We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,256)
Filter reviews
7,256 results
Traveller rating
458
1,041
1,807
1,201
2,749
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
1,041
1,807
1,201
2,749
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
729 - 734 of 7,256 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I m writing this review coz even after almost a year i haven t forgotten the worst hotel i ever been.

Ok, it s cheap, but I slept in hotels inBangkok that weren t this dirty.

The most disgusting thing was the bed, the blankets with so many hairs.the hairs with different length and differentcolour, let me deduce that weren t changed for ages.

Disgusting was the floor, dirty.
Disgusting the bathroom ( i really don t know if it was yellow coz it was old or coz it was dirty).

For 5 days i ve been so scared to get skin illnesses.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tatinab88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo I, Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We’re sorry you were unhappy, we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. We look forward to your next visit to New York City and welcoming you to the New York Hotel Pennsylvania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

There was mold, busted pipe, wet carpet, and a mouse in our room. The staff was very rude, even the manager. The housekeepers don't even restock your washcloths and towels when they come in for housekeeping. Waste of money, very outdated, no words can truly explain the conditions of these rooms. One word that does come to mind... DISGUSTING!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank brittprice89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo I, Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We’re sorry you were unhappy, we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. We look forward to your next visit to New York City and welcoming you to the New York Hotel Pennsylvania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This huge old hotel is in a fantastic location, and you can’t get a better deal for your cash. Penn station subway is directly across the street and you can get everywhere from there.
We had maid service every day, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Yes, the bathrooms are looking a bit jaded, but every time I’ve stayed they have been spotlessly clean.
The only disadvantage is the time it takes to check in. Be prepared for this and the rest will be fine. There is an excellent bag checking service for when you leave as check out is 11am. It’s $5 pp but the guys are really helpful and pleasant. Buy these tickets when you check in to save another queue later.
In the lobby there is a place that serves good coffee/ bagels/danish early till late and a news stand for confectionery etc. There are vending machines for cold drinks and ice on the upstairs floors.
If you’re looking for a clean practical base for enjoying the city you can’t go wrong. If you’re intending spending lots of time in the room and want luxury this hotel isn’t for you.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank linds61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo I, Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the positive feedback and rating. We look forward to your next visit to New York City and welcoming you to the New York Hotel Pennsylvania. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Upon arrival there was a very long queue, at least an hour long, at least the reception was nice and warm with some comfy seats (although crowded).

Once we finally reached the reception we were told they were only dealing with checkouts and not doing check-ins until 2pm,another hour away. We had to come back later and the only thing that saved us from the long queues was the express check in booths located in the lobby which we were able to use since we had booked earlier and we had an online booking reference number. We logged in and it dispensed two key cards for our room after swiping my card for a $120.

We travel a lot and have never ever been told that you can’t check in at 1pm,be prepared, don’t come early. You can check you luggage downstairs for $5 USD per bag (eesh another shock).

The lobby is huge and always seemed to have loads of foot traffic night and day.

The reviews we had read about a good breakfast on trip advisor were figments someone’s imagination. You are given coupons for each day and allowed one muffin, one juice and one tea or coffee, that’s not the super bad part, you have to queue outside this tiny little café, some days they setup a stall in the lobby for folks to collect their daily muffin, we opted for hot breakfast at nearby Andrews café and tick tock most mornings, good fast service and yummy fattening food.

Our room was a deluxe 5oo king size room…. well king size bed super small room. We have always found our rooms to look exactly like they do on the website however ours looked noting ice the pictures, in fact we called reception to confirm it was the right room. Cozy that’s for sure; we have a view of a nice brick wall. Cupboards and storage were okay. Small fridge that came in handy, but no jug for tea and coffee, which was shame in the cold weather.

Bathrooms fine with no bath just a shower. Nice toiletries that were replaced every day.

It was snowing in March and our bed only ha done sheet and a very tiny thin blanket…. guess they assume that the heating will run 24/7

We were on the 12th Floor, which had a nice common call sitting area with really strong Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi I our room was, well most of the time super slow and sometimes non-existent.

The hotel is in right opposite Penn station, buy a weekly ticket if you are there for more then three days, it’s cheaper.

The hotel is near to macy, H&M,JC pennies and loads of good eateries and larger chain shops like target and Kmart.

Would I stay here again, probably not, its not the best bang for your buck but its an experience and staying on 7th avenue was fun and convenient. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel if you have kids, look at the Stewart down the road on 7th.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 7th avenue are probably noisy. The alternative is to gate a room facing a brick wall or 33rd avenue.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ogalo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo I, Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We’re sorry you were unhappy, we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. We look forward to your next visit to New York City and welcoming you to the New York Hotel Pennsylvania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Currently staying in this hotel on a university trip to New York, worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Can’t believe they can even call themselves a hotel. The rooms are outdated and dirty, cobwebs everywhere, ancient tv that doesn’t work anyway, broken lamp, disgusting bathroom. 3 people sharing a triple room which turns out to be two double beds and a foldaway camp bed. Unbelievable. I’d like to say you get what you pay for but I wouldn’t pay £10 a night to stay here let alone £80. Ridiculously rude staff. Window was open and we couldn’t close it, asked for help at reception and was spoken to in such a horrible manner by the bellman, being told he’s rung the maintenance and he can’t do anything else, raising his voice at me the entire time. Offering no help and even though we’re very cold he can’t send anybody upstairs to help try and close it. So disappointed and angry. Do not stay here!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
5  Thank Siobhân L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo I, Manager at Hotel Pennsylvania, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We’re sorry you were unhappy, we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know. We look forward to your next visit to New York City and welcoming you to the New York Hotel Pennsylvania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews