We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but oh the A/C!”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but oh the A/C!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Hotel Chandler is in a great location - easy walk to 5th Avenue, Macy's, subway stations, Penn Station & Grand Central station, Empire State Building, but still quiet enough for you not to realise you're in such a busy spot.

Our room (323) was a good size and very comfortable. The shutters don't have curtains on them so in the summers, you wake quite early as the sun rises, which is annoying but not unsurmountable.

And I know I'm being picky here, but housekeeping was a bit slap and dash. Turn down service was different every day - one day with no chocolates, one day with only half the bed done and one day no turn down at all! Items weren't always tidied up, all the bins weren't emptied every day and if something was dropped it stayed on the floor. The room was still very nice, but you did start to notice these niggly details.

However, the main issue was the A/C and judging by other reviewers, this appears to be a common theme.

It first broke down at 4am, leaving us waking up hot and sweaty, resulting in a far too early morning for being on holiday. However when we let the reception staff know, they promptly set about having it fixed.

On return to our room, we find it has been fixed, hurrah! It worked for one whole day but the next evening we return at midnight extremely tired and ready to drop off only to find the A/C is dead again. All we wanted at that hour was to sleep and as we were checking out the following morning requested another room to sleep in. The night manager was very polite and did eventually get us another room, but did ask that somebody come and check it out before she could offer it to us, which we then had to wait another half hour to be sorted out.

The next morning upon checkout, upon expressing our frustration at the A/C we were offered a complimentary continental breakfast.... but for only the 2 of us, however we had 4 of us in our party!

Given that it was only a continental breakfast anyway (cereal, toast and fruit) and we had 4 people with 2 rooms for 3 nights, we felt that it should have been extended to our entire group. We declined it as we were not about to eat breakfast separately and mentioned that we thought it a bit unfair given that we had had 2 occassions of discomfort and the manager agreed to extend it to our party. I didn't think we should have had to ask, but it was organised in the end.

Overall, I think the positives outweigh the negatives and I would recommend staying here again and I hope there isn't a heatwave while you visit NYC (As there was for us).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inher30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,843
    1,053
    279
    106
    55
See reviews for
595
1,380
219
600
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Nice staff, conveniently located and everything walking distance.
Rooms are clean and "tipical size" for NY

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1975DN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The mini bar is quite expensive, nice bathroom and a comfy bed! Small room, back alley view but so far we have enjoyed our stay. A nice hotel with very nice employees.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenMinerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

I know NYC very well. When my first two hotel choices were booked on a recent trip, I decided to give the Chandler a try, albeight I had some reservations about its location. I did not regret it. I was able to get everywhere I needed to go from Williamsburg, Brooklyn, to the upper east side without changing subways.
Very friendly service, excellent linens (you can actually dry yourself with one towel), pleasant rooms. The bathroom was small but functional. Good value.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Hotel Chandler was a great place to stay if you want to be central in NYC. The good price and location were key for me. Also the pictures are true to how the rooms actually look. My air conditioner did break at one point. I went out for about an hour and by the time I got back it was all fixed. Great customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#149 of 467 in New York City
2,589 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
1,567 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 467 in New York City
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,247 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#159 of 467 in New York City
915 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 467 in New York City
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,153 - ₹ 30,754
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing