We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel in New York”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #64 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I've visited New York many times and the Sofitel is my favorite hotel. It combines French charm, impeccable service, wonderful rooms and a great location.

The king bedrooms have plenty of space, fast wi-fi, birds-eye maple paneling and marble bathrooms. The ample choice of pillows assures a good night's sleep.

We dined several times in Gaby, the cute hotel restaurant. Aside from being a little dark and being chilled ice-cold, it was perfect for breakfast (white egg omelets with cappuchinos), dinner (salmon cooked perfectly), and a late nightcap (club soda with a lime for me).

The location near the Theater district, Midtown, the Association of the Bar, the Harvard Club, Times Square and Bryant Park is ideal. We were a quick cab ride away from The Frick, Moma and The Whiteney. There's also plenty of great walking around in the neighborhood.

And to top it off, on Sundays you get a free New York Times to browse during breakfast.

Room Tip: The higher floors are farther away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larrybodine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,805 - 2,809 of 6,625 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

We have stayed at the Sofitel before and we recently completed our latest stay. We recommend the hotel for its understated luxury, excellent service and central location.

What you get at Sofitel is a large, for New York, room with quality appointments and amenities and a quiet haven in the middle of one of the busiest parts of Manhattan.

There is no overstating the excellence of Sofitel's location. Its two blocks from Time Square, a block off Fifth Avenue, four blocks from Grand Central, and a few short blocks from all the subway connections you will need. Almost every major Broadway theater is within a short walk. 24 hour Duane Reed pharmacies and Carnegie Deli delights are a few minutes walk away. And when your done with all of that you get to return to serenity and comfort.

The one negative we would underscore is that laundry services are priced over the top.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winetraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in early August 2012. I had a good rate from Expedia. I was upgraded from a Queen to a King bedded room. The room was large, well furnished, with lots of closets with full length mirrored doors and a huge bathroom with both separate shower and bathtub. The toiletries are high-end French. The bed is bit too soft and fluffy for my taste but that is just a personal preference and not a criticism of the room. I loved the location just off Times Square for the convenience to multiple subway lines, shopping on Fifth Ave. and the numerous good dining options (DB Bistro Moderne almost next door and a good diner just a half block away). I had breakfast and dinner at the hotel's French restaurant and it was not expensive and very good. Housekeeping was extremely efficient. Everytime I put out the make-up the room sign, it seems the room is always made up within the hour or so that I am away from the room. There is also a good sized gym in the basement with enough equipment for a good workout even if you prefer weight training to cardio like I do. All in all, I had a great stay, no complaints and would definitely stay at the Sofitel again as long as the price was right.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I love, love, love the Sofitel. I have stayed in a few other hotels in NYC but keep coming back here. The rooms are always clean, the bathroom is wonderful and room service, ahhh that is the best part. From the time you step out of the cab and are greeted at the door to when you check out the service and the wonderful, polite, and helpful staff are always there to be at your service. You will not be disappointed. And the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandZmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Try and stay in Sofitel's when I can and this one exceeded my expectations. Good location 5 minute walk from Times Sq.

The building is very 'New York'....in other words you look up to it and is great inside. Very plush and the bar and restaurant are excellent and staff attentive thoughout the hotel

We booked with expedia which was simple and I upgraded on arrival to a lovely two bedroom suite with good views from the 22nd floor

Hotel did everything to help organise limo transport I needed and were very efficient when something went wrong with this in putting it right and sorting out the debris that followed.....can't ask for more

The room was really a very high standard there was zero noise in the hotel and the beds and pillows were so good I didn't want to get up....or was that the bourban the night before!

Definately go back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic100Lichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,747 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 469 in New York City
3,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#81 of 469 in New York City
3,561 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#111 of 469 in New York City
4,449 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#174 of 469 in New York City
11,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 17,260 - ₹ 48,590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing