We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great except.......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #97 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great except.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here wih a friend who had never been to NYC before and figured this hotel to be the perfect location to explore the city and it's night life. This is the perfect location for anyone who wants to be in the middle of the chaos of NYC; bars are close, shopping is close, resturaunt chains everywhere. Rooms are nothing fancy but very clean and adequate. The views are amazing and almost make the price worth it. Floor to floor windows on the 40th floor make for a memorable time. Only problem was that after being out all night we were woken by jack hammering on the hotel everyday. The hotel swore it wasn't on their building but this is my only real complaint. Hotel = decent rooms with great view.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,512
    1,862
    439
    125
    90
See reviews for
1,651
1,882
256
987
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

First I'll give you the positive about this property:
- Nice shower (with an adjustable bar)
- Large room by New York standards
- Comfortable bed
- Good desk for working in the room
- Room service "spa breakfast" is a good value: eggs, 2 cereals, yogurt, toast and fruit. Plenty to share.

And the negative:
- No personality in hotel; sterile
- Must take (and wait for) two noisy elevators to get to hotel room
- Food is not very good but is very expensive
- Taxi area is off on a side street which makes it difficult to access a taxi
- On the far side of Times Square in a more "iffy" neighborhood
- No full-length mirror in hotel room
- Concierge was not knowledgeable about restaurants; sent me to two terrible restaurants and couldn't find a longstanding Broadway restaurant.

So, from here you can decide what is important to your trip. Enjoy New York!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel was quite expensive but I think it was really good. It was lovely and clean. We arrived and checked in okay we went to room which I was very disappointed with the view the bell boy rang reception and asked if they could move us which they did we went to the 32nd floor and could see the empire state building but u must remeber u are in a city and it wasnt as pretty as I thought but it was still exciting. I am disabled but managed to walk from 5th Avenue back to our hotel and I walked back from maceys we ate at appelbys for beakfast which was next to hotel the breakfast was not bad but I had better elsewhere however we had an evening meal there and it was really nice. Ripleys and macdonalds and subway all within a minute of hotel, we booked suv from england to pick us up from jfk airport and take us to Hilton which is a must otherwise u will wait for a couple of hours in taxi queue. We had a double room (two double beds) we had enough room for 2 adults and 18 and 21 year old girls we lived out of suitcase as there was not point in unpacking for a few days there was not enough drawers or wardrobe space to unpack anyway. The maid made bed and cleaned bathroom everyday and replenished bathroom shampoo etc, Very Good

Room Tip: The Higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lethalexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlanger
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I can not say enough great things about this hotel and the staff. We went for a girls weekend 4/20/12 through 4/23/12. Raquel at the reception desk was so wonderful. Extremely pleasant, helpful and accommodating. She took care of our every request. The bell staff was also very helpful with our luggage, hailing a taxi and giving directions. Francisco got pricing etc for us and was such a joy. The hotel itself is impressive, very clean and had a large room. The view was the best I have ever had. This is the perfect location if you are looking to be in the heart of all Times Square has to offer. We were easily able to walk to just about everything or catch the subway right outside the front doors. I will certainly stay here again and look forward to working with Raquel and the rest of the staff! It was an awesome trip.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in a great location and very quiet considering it's location. I would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodeci72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel is in a great location and there is parking across the street on 41st street. The rooms was very large and the staff was very friendly. Our big disappointment was a 4:00 am fire alarm scare. NYC was already on high alert and it was scary. We called the desk and no one would answer. We along with many others went in the hallway and were getting ready to climb down the 32 flights. I called the phone in the hall for the 4th time and the desk clerk instructed us to go back to our rooms until they could locate the source of the alarm. The alarm went off two more times and the hotel announced for everyone to stay in rooms. We did not feel comfortable with the hotel's slow response time and lack of the source. We decided to get dressed and go wait outside the building. As we were about to leave an announcement came on to tell us that emergency was over and it was safe. I will tell you this-as soon as the first alarm went off-we saw firetrucks out side the building. Love and much respect to the firefighters of NYC. We felt the fire director did not take control of the situation fast enough and was glad to be checking out that day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvnilfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
We at the Hilton Times Square want to first and foremost thank you for your comments in regards to your stay. Reviews such as the one you posted allow us to review our performance and make our experience better for our guests. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in New York with our great location and large rooms! I certainly understand that the fire alarm you experienced at 4am was both a disappointment and inconvenience on your visit. We want you to know that safety and security at the Hilton Times Square is something we take very seriously and that we take every possible measure to keep our guests safe and informed. It is important to note that when the fire alarm goes off, whether it is an active emergency or a malfunction, that the fire department is called in every situation to ensure we are kept safe, which explains why they arrived at our hotel as soon as the alarm went off. At that point the fire department takes over the situation and we will perform tests of the system to ensure everything is operational after the alarm sounds. We always ensure that the alarm was false and sometimes that requires additional testing to be positive in our assessment of the situation, which is why the alarm went off a second time. The tests are administered quickly and efficiently to limit the impact such a situation has on our guests. We sincerely apologize that you felt uninformed during the experience however, and we thank you for your patronage to our hotel and choosing us for your visit to New York City. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Bradley Wilson
Assistant Director of Safety and Security
bwilson@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,444 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#49 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#163 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,303 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#150 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#195 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Property: Hilton Times Square
Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,593 - ₹ 46,842
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing