We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 179
US$ 161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York at Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 312
US$ 283
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 201
US$ 166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 261
US$ 228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Avalon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 239
US$ 227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 189
US$ 157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$ 163
US$ 103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 183
US$ 148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 371
US$ 295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 696
US$ 663
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,931)
Filter reviews
6,931 results
Traveller rating
4,450
1,818
438
144
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,450
1,818
438
144
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew yorkthe red flame dinertimes squaregaby restaurantchrysler buildingseparate showerroom servicefantastic hotelturn down servicebryant parkfifth avenuelate checkgrand central stationhigh floorbottle of champagnequiet streetrockefeller center
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 6,931 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Good amenities, good service from concierge and front desk. Cleaning staff were very loud and chatty in the hallways when cleaning rooms causing me to be woken up on more than one occasion. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

My partner and I booked 5 nights in the Sofitel for our first visit to the city. Before our arrival I had emailed the hotel several times with requests and questions, i want to say i could not have asked for a better service in way of response time and content. They catered to my every request and went above & beyond to make this the most memorable trip it could have been.

Upon arrival we were welcomed with a room upgrade to the 28th out of 29th floor, we were placed into a super king deluxe room which was fantastic to say the least. I had asked ahead for this and we were informed they would place this onto the reservation, we were thrilled to see this has been completed.

The hotel first impressions were grand and felt very expensive, there were apples available when ever you liked, 3 iMacs for computer use and chairs. The gym was situated in the basement floor and was adequate if you wanted to use.

Entering the room was a real experience, the bathroom included a bath and shower with rain head, fresh flowers, toiletries and hairdryer. The room was very large, and what we had read about rooms in NYC seemed brilliantly sized. The view from the room was exceptional, the TV had many channels all with great content. There was a mini bar, iron, ironing board, safe, glasses, sewing kits robes and slippers. There was also a Bose radio which was turned on for your return each day, nice touch. The main feature of this hotel was definitely the bed, I have never in my life experienced a comfier bed, the Sofitel beds make you feel like your are asleep on a cloud. We had a proper nights sleep each night, which made our trip so much better.

I had planned on proposing to my partner whilst away, it was also her birthday. This was mentioned to the hotel and they offered champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, a birthday cake, note from the team and real rose petals up to this placed on the table. This blew us both away and rounded off the perfect evening.

The location of the hotel is in a brilliant position, 2 blocks from times square, just off 5th avenue, you can then walk further down midtown to library, grand central etc, or up to central park. these distances were at most 20 minutes and as little as 1 minute.

All in all this hotel was one of my favourites ever stayed, they could not have been more accommodating, helpful and homely. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

Tip: The hotel has coffee machines on request which are similar to a tassimo, they provide decaf and normal coffee with tea as well. The hotel also have a free coffee in the restaurant downstairs from 7am - 11am, which is great for your first journey out for the day.

Room Tip: Room with a view!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickscoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We love Sofitel Hotels....stayed at the Sofitel in Athens and in Hanoi and loved them both, so when we came to NYC we chose the Sofitel. Friendly, professional service from the doorman to the concierge, front desk to the maids...top notch. The lobby is welcoming, the rooms most comfortable. Loved our bed...very comfortable. All amenities are provided...hair dryer, iron, mini bar, soaps, etc. Wifi is free (up to three devices) Elevators quick, everything super clean and in good working order. NY Times and Wall Street Journal available each morning. Absolutely loved the mid-town location...close to everything. When we come again, we will definitely stay here

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank busconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The Sofitel isn't trendy, but it's clean and it's conveniently located for tourists looking to enjoy the usual mid-town sites in NYC. The suites we selected were above standard, very comfortable, and service was pleasant. No issues, and a great value in NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The room was comfortable, quiet and the shower excellent, I could have stayed in there for hours. However, for the price (an average of over 450/night), this hotel doesn't quite hit the mark that it could and should.

Lots of little issues: The tv froze up for a second or two about every five or ten minutes due to wifi issues, the housekeeping was asked twice to not come to the room and then either came, or called and asked (during a nap) if they really truly shouldn't come, a wake up call was mixed up from pm to am, the doorman wasn't too quick to get the door, bit of a blase attitude.

Our company will be coming back to NYC with a larger group later in the year, so will try a different hotel.

Great location, though, you are a 7 minute walk from Times Square, so if you're seeing a Broadway show or want to explore the southern part of Central Park, this location was ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Paule N, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear M O,

Thank you for your feedback. Providing impeccable services and facilities to our guests is our utmost priority, and I sincerely apologize for these inconveniences and inconsistencies. I take your notes very seriously and we have addressed your comments with our department heads. Again, we do appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. We find it invaluable in order to constantly improve the experience of staying here for our guests.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,
Marie-Paule

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews