We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel New York 44th Street”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sofitel New York 44th Street”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

An excellent position in Mid Manhattan. We had room 2415, it had a balcony, and from there you could see both the Empire State Building & the Chrysler Building. A top quality hotel, not cheap ($1400 for 3 nights) for a room with a suite. Easy to get to Times Square, about 2 minutes walk, an excellent diner (The Red Flame, $30 for breakfast for 2) 1 minute walk. This was our first visit to New York so we paid for a good hotel, in a good location. There is a Novotel just off Times Square if you want the location but not the price or views.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,168
    1,717
    393
    132
    67
See reviews for
1,100
2,947
352
892
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

stayed here for a week over Christmas. We had a great room on a high floor overlooking 44th st. This is one of those very few hotel experiences where little can be faulted. Check-in Christmas Eve after flying from Australia was welcoming. The rooms were the cleanest I have ever experienced (and the hotel is not new). Admittedly we did tip hosekeeping generously at between 3 and 5 dollars a night. the room was compact, but well organized, the wardrobe was a bit small though for winter and overseas visitors. Concierge arranged tickets to two sold out broadway shows and would definitely stay here again. The cafe/restaurant is not the best, but there are so many other options on your door. A very quiet location, yet so close to time square, 5th ave, grand central etc. If the budget stretches, stay here!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Lobby and facilities are outdated for the brand standard, but the staff are very helpful. The bathrooms are exceptionally large for NYC / Midtown (with separate bathtub), which is a great treat after a long day at work. While the lobby decor is underwhelming the fresh flowers and arrangements are a nice surprise if you are taking some time to rest or having a meeting.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotuslight73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to make it better for your next visit
We regret that you didn’t like the lobby décor.
We are very happy with your comments regarding, the staff, the bathrooms and the flower arrangements, this particular point is great because is a brand magnifier and we are very glad you recognize how good our flowers are. Thank you very much for your good words.
We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.


Sincerely,

Jorge Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed Sunday Feb 19- Wed Feb 22, Great location as it's close to Grand Central and Times Square. Nice touches, free water! Wifi! Heating system that was quiet. Could not hear any of the other guests in rooms or hallways.
Pricey - yes, but you get good value. Nice workout room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zipidydoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Va
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stay here in the off season when the prices are lower. The service is great and it is a great location. The bar staff is nice and the bar is a good place to get a quick drink. It can get a bit pricey during the holiday season so I cannot always stay here. I have stayed at several Sofitels, never any problems.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JenandTomandMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#39 of 467 in New York City
3,635 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 467 in New York City
3,517 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,976 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#139 of 467 in New York City
5,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,183 - ₹ 50,051
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing