We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stellar Stay at the Gotham”
Review of The Gotham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gotham Hotel
Ranked #206 of 467 Hotels in New York City
fort lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stellar Stay at the Gotham”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The Gotham Hotel is a precious jewel in the crazy crown of NYC hotels. It must be said at the beginning, I am very particular when it comes to choosing a hotel and have stayed at some of the nicest hotels in the city in the past. Common areas were always nice, but rooms were small or worn or worse. (I always throw the bedspead immediately off the bed because one can never be sure if they are laundered.)

From the moment I called to inquire about a room, I was made to feel very special- a rare commodity in NYC lodging. Chet listened patiently to my request, answered my questions thoughtfully and truly seemed to care that my needs were met. He had a warm smile in his voice that was evident and his enthusiasm made me look forward, even more, to my stay at the Gotham Hotel on St. Patrick's Day weekend.

Though the day was gray, wet and misty, we were warmly greeted by a gracious doorman. He offered us a glass of water or wine and we sat for a few short minutes while he went off to check us in. He ushered us to our room, gave us an overview of the hotel and offered his services should we need anything.

Our skyline room was truly stellar! First of all, it was immaculate. The fresh flowers on the nightstand and coffee table and the cloud soft down comforter and sheets were just the beginning. (No question as to hygiene!) The mini-bar was well stocked and a cross selection of glassware was available to suit one's libation tastes. The bathroom gleamed and came outfitted with nice toiletries, blow dryer and pedestal magnifying make-up mirror- a great touch for someone like me who applies makeup in natural light. The flat screen television, iPod docking station and free and easy Internet connection were put to very good use during our stay. The closet housed plush bathrobes and, had we needed them, umbrellas. We loved sitting on the private balcony and watching the activity on 46 Street, Fifth and Madison Avenues while enjoying our wine before dinner. The turn down service with fresh oranges was a most elegant touch.

The location was perfect, too. In the same block, we found Tom Collichio's 'wichcraft sandwich shop, a quaint Mexican restaurant and a charming coffee house. We walked to Rockefeller Plaza, St. Patrick's Cathedral and Times Square. A short cab ride to and from Anthony Bourdain's Brassiere Las Halles on Park Avenue was a must for us. We didn't have time to take in a play, but they are also a quick cab ride away. We enjoyed a great continental breakfast offered at the hotel's intimate restaurant/bar, Ten Penny. Late Saturday evening we ordered a cheeseburger and chips from room service that was out of this world and was delivered within 15 minutes.

The entire staff could not have been more cordial or accommodating. Whether hailing a cab for us or storing our luggage for a bit post check-out, it was clear to us that gracious service are the watchwords at the Gotham Hotel and they take their guest's comfort most seriously. As note, we were visited by some NYPD friends after the parade and they were awed at the size, comfort and understated elegance of the hotel. The Gotham has elevated the modernist boutique hotel bar several notches!

In short, we felt as if we had "a place in the city" as opposed to a "hotel room." Sincere thanks goes out to the proprietor, manager Anna, Chet and staff for making our stay most enjoyable. I will NEVER stay anywhere in the city but the Gotham Hotel and am recommending to my friends with discerning tastes.

Looking forward with pleasure to the next visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank h20maid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    251
    77
    38
    29
See reviews for
85
377
53
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The hotel is on a brilliant location and the staff are uber-friendly. We were greeted with a nonchalant 'We've got you booked for one night, correct?' which was not what we were expecting after claiming one of our lost luggage at JFK but this was soon sorted. Given a room at the back of the hotel with view over a high-rise building and smelly restaurant fumes but very soon changed to a room on the front which was much more pleasant. The minibar items in the room were way too expensive and it could have had a small kettle for tea and coffee given its rating but over in all, a great hotel, comfortable bedding, exceptional spacing and very quiet considering it's very central. Would return!

Room Tip: Insist on a room at the front of the hotel. Worth the small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeMalteser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The Gotham Hotel is a really unique place to stay. The fact that there is no front desk really throws you off at first but you quickly realize you don't even need it! The staff was very professional and helpful. The hotel is very dark and intimate which I really enjoyed. When you walked into the hotel at night there were candles lit and it was really nice. I did not get a chance to eat at the restaurant but it looked really good...and it was always packed! I did have a drink at the bar and the drinks were really great-thanks to the bartenders who were very friendly and helpful. The room was AWESOME! It was very large for New York standards. The bed was so comfortable I rarely wanted to get out of it. The bathroom was pristine and stocked with nice toiletries. The terrace off of our room was also a really nice touch...definitely not something you see in other New York hotels. The only problem we had with the room was trouble with the TV...our cable went out..but no big deal they fixed it quickly ( and we were out most of the time anyways). The location was amazing! We were able to walk to almost all of the places we wanted to go...and if not a cab was always there of...of course. I would definitely go back and stay at the Gotham the next time I visit New York.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Gotham two room and it was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carla b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a very nice boutique hotel excellently located close to midtown. It is a little unconventional as the rooms start on the 12th floor, and their is no traditional lobby or reception, but it works well. You appear, the doorman greets you, he disappears, and the clerk appears with your reservation and room key, and off you go to your room. I had a king superior midweek for 330.00, which I consider a real bargain. Huge room, nice bath, walk-in shower. Nice big flat screen, nice bedding, small frig, and free wireless. They also have a bar and restaurant. Walk outside to 5th, Madison, Barnes and noble, dunkin donuts, etc, etc. I would highly recto.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Staying in nyc can be a cold, somewhat distant experience depending on where you stay. The Gotham Hotel was the best place we have stayed in nyc. We have stayed at very big properties and at two other boutique type hotels. My wife and I found the Gotham staff to be very friendly, genuine and helpful. The staff made the difference. The room was quiet, (12th floor room facing 46th street with a nice balcony) clean, comfortable, with a large bathroom and very comfortable bed. There were only 3 rooms on our floor which also made it personal and quiet. The Tenpenny bar was inviting and again the bar staff was friendly and made great drinks. The entire stay was great but not perfect. We would have liked a safe in the room. We will come back to nyc and stay at the Gotham.

Room Tip: Higher floor room facing 46th street with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gotham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gotham Hotel

Property: The Gotham Hotel
Address: 16 E 46th St, Between Fifth and Madison Avenues, New York City, NY 10017-2471
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,408 - ₹ 30,697
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gotham Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of Gotham Hotel’s 66 unique guestrooms offers style and comfort. The guestrooms are luxurious and stylish with European touches in an elegant and pragmatic manner. These spacious rooms feature distinctive terraces, loft-like ceilings, dynamic windows, vast bathrooms featuring Italian glass mosaic tile, workspace/desk, lavish linens, generous closets, custom accessories, and thoughtful amenities. Come stay in luxury and style with guestrooms that feature a balcony or large terrace encompassing a range of views and inspiring unlimited possibilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gotham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing