We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
American Museum of Natural History
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:45 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience American Museum of Natural History
from US$ 20.00
More Info
from US$ 79.00
More Info
from US$ 69.00
More Info
from US$ 66.00
More Info
Reviews (23,721)
Filter reviews
23,721 results
Traveller rating
13,941
5,860
2,732
833
355
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13,941
5,860
2,732
833
355
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue whale dark universe hayden planetarium dinosaur bones t rex suggested price general admission great exhibits rainy day suggested donation new york on display central park animals dioramas amnh minerals
Filter
Updating list...
1,535 - 1,540 of 23,721 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

You saw this place in many movies. Yes, it's to large and too much knowledge. Beautiful place and the best part of the museum is the planetary.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Dalvan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Purchased our tickets on our phone the morning of our visit and we walked right in, bypassing the enormous line outside. Once inside the maps were easy to read but the museum was a mad house. It’s not interactive at all, unless you pay for an extra experience, which we did and I wouldn’t recommend. We bought the “Senses” upgrade based on the description thinking it would be more like a crazy fun house to test our senses. It wasn’t. There were things to smell and hear and see but it was rather boring for our teen. Might be better suited for younger kids? The museum itself was huge and had many artifacts, but the crowds made it difficult to want to wait and read about what was behind the glass casing. The highlight for us was the Easter Island statue that was featured in “Night at the Museum”. After seeing it, we left. Didn’t hold our interest enough to spend a ton of time. If you’re big natural history buffs, maybe. For us it wasn’t great.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ccmac05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

If you're travelling with kids it's highly recommended as they'll find it very entertaining. Make sure you get a ticket for one of the Planetarium movies. It's inclued in the City Pass.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank EOI E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

If you can make it during a down time. Spring break week was absolutely intolerable with crowds. We did enjoy the app which helped us navigate rooms to quickly see a few of the exhibits featured in the Night at the Museum movie.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank muckab0uts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This museum is fantastic. We took the highlights walking tour for about an hour and it was great. The building is gorgeous, it was a very enjoyable experience.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank MarcelaChavarriaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews