We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,076)
Filter reviews
7,076 results
Traveller rating
4,528
1,864
451
148
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,528
1,864
451
148
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the red flame diner gaby restaurant new york times square chrysler building separate shower room service turn down service fifth avenue bryant park late check grand central station high floor quiet street fantastic hotel rockefeller center ny standards
Filter
Updating list...
4,176 - 4,181 of 7,076 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2008

During our 5 day vacation in NYC we stayed at Sofitel. The hotel was chosen due to the high ratings. And we were not dissapointed. I asked for a quiet room and got room 718 which is located at the back overlooking the neighboring buildings. Not much of a sight but that was not of interest. The room was spacious with twin beds. The airconditioning made a little humm but we both slept sound. The temperature is easily adjusted in Fahrenheit or Celcius and the room is quickly cooled. I think they also use soundproof windows, the were no noise at all from the outside. Not to forget the fat 37 inch flatscreen TV!

The traffic outside the hotel is modest. After a day walking in the city we longed for the entrance, it was like entering the garden of quietness. The staff were courteous and professional at all times. In Europe we often stay with Accor hotels and Sofitel NYC was no exception: high standards! Its a short walk to times square. The restaurant is very nice and we had a great brekfast every day. Next time we return to NYC, Sofitel is the only choice. Thanks to all at Sofitel for making our holiday so comfy!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pims2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We booked our hotel room in December as we were planning a trip to NYC for my 30th birthday. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were informed that we were upgraded to a fabulous suite. Then we received a bottle of wine from some friends and the hotel sent us a bottle of champagne. The room was incredibly comfortable--great bed, luxurious bathroom, 2 flat screen TVs. We didn't eat at the hotel but we did have cocktails there one night and the restaurant seemed nice. We ate at the Red Flame Cafe which was surprisingly good as it looked like a dive diner and was very cheap. I would definitely recommend the Sofitel!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank indygirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

We stayed at the Sofitel for four nights in July. We got a great room rate on the hotel's website booking several months in advance.
The room was their standard queen room, which was quite large at 350 square feet. The bathroom was lovely-all marble. The location is great, on a quiet block of W. 44th st. Housekeeping did a great job and were very friendly. We asked for and were given an early check in.
Beautiful room,great location- we would stay there again...

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scrach50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

This is a very good hotel. It is close to Time Square and is a welcome refuge after a hard days shopping. The rooms were comfortable and the free bottles of wine in our room and the room of our teenage daughters when we arrived to celebrate my wife's birthday was thoughtful.
The only thing against the hotel was that as it is part of a chain it lacks the quirky individuality of some hotels but that is being too critical.
My only gripe is that free WiFi should be the norm in 4/5 stat hotels and not a paid for extra.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Stayed for 4 days and it was a very pleasant experience. Sofitel offered a "picnic package" and gave us a picnic basket. We went to the nearby Bryant Park - a perfect spot! The hotel is styled in every aspect and therefore distinguishes itself from the big hotel chains - a major benefit. Especially the Gaby Bar is a great spot to have a drink after sightseeing or shopping. What we didn't like was that the room obviously was used by smokers before - not a true nonsmoking room to my understanding! The room was rather dark due it faced the closed backyard. Housekeeping was very attentive and tidied up perfectly. Staff and Concierge did a good job.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank octopus07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews