We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price!”
Review of YOTEL New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YOTEL New York
Ranked #139 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed 5 nights w/ my mom in august. We had a very enjoyable stay. Loved the setup and cleanness. Wifi worked great, housekeeping kept our room clean everyday and all of the staff were super helpful and friendly. Great location easy walk to times square and the subway. My mom left a necklace in the room when we checked out and they tracked it down and are sending it to her. Minor complaints: lack of privacy in bathroom is not for everyone, whoever thought it was a good idea to not put a door on the shower is an idiot and there is a creeper in the building accross 10th avenue with a camera pointed at the building-so draw your shade when changing.
Booked this at the introductory rate of 149.00. Would go back at or near that price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gobrewcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (11,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,409 - 7,413 of 11,447 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

Cleanliness, location, wifi, cleanliness and it was the time of our lives. The staff found me hiding in the room as I never wanted to leave. My wife wanted to take the room home with us... staff were wonderfully incredible..especially Joanna... Salih, she is a wonderous blessing to your company. WE were treated royally from hotel entry to our room service and all points between. All staff were kknowledgeable about the area and directed us to some great eateries.We were so close to everything that we could grab a quick shower and barely miss any Times Sq. action. Location for us was prime as the Hudson river was 2 blocks west and Times Sq. plus subway only 2 blocks east. Rooms were so clean and easy to be in that it was hard to go out at times. My only complaint is that there is only one in the USA and none (yet)Canada and I can only wait for the future of having more in the rest of North America. Other than that I will have to visit England or The Netherlands. Truly a full team effort and setup. Keep the standards high you do set the bar for others to follow. PS- price through Expedia was very affordable too.

Room Tip: Just ask and if it is possible then they will do it for you!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belugas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at Yotel NYC for two evenings in August. There is only one word to describe my experience...flawless! First and foremost, the service was impeccable from the time I arrived to the time I stepped foot out of the door. Secondly, the location is absolutely perfect. It's right across the street from a 24/7 CVS convenience store, and walking distance to several viable eating spots. Last but not least, the rates are absolutely incredible. There is no place in NYC where you can get these types of accommodations within their price range. Also, the food at the restaurant was not only delicious, but extremely reasonable. I also had the pleasure of meeting the Yotel Owner (who just so happen to be in town) and the Director of Entertainment Sales. They were one of the most accommodating people I have ever met. Do yourself a huge favor, visit and stay at Yotel NYC. You will be so pleased your decision!

Room Tip: You should opt-in for a one bedroom suite with the jacuzzi! It's definitely worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coreyjstanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

a far different experience from other, ordinary hotels that you are used to . everything is studied and ergonomicaly placed to the room. since rooms are small this turns to be rather efficient during the day. the view also from the room was wonderfull exspecially if you get lucky to be on a higher floor. we stayed for 8 days and we had a memorable experience. Everything was perfectly clean and the idea of having a "kitchen" for our convenience in each floor was life saving. The staff was really helpfull, kind and warm (thank you D.J.). Overall it was a great experiene next time we are defenately cming to your hotel it was worth it .

Room Tip: Small but surprisingly convenient and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kostas-zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I went to NYC In July 2011: part of the trip was on business, the remaining part for leisure. It was my first trip to the city but being a frequent traveller I have lived in more hotels than I would normally wish to.

For the first part of my trip I have stayed at the chic Mondrian at Soho. I went on to look for an accomodation in June, knowing that it was a bit late given summer holiday season. Being quite a fan of Yosushi I remebered that they were planning to open a NYC hotel I was lucky to have checked on the week they apparently opened which landed me with a quite modest $149/night. At the time of my booking there was only one review on Tripadvisor hence I was taking my chances with this one. As my trip approached I checked back only to see couple of less-praising reviews. As I have made full prepayment there was little choice for me.

I am glad to report that it was probably one of the best decissions I have made. I found hotel to be above my expecations. I was greeted by a very helpful staff upon entering the building. Checkin was seamless and efficient- including self printing of my room card. Given the size of hotel I can imagine that it would take far longer using traditional reception desk.

I got a 26th floor room facing Hudson. It was premium cabin. Yes it is compact however it is also very cleverly designed meaning that I found this never to be short of space- although being solo traveler on this trip it should not come as suprise. The hotel is not centrally located however it is close to large choice of dining places, walking distance to TImes Square and Broadway theaters as well as Subway stop at Port Authority Bus Terminal. The later also has regular buses to Woodbury Common Outlet Shopping Center which may be good place to visit if like me you want to combine your trip with shopping.

Complimentary breakfast is bare minimum: selection of muffins, coffee and tea. At the same time there is never shortage of any which is nice. If you expect fuller selection breakfast there is a la carte restaurant with bigger variety. I cant really comment on quality of that or terrace/ evening amusements at the hotel as NYC was too much of fun for me to stay at the hotel. I noticed though number of people there and a full party happening in the evening. It looked like the people had a lot of fun with it.

Which leads me to my biggest point of interest with the hotels: sound proofing. I am very, very light sleeper and was very happy to realize that sound proofing was exceptional. Other than odd street sirens at night I have never heard presence of any of the hotel guests (and the hotel was full) during night or day. Which gave me exceptional sleep at night. Also the "bathroom" is part of the room however there is a sound, glass door closing it from the general room area. I was traveling alone but can't really imagine this be bothering any of the couple travelers.

Speaking of sleep I have read some people complaining about hardness of beds. I suppose if you're used to typical soft matress used in US this can be a bit of change. For me this was actually an advantage as I felt my body rested during the night, which was important given intense days city gives you. Therefore beds are advantage for me.

As already mentioned in topic: when in NYC I will certainly go back to yotel and will recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: High floor, hudson facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musique_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 473 in New York City
12,075 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 473 in New York City
5,072 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#73 of 473 in New York City
1,181 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 473 in New York City
20,513 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#419 of 473 in New York City
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York

Address: 570 10th Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#77 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#91 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 9,268 - ₹ 25,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your YOTEL New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing