We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - the softest bed ever in a great location”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #64 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 November 2006

I booked the sofitel at the last minute after getting a bit of a discount after doing a little bit of searching & joining the hotel's privilege club. The reception area is very nice with friendly receptionists. It is a french hotel chain, you are always welcomed with Bonjour or bonsoir, which personally annoyed me, but others may find this sophisticated!
We had upgraded to a room with a king size bed, which on the web was only up to the 14th floor but as I had previously joined the privilege club online (do this at least 2 months before as it takes ages for the card to come through) we were upgraded to the 20th floor and had a view of the Chrysler building which is nice BUT I would say this is also at the back of the hotel - but who cares you are not in your room all day, so looking out of the window and seeing the lit up chrysler definitely made me realised I was in NYC.
The bed though was the most fantastic thing in the room (which was normal New York size - small, the benjamin is a lot bigger) it was so soft it was heaven after a heavy day walking around the city.
In the room every night was a box of 4 chocolates & 2 small bottles of water which were free and appreciated.
I had also happened to mention that it was our anniversary and like others who had stayed at the hotel before us who were also celebrating we had a bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us when we got there.
The Gaby bar - was very nice which also served a small selection of bar food/sandwiches but it is expensive $11+tip for a beer and a juice.
The location of the hotel is very handy just 2 streets over from times square so close enough to walk to with no effort at all and also far enough away so you do not hear the Times Sq bustle.
For breakfast I had read that others had eaten at the Red Flame diner just past the hotel and I would agree that this was very nice, quick service and very good food at a decent price.
One thing I must say is the taxes are not included normally in the prices on the hotels website which were a little bit more than I expected but still ok in the scheme of things.
Overall we will definitely be staying at this hotel again without any hesitation at all just for the nights sleep alone - in fact now looking into changing my own bedding at home to match it!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,281 - 4,285 of 6,624 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2006

Stayed in this hotel for a week-end in May 2006 principally on basis of reviews on this site. Was not disappointed. Arrived lateish on Friday but were met at reception with efficiency and courtesy. Rooms were of high standard and remarkably quiet given the location of the hotel. Restaurant was near closing but were able to order a very fine meal from most pleasant staff. Brilliant location and could walk everywhere. Remarkable change around Times Square from my last visit there twenty years ago. Zero tolerance works. Had a great week-end and the Sofitel contributed to enjoyment. Will return

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Macken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2006

Having read previous reviews before booking this hotel, we were not disappointed and it exceeded all our expectations. Without a doubt, Sofitel is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Knowing how New York hotel rooms are often described as small, these hotel bedrooms are big even by UK standards. Great location, great hotel, helpful and friendly staff - can't wait to go back. If you get the opportunity and are visiting November or December, the Radio City Christmas Spectacular is not to be missed. An outstanding show, unique to New York. If you want to really splash out, a visit to Tavern On The Green in Central Park is a real experience. Quite pricey but an exceptional restaurant, especially at Christmas time when the decorations are unbelievable.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheStewarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2006

Just back from NYC.We booked the hotel and flight through expedia room only. Had never heard of the hotel before but read reviews, so we expected a lot. We weren't disappointed, our room was on the 12th floor superior queen. Bed was fab and bathroom lovely.Nice touches like the Evian water each night. We didn't eat in Gaby's but had a few cocktails !!
The hotel was very central so we walked most places.Close to the subway and Grand Central Station( very impressed with Grand Central lovely restaurants and beautiful ceiling, go and see !! )
There are lots places to eat, try the Red Flame for breakie and snacks very reasonable. Went to Little Italy for a meal really nice !
The Concierge was very helpful for info for shows & shopping.
Only issue we had was changing money, they seemed to have to different rules depending who you got and some times they had to go searching for money, which seemed strange for an advertised hotel service.
Be warned about JFK, give yourself plenty of time to get there and to queue and boy did we queue !!!
Overall fab hotel.....would stay there again !!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojomillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

This is jewel of peace and quiet in midtown Manhattan. The staff was attentive, knowledgeable, warm and provided privacy as needed. The beds were like floating on a cloud, the food superb, and there was no noise!
I cant imagine anything overlooked in the room as there was a safe, robes and slippers, internet, etc. Truly European hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank B_G_C_M_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,747 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 469 in New York City
3,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#82 of 469 in New York City
3,557 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 469 in New York City
4,446 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#175 of 469 in New York City
11,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 17,210 - ₹ 48,383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing