We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gotham Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 185
US$ 157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 219
US$ 170
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 168
US$ 138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 316
US$ 228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Avalon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 264
US$ 243
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$ 343
US$ 283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)
US$ 228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 305
US$ 248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 312
US$ 278
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 266
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
417
288
93
42
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
288
93
42
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsskyline roomsmall balconyshared balconynew yorktimes squareboutique hotelrainfall showergrand central stationsmall hotelgreat boutiquefifth avenuehigher floorcomfy bedgreat showerrockefeller centerawesome locationjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
616 - 621 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The hotel is on a brilliant location and the staff are uber-friendly. We were greeted with a nonchalant 'We've got you booked for one night, correct?' which was not what we were expecting after claiming one of our lost luggage at JFK but this was soon sorted. Given a room at the back of the hotel with view over a high-rise building and smelly restaurant fumes but very soon changed to a room on the front which was much more pleasant. The minibar items in the room were way too expensive and it could have had a small kettle for tea and coffee given its rating but over in all, a great hotel, comfortable bedding, exceptional spacing and very quiet considering it's very central. Would return!

Room Tip: Insist on a room at the front of the hotel. Worth the small balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The Gotham Hotel is a really unique place to stay. The fact that there is no front desk really throws you off at first but you quickly realize you don't even need it! The staff was very professional and helpful. The hotel is very dark and intimate which I really enjoyed. When you walked into the hotel at night there were candles lit and it was really nice. I did not get a chance to eat at the restaurant but it looked really good...and it was always packed! I did have a drink at the bar and the drinks were really great-thanks to the bartenders who were very friendly and helpful. The room was AWESOME! It was very large for New York standards. The bed was so comfortable I rarely wanted to get out of it. The bathroom was pristine and stocked with nice toiletries. The terrace off of our room was also a really nice touch...definitely not something you see in other New York hotels. The only problem we had with the room was trouble with the TV...our cable went out..but no big deal they fixed it quickly ( and we were out most of the time anyways). The location was amazing! We were able to walk to almost all of the places we wanted to go...and if not a cab was always there of...of course. I would definitely go back and stay at the Gotham the next time I visit New York.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Gotham two room and it was really nice!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carla b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a very nice boutique hotel excellently located close to midtown. It is a little unconventional as the rooms start on the 12th floor, and their is no traditional lobby or reception, but it works well. You appear, the doorman greets you, he disappears, and the clerk appears with your reservation and room key, and off you go to your room. I had a king superior midweek for 330.00, which I consider a real bargain. Huge room, nice bath, walk-in shower. Nice big flat screen, nice bedding, small frig, and free wireless. They also have a bar and restaurant. Walk outside to 5th, Madison, Barnes and noble, dunkin donuts, etc, etc. I would highly recto.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misterajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Staying in nyc can be a cold, somewhat distant experience depending on where you stay. The Gotham Hotel was the best place we have stayed in nyc. We have stayed at very big properties and at two other boutique type hotels. My wife and I found the Gotham staff to be very friendly, genuine and helpful. The staff made the difference. The room was quiet, (12th floor room facing 46th street with a nice balcony) clean, comfortable, with a large bathroom and very comfortable bed. There were only 3 rooms on our floor which also made it personal and quiet. The Tenpenny bar was inviting and again the bar staff was friendly and made great drinks. The entire stay was great but not perfect. We would have liked a safe in the room. We will come back to nyc and stay at the Gotham.

Room Tip: Higher floor room facing 46th street with balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

30 sec and you're in the Barnes & Noble on 5th Ave, 5 mins to the public library, 8 mins to the Crate&Barrel, by 10 mins you're searching toys in FAO Schwarz and Mac shop. Love jog to the Central Park in the morning for the fresh air. Lots of great place to eat nearby, 5 mins drive to Anthony Bourdain's Les Halles for its notorious onion soup and steak + fries, or 5 mins walk to Oyster Bar in Grand Central Station. Decent room, very clean and big room size by New York standard. Bear in mind that the rental charge of international adaptor is USD18 per day, but the Best Price shop around the corner is USD14. Thank you so much to the hotel for UPS back the jackets I left in the wardrobe to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yippyyayyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews