We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry to Leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Sorry to Leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We got a good deal through Accor Advantage Plus for our 11 nights in NYC. Decided to pay a little extra for the luxury room that is slightly larger than the standard room. Had requested a view of the Chrysler Building and did not get this which was disappointing – especially as we were staying 11 nights. Despite this little disappointment, the room was beautiful – lovely and spacious. There was plenty of room to leave our suitcases out, 2 armchairs and a table, desk and chair.

The bathroom was good with a separate shower. We used the space above for the bath for drying washing – very handy. The L’Occitane toiletries were lovely and we were kept well stocked. Towels were large. There were also plenty of power points in the room.

Minibar is automatic so don’t move anything around or it will go on your bill. There were no wine glasses in the room and no wine in the mini bar but got some at the liquor store at Gand Central and the bar downstairs was kind enough to provide glasses (for Aussies and Kiwis - bring a corkscrew as screw tops are not plentiful in the US). There is complimentary Evian water each night with the turn down service and occasionally we also got chocolates. Internet is complimentary for standard speed which we found adequate for our needs. The closet is really small though but if you move the ironing board and iron out it gives a bit more room.

We found the Sofitel‘s location ideal for our needs. It is an easy walk to Grand Central Station where we had to meet a couple of tours and of course Times Square. It is also an easy walk downtown to Macys and JC Penney and to Central Park. Actually it really was quite handy for most things.
We enjoyed our 11 nights at the Sofitel and would highly recommend it.

We found the dining close by a little lacking. Red Flame Diner was just okay. Tony’s Di Napoli in W 43rd worth a visit if there is a few of you and share. Juniors Brooklyn Broadway was okay but not fantastic. Virgils BBQ in W44th was good. If you are willing to walk further there are some great diners for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EWCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,000
    1,653
    382
    121
    63
See reviews for
1,038
2,846
336
843
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

I stay here for business and also stayed recently with my wife for a long weekend. It is an excellent location for getting around Manhattan. Service however is average, rooms not made or cleaned after we got back from a full day of tourist activities. The restaurant is small as is the bar. No tea or coffee making facilities in room and if you feel like a night in on the cans watching footy, dont rely on the minibar!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ooost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.
We regret that your room was not cleaned when you returned at the end of the day. The hotel was fully booked with many people checking in and out that day. However, your comfort should have been our first priority. I will forward to this to the head of Housekeeping for a review of our schedules.
Regarding the Coffee Tea making facilities we have on request, please next time ask for it and we deliver in your room, and we have as well a free coffee station at the restaurant everyday in the morning.
Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Jorge Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed in the Sofitel New york city for a long weekend to catch a few shows and see the sights. The Sofitel New York met and exceeded our needs. The staff was very friendly, warm and very helpful with all of our planning day trips. The restaurant was just amazing, the food, delicious, the presentation...wonderful. I would absolutely stay there again. Our suite was on the 25 th floor, so the view was amazing. Very quiet and very clean. We have stayed in their sister company hotel chain in Europe..The Pullman in Paris, again one of the better hotels around.
Thanks Sofitel...we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenS181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Excellent hotel - great location, surprisingly quiet, very friendly staff, upgraded to a room with a view for my Honeymoon and a really comfy bed. Has nice touches throughout - beautiful lobby, candles in bathrooms, umbrellas at the door for rainy days. Couldn't recommend it more highly, will be back!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kwatt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed at Sofitel June 19-22. Wonderful hotel and staff. Room was elegantly appointed and bathrooms were upscale. Location is on a quiet street close to everything. Can't say enough about Sofitel.... Recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILove2travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,541 - ₹ 40,516
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing