We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #130 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dallas,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and great experience”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This was my 5th trip to NYC, but my wife's first. She found the hotel online and liked the modern look of it so this was our destination. I was very reserved about this hotel after some of the reviews I had read, but I have to say all the bad reviews seem to be unfounded. Yes the rooms are small, but your in NYC.. why are you wasting time in your room! We used the room for a few hours sleep each night, shower and get back on the streets. Use the room like you should any hotel room in NYC (stay out of them) and you don't realize or bothered by the size of the room. The breakfast was muffins and drinks and what realyl more do you need for free? You can order a regular breakfast is that's your desire, but grabbing a couple of muffins and a drink started our day perfectly. Plus with what you pay for everything else in NYC, taking advantage of ANYTHING you can find for free that is good is nothing to be passed up. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only thing I can really say was an beating was the elevators. You go from the lobby to the 4th floor, have to get off and change elevators to go to your rooms. I assume this is because of space and possibly for security, but it was the only thing bad we could say about it. We are already planning our trip back next year, and Yotel is where we'll be at again. This place is pretty cool and fits perfectly for what is needed at a hotel in NYC.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the higher floor. Allowe for a much nicer view of the city obviously.. also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Hi Jerry M and wife. I agree, free is good! We want you to save your money for exploring, and of course, to visit us again! Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you both enjoyed the hotel. I’m not sure if you were able to check out our Terrace Bar on the weekend, however, if so, you would have seen trendy NY’ers hanging about. In order to keep our guests safe, we do have two sets of elevators. One to ‘FOUR’ for the public, and another set for guests traveling to their Cabins. We hope this wasn’t too much of an inconvenience. Thanks again Jerry M! Please contact us directly at reservations@yotelnewyork.com when you are ready to visit us next year. We are looking forward to it!
-Gina, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

10,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,502
    3,711
    795
    280
    227
See reviews for
1,534
5,086
689
1,128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,802)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Plus - no hassel, self-check in, robot luggage handler, location, efficiency, towel warmers, views, terrace, tea/coffe galley on each floor, cleanliness, green philosophy, security, complimentary muffins & coffee/tea, friendly staff, terrace lounge and shower head...ahhh
Neg - bed was too hard, shampoo/soaps smelled medicinal, and were strong! Water from shower ended up on floor since there was no door. Techno music in all public places, very driving. Thermostat took long to adjust so we were either freezing or stifling for a long period of time.

Overall, very good experience. I recommend.

Room Tip: Higher you are, the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleenonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Hi Kathleenonthego, we think your review is “So Cool!” You managed to capture so many of our amenities and missions in 3 lines. Efficiency… check. Friendly staff… check. Super cool features… check! We are sorry that you didn’t like our signature washes. One is eucalyptus infused to rejuvenate you after a long day of working hard and playing hard. Our music was designed to sync with the time of day. We do have some upbeat tunes in the afternoon; however, hope you heard the birds chirping in the morning hours. Thank you for the tip on your thermostat. I will absolutely be following up with our Engineering department on this one. If you have the time, please email us your Cabin number to reservations@yotelnewyork.com. Thanks again Kathleenonthego! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
-Gina, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Loved the very efficient manner in which we were directed to self-check in. Staff were always helpful and friendly. Room was on the 9th floor, and we had a lovely view of NY West. Quiet neighbourhood and we were not disturbed by noise in the street. Good hotel for walkers - about a block or two from subways, and relatively close for a nice walk to 46th/ 8-9Ave restaurants. Room was very clean and well appointed. No in room fridge, but there is a galley on each floor with a "community" fridge and microwave and coffee/hot chocolate machine. It was small - BUT having been in other NY hotels, I can say that it did not feel cramped at all. Water is free from the ice machine - which was very handy. Free muffins and coffee each morning on the 4th floor. It is very well laid out - if you are travelling with large suitcases there MAY be a space issue in the room (we only had two carry ons), but the hotel has a very interesting way to store large bags (check their website!). While the open concept room may not be great for family/friends travelling, there is a curtain to separate the bathroom area from the sleeping area (but I do agree with other reviewers that it is a set up that is best for couples who are quite familiar with each other! LOL). Only issue is that the mattress was quite unforgiving - it felt like an old feather mattress that had gone beyond its use ... but overall, I would not have any concern about staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naples.fl
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

So traveling to New York City, was very well. My mother and I stayed at Yotel, the place was very nice... modern! I rate the hotel very good, although the room was very small. Also I believe the cleaning people would turn off the air condition everytime they would clean. But besides those minor issues, this is a great place to stay! Also the Yotel Robot for luggage is very unique and very helpful! The robot allows you to drop your luggage off in a secure holding area and you can go explore the city without having to carry your luggage around the city.. waiting for your departure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xyummyicecreamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Hi xyummyicecreamx, we are thrilled that you and your mother both enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review! As we are a green hotel, in order to conserve energy, our air conditioning units do have a motion sensor. I am so sorry this was not communicated to you. I agree, Yobot is very unique and helpful! I wish I could borrow him to organize my apartment. Thanks again xyummyicecreamx. We (and Yobot) hope to welcome you back soon!
-Gina, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

As a reference, I've previously stayed at these Times Square area hotels: Marriott, Sheraton, W, Westin, Millennium & Hyatt. Chose Yotel for its proximity to the Javits Center, where I had a conference (<10 min walk); it's also within walking distance to Times Square & other touristy places. The room was small but made the most of the space (vs. some other hotels e.g. the W): floor-to-ceiling window, comfy bed, large flat screen TV, monsoon shower head, & free wifi (not common in NYC!). No coffee maker in the room itself but each floor has a galley kitchen with an excellent coffee machine (the cafe latte was as good as Starbucks!); free muffins in their 4th floor cafe; gym. BTW, they were offering deals through Travelzoo, but Tripadvisor's was even better. Opted for the cheapest room, but a few days before arrival, Yotel sent me an email offering an upgrade for $8 which was completely worth it (great view on the 26th floor!). Best of all, they had a clean room ready at noon (also very rare in my experience).

Room Tip: Go for the upgraded view on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Runster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Hi Runster, hooray; we stole you from the chains! And it sounds like you’ll be back! We realize that vacationers and business travelers don’t spend a lot of time in their rooms. Therefore, while our cabins do have everything that you could need, we also put a lot of thought into our public spaces. Club Cabins to hang in before a flight to watch TV or get on a conference call, a restaurant and 2 bars, an outdoor terrace, GYM, and our ‘Galleys’ with a fridge, free water and hot beverages, like you mention. Better than Starbucks?! Cool! Thank you; I happen to agree, although I may be partial. Lol. Thank you for your review Runster! We hope to welcome you back soon. Please contact us directly at reservations@yotelnewyork.com for any assistance in the future.
-Gina, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 468 in New York City
4,808 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,081 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 468 in New York City
17,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#62 of 468 in New York City
5,012 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,924 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#140 of 468 in New York City
4,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#79 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,467 - ₹ 29,851
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing