location was brilliant, literally around the corner to grand central station, which is just a great place, we went to the oyster bar on our first night, really great, had Thai food at Thai toon, again great and a pizza at two boots - all well worth a look.

New York public library is just two/three mins from the hotel and is stunning inside, behind that is bryant park which is lovely on a nice spring day to sit. Times square not far away, have a quick look at the crazy lights and adverts everywhere then avoid unless you are going to the theatre, it's too busy, especially on a night. If you are in new York April 2012-August 2012, check out One Man, Two Guvnors at the music box theatre - phenomenal.

We had a brilliant trip and can't recommend the hotel enough, we like to walk as much as we can and there is so much close by or a nice walk to from the hotel. The hotel arranged a town car back to the airport for us - a little dearer than a standard taxi at $79 but well worth it, so comfortable and smooth and our driver took us on a little tour of Queens on the way to the airport instead of being stuck in the highway traffic.

Don't think I have missed anything - book this hotel without hesitation if you want great value for money, luxury and to be well looked after. Oh and try Benjamin's steakhouse across the street on 41st, turn left out of hotel and it's right there on other side of the road, amazing steak and staff awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LisaMhowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a delightful stay at the Library. The rooms were very comfortable and the hotel couldn't be better situated, only minutes from Grand Central Station. The friendliness of the staff, all the staff, made the stay both welcoming and very relaxed. The concierge staff were always willing to go out of their way to help and usually the advice was very accurate. The room was kept very clean, a slightly larger TV and an additional hand held shower would have helped. The breakfast and evening cheese and wine were both excellent. The staff in the lounge were a real bonus, they could not have been more helpful. Finally the hotels ambience with numerous books always available really was a plus. We started reading several and have ordered them from our library on our return, to find out what happens. Certainly a firm recommendation and we will go there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BARRIE O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Best location for a New York hotel ever! Grand Central Station round the corner for the subway to Greenwich Village and Soho shops - museums and Rockefeller just up 5th Avenue, crazy pubs and action at Times Square and a relaxing Bryant Park for people watching after you are shopped out. The staff at the Library Hotel were so welcoming and helpful - top tips on bars and shops to visit, a friendly smile and welcome as we came and went. The complimentary cheese and wine reception on floor 2 each night was the best way to meet our friends and discuss our days activities before heading out for food and drinks.

We will be back with bells on! Ronnie and Jennie, Washington, UK

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronjenWashingtonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#2 of 468 in New York City
359 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 468 in New York City
3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 18,385 - ₹ 37,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing