We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #123 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fine”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed for 5 nights with my 20 yr old daughter in August. Pushed the boat out and booked a Gold King. Lovely large room, great shower. Wifi was fast. Bed was fabulously comfy, lovely view out windows.We were on floor 9 and there was no noise at all, so we slept really well.
Would back up other concerns re storage. To have one drawer available for 2 people is daft. Had to live out of suitcase all week which makes the room so messy. Plenty of room for a chest of drwers in my opinion.
Didnt use the pool as much as we thought, had forgotten how long you are out and about in NY, maybe if the pool area was open later it may have helped.
Didnt use the bars or restaurant as wasnt sure if my daughter would have been allowed access.
Other reviews have mentioned the staff, as I said we were there for 5 nights, check in was quick and smooth, but formal and not overly friendly, brought to room by lovely guy who showed us all facilities in room, he was great. From then on not one member of staff initiated any interaction with us. We walked in and out of hotel every day, no member of staff talked to us very few staff even smiled at us. Asked for a map at the concierge desk, they didnt even look at us when they handed it to us, let alone ask if we were ok or if we needed any help with directions etc. On our last day, we had checked out but popping for lunch, a member of staff asked if we were going anywhere nice and reccomended a restaurnt. This was the only time anyone spoke to us. Although phone contacts to request ice or an extra pillow were dealt with efficiently.
Definetely do not expect to be fawned over but courteous service would have been nice. I expect its because we didnt fit their idea of trendy guests or maybe we didnt spend enough money in the bar, restaurants etc.
Not sure, but from other reviews I had expected a certain level of customer service which we more than paid for but I dont think Dream lived up to that. Its a shame really.

Room Tip: Gold King, pricey but large room 905 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,286
    710
    281
    128
    136
See reviews for
273
1,038
177
1,089
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Anyone that is looking for the quintessential New York experience must stay at the Dream Downtown. From the staff to ambiance, this hotel is world class all around. In my opinion, the staff of the hotel are the game changer of what separates this from any other high-end hotel in New York City. It starts at the top with Stephanie Singh who is the hotel’s guest relations manager. She personally handled everything from my reservation to check-in to requests from the room. You won’t find a more engaging, intelligent, and friendly person in the luxury brand world than her. She personifies what world class customer service is all about. This is only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the staff of the hotel. There is Luke Heyward who continues the hotel’s brand of excellence at the Dream Pool and their nightclub PHD. He ensured that I received VIP service during my entire weekend at the hotel and it really made my experience memorable. He is truly one of the great guys in this world and made me feel like a rock star all weekend long. Last but not least I want to give a shout out to Helya and Carlee who work the Dream Pool. Besides their charming and engaging personalities, their dedicated and focused level of customer service make coming to the Dream Pool a can’t miss stop when at the hotel. There are many other people at the hotel that also deserve special attention, but these four are on the next level when it comes to providing world class customer service and are the main reason I will continue to make the Dream Downtown my preferred choice of hotel for my next stay in NYC.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I just came back from 5 nights at Dream Downtown and really don't have much to complain about. The rooms aren't huge but for NYC and at this price point are a good size. We had a room on the 5th floor which faced onto the pool below. Very comfortable king size bed. The water pressure in the shower could have been a bit stronger. Air conditioning in the room was temperature controlled and worked very well. Free and fast wifi throughout the hotel.
Pool was a lot of fun each day - good scene when the sun was shining, but make sure to get there early (before 10am) to guarantee a seat unless prepared to wait a bit. First rate Mexican food for lunch at the pool. Breakfast poolside - eggs benedict, omelettes, oatmeal - all cooked well and served promptly. I think I tried most of the signature cocktails and all are well made and make you want another.
PHD on the roof was ideal for a pre or post dinner drink. The sunset Saturday party was heaving.
Location is perfect as well on the border of Meatpacking District and Chelsea - short walk to almost anywhere downtown.
Highly recommended and would be back, especially if it's a summer stay in NYC!

Room Tip: Avoid the high floor rooms (10th floor and above) in the north tower - they're directly below th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We were looking for a place to stay that was a bit further downtown so that we could explore parts of the city in which we haven't previously spent a lot of time. This was a great location! The hotel is one block from the subway (A,C,E), one block from Chelsea Market, just a few blocks from access to the High Line and nice shops.
The rooms are a reasonable size for New York, it was clean and well appointed. We asked for a room that would be quiet, and other than other guests who slammed doors and talked loudly, the room was quiet (someone should teach a class in hotel guest etiquette!). We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The doormen always said good morning, answered whatever questions we had and remembered us when we came back later in the day.
We were very happy with our stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were looking forward to our stay at Dream Downtown. The hotel looked amazing and there were some lovely inside areas. The decor was great and we loved the idea of a rooftop pool. The modern features of our room ensured there was little storage and we ended up having to pretty much live out of our suitcase. The rooms were tiny, which didn't really bother us and the view of the Empire State from the room was great. The lights had no need to be so fiddly to turn on and off.
The thing that really ruined it was the attitude of the staff. The housekeeping staff were lovely, but all other staff acted as if we were stuck to the bottom of their shoes. Trying to get someone to just do their job was a task and a half. The concierge was obviously just there because she had a pretty face. Trying to get a drink in the bar was very tricky and again when we were eventually served the waitresses were rude. It made us feel that we weren't good enough. I have never stayed in a hotel like this before.

I wont go into much detail about us trying to get into the pool area or the nightclub... (We obviously didn't fit the criteria to get in)!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GB83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear CB83_12,

We thank you for pointing out our stunning decor and design. We do believe however that the greatness of any hotel is defined by its staff and with this in mind we are very sorry to read about your negative experience here at Dream Downtown.

I encourage you to reach out to me at afischer@dreamdt.com as I clearly would like to learn about the details regarding some of the service lapses you mentioned. It will also give me an opportunity to ask for a second chance and discuss a return visit.

On a quick note I would like to mention that access to PHD is guaranteed to hotel guests through 9:30pm. Only then does the doorman's discretion become a factor to get in one of New York City's hottest venues. The Pool however is not restricted at all to hotel guests - only the availability of lounge chairs might be limited during busy days and we will offer our guest a call back when a chair becomes available.

Again - I look forward to hearing from you.

With best regards

AXEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
1,807 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#141 of 467 in New York City
647 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#87 of 467 in New York City
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#86 of 467 in New York City
2,293 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#165 of 467 in New York City
1,404 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#98 of 467 in New York City
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Property: Dream Downtown
Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,353 - ₹ 41,199
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing