We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,139)
Filter reviews
7,139 results
Traveller rating
4,558
1,880
461
153
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,558
1,880
461
153
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new york the red flame diner gaby restaurant times square chrysler building separate shower room service turn down service fifth avenue bryant park late check grand central station luxury hotel high floor bottle of champagne quiet street hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
4,637 - 4,642 of 7,139 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2006

Stayed in this hotel for a week-end in May 2006 principally on basis of reviews on this site. Was not disappointed. Arrived lateish on Friday but were met at reception with efficiency and courtesy. Rooms were of high standard and remarkably quiet given the location of the hotel. Restaurant was near closing but were able to order a very fine meal from most pleasant staff. Brilliant location and could walk everywhere. Remarkable change around Times Square from my last visit there twenty years ago. Zero tolerance works. Had a great week-end and the Sofitel contributed to enjoyment. Will return

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Macken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2006

Having read previous reviews before booking this hotel, we were not disappointed and it exceeded all our expectations. Without a doubt, Sofitel is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Knowing how New York hotel rooms are often described as small, these hotel bedrooms are big even by UK standards. Great location, great hotel, helpful and friendly staff - can't wait to go back. If you get the opportunity and are visiting November or December, the Radio City Christmas Spectacular is not to be missed. An outstanding show, unique to New York. If you want to really splash out, a visit to Tavern On The Green in Central Park is a real experience. Quite pricey but an exceptional restaurant, especially at Christmas time when the decorations are unbelievable.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheStewarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2006

Just back from NYC.We booked the hotel and flight through expedia room only. Had never heard of the hotel before but read reviews, so we expected a lot. We weren't disappointed, our room was on the 12th floor superior queen. Bed was fab and bathroom lovely.Nice touches like the Evian water each night. We didn't eat in Gaby's but had a few cocktails !!
The hotel was very central so we walked most places.Close to the subway and Grand Central Station( very impressed with Grand Central lovely restaurants and beautiful ceiling, go and see !! )
There are lots places to eat, try the Red Flame for breakie and snacks very reasonable. Went to Little Italy for a meal really nice !
The Concierge was very helpful for info for shows & shopping.
Only issue we had was changing money, they seemed to have to different rules depending who you got and some times they had to go searching for money, which seemed strange for an advertised hotel service.
Be warned about JFK, give yourself plenty of time to get there and to queue and boy did we queue !!!
Overall fab hotel.....would stay there again !!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojomillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

This is jewel of peace and quiet in midtown Manhattan. The staff was attentive, knowledgeable, warm and provided privacy as needed. The beds were like floating on a cloud, the food superb, and there was no noise!
I cant imagine anything overlooked in the room as there was a safe, robes and slippers, internet, etc. Truly European hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank B_G_C_M_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

Excellent location - 3 minutes from Times Square and the subway,
Excellent staff - always friendly and very helpful
Excellent decor in the rooms and the Lounge.

We'll stay there again.

Stayed: November 2006
Thank Cosmopolitan802836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews